Reloading Newbie
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reloading Newbie

Reloading Newbie

I am considering staring to try some reloading. My dad reloaded for quite a few years and I am going to try to get his old setup to start with. He doesn't use it any more, so I thought I would put it to use. My main reload calibers will be 30-06, 30-30, 38spl, 357mag,and I am considering buying a .204 Ruger for coyotes so I would probably reload for it also. My first question is what is the recommended reloading manual or are they all about the same. I also need to know if there is any problem reloading the nickel cases that the Winchester XP3 30-06 rounds come in. Most of my empty cases are from these rounds, as this is what I have been using for a few years, to kill elk. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris
    Semper Fi

I asked a similar question on a forum "If you could only have one reloading manual what one would you choose"

Most replies indicated Lyman Because they do not manufacture bullets or powder and therefore may be less biased

I Use Sierra and RCBS for book references.

Lately, I have bought the One Book/One Calibers series for my calibers.

These contain data from all the manufacturers. The downside is that you need one book for each caliber.

In your situation, I would try the One Book series.

You can get these from Midway or Amazon.

-Doc

The "Modern Reloading 2nd Edition" has a lot of info and has great discussions on just about all aspects of reloading. $13.99 at Lee "Modern Reloading 2nd Edition" Reloading Manual - MidwayUSA I also use an online service called AmmoGuide. Great source for info, forums for questions and discussions and a very, very large database of printable reloading data. $18.95 a year at AmmoGuide is now... "Interactive"!
    USAF Retired, CATM, SC CWP, NH NR CWP, NRA Benefactor