Do not fly out of NY AIRPORTS
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do not fly out of NY AIRPORTS

Do not fly out of NY AIRPORTS

While flying out of LaGuardia airport I had a rude awakening. Even though I hold a Fl. license and was able to prove that I was coming From Pa going to Fl., these states are reciprical licensing states.
    I tried to check my weapon thru the nice agent held me up till the Port Authority Police showed up and tried to arrest on NYC's Sullivan law. The weapon was unloaded and in a locked container, as per federal rules.
    I had to quote title 16 of the federal statute, and I paraphrase (A person coming from a state where he is licensed to carry a weapon, going to another state the he is licensed in my carry it thru unlicensed states if properly pack in a lock container)
    I had to threaten the officer with a civil rights case against him till he backed off and check the weapon thru.

I am a retired cop so I had no problem go nose to nose about the law. I wouldn't advise everyone to do that.

Neither the officer involved nor the rookie partner wanted that kind of action against them.
    If I had not known the law I would have spent a small fortune clearing this up.

I advise everybody to gat a copy of title 16 and tape it into your gun cases, it's cheaper than a lawyer.

My brother found an article on the web that the Queens County and Albany County DA's have order everyone carrying a weapon, even in a locked container and unloaded be arrested.
    Well it is my opinion that all they did was route me through New Jersey where I have no problems in either direction. Newark Airport is much friendlier when flying.

Wow, close call. Sounds like you handled it well. Glad to hear it didn't turn too ugly.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]In order to rally people, governments need enemies. They want us to be afraid, to hate, so we will rally behind them. And if they don't have a real enemy, they'll invent one in order to mobilize us.