AR-15 Questions
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AR-15 Questions

1. AR-15 Questions

So I have decided that I want to get some kind of AR-15. I'd really like a mid-length carbine. I know what features are must haves for me, and what features I would like to have. I do have a few questions though.

Are there any brands/manufacturers that I should absolutely avoid?

Is buying a used one a bad idea?

I've been serving in the active Army for 4 years now, so I know the weapon pretty well. At the same time, I am definitely no gunsmith. I am not sure if I could put together a the lower. I just want a decent carbine, that shoots well, is reliable, and pretty basic. I'm looking to keep it around $800. Is this possible??

Thanks in advance.

George

Blog Entries
    If putting together the lower is daunting, just remember a squid with no idea on the ar15 put the lower together. Instructions about online. As for manufacturers, Im of the mindset that they learned a long time ago to either make quality products, or get out of the buisness all together. As for getting one for $800, there are a few auction sites like gunbroker and buds gun shop that have a few for around what your willing to pay. You would be better off building your own though, buying used can be a crap shoot. The gun you get may have been a safe queen or a torture tested weapon. Good luck to you either way you go.
    My way is not better, it is just mine, your way is not better, it is just yours.
    Carry what your comfortable with, there is no "Supergun" Carry how your comfortable, open or concealed, so you have it with you when you need it

Buying used is OK, just do homework first and be picky. After some looking and picking through some, I came across a pre-ban Colt (sold new in 1993) that was test fired only! I traded some non firearms related items for it and a Colt Officers ACP in very good condition. Take your time and do lots of research. Try not to settle for it because it fits your price...