Are we required to let LEO know if we are carrying concealed? - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Are we required to let LEO know if we are carrying concealed?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    McAlester, Oklahoma
    Posts
    408
    In Oklahoma, you are required to advise any LEO that you are in actual possession of a firearm upon first contact. The LEO cannot inspect said weapon unless there is probable cause that a crime has been committed.

    Other states do not have this requirement,but Oklahoma does.

    A. It shall be unlawful for any person to fail or refuse to identify the fact that the person is in actual possession of a concealed handgun pursuant to the authority of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act when the person first comes into contact with any law enforcement officer of this state or its political subdivisions or a federal law enforcement officer during the course of any arrest, detainment, or routine traffic stop. No person shall be required to identify himself or herself as a concealed handgun licensee when no handgun is in the person’s possession or in any vehicle in which the person is driving or is a passenger. Any violation of the provisions of this subsection shall, upon conviction, be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not exceeding Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. In addition to any criminal prosecution for a violation of the provisions of this subsection, the licensee shall be subject to a six-month suspension of the license and an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars ($50.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Bureau that the person is in violation of the provisions of this subsection.

    D. Any law enforcement officer coming in contact with a person whose handgun license is suspended, revoked, or expired, or who is in possession of a handgun license which has not been lawfully issued to that person, shall confiscate the license and return it to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation for appropriate administrative proceedings against the licensee when the license is no longer needed as evidence in any criminal proceeding.

    E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to authorize a law enforcement officer to inspect any weapon properly concealed without probable cause that a crime has been committed.

  2.   
  3. #12
    AK, AR, LA, MI, NC, NE, OH, OK, SC, TX are the only Must Inform states.

  4. #13

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by snatale42 View Post
    NO, your not required to inform an officer unless they ask. BUT if they do ask, have your LTC on deck, Hand it to them AND THEN say yes I'm carrying concealed. At that point the legality of you carrying is no longer an issue and it should not be a stressful situation. If your in Roxbury or something you may still fly across your own hood, but aside from Boston I wouldn't worry about it.
    I agree with everything you said.
    Luckly it has not been an issue for me to date. I live in a green town in MA so locally I don't have an issue, They where very helpfull during the LTC process.
    This subject is always on my mind though every single time I carry. I must say it makes me a better driver/citizen when I am carrying, More aware of everything.

  5. #14
    As a courtesy to them I'll be more than happy to disclose that I am carrying regardless of where I am.
    It's better to die upon your feet than to live upon your knees!-Emiliano Zapata

  6. Quote Originally Posted by Teufel View Post
    As a courtesy to them I'll be more than happy to disclose that I am carrying regardless of where I am.
    I'm curious.... why are cops more deserving of more "courtesy" than other people? Do you tell your garbage man about your gun? Your garbage man is more likely to be killed on the job than a cop is. Would you tell a taxi driver that you hailed/hired about your gun? A taxi driver is 4x more likely to die due to homicide than a cop is.
    Anyone who says, "I support the 2nd amendment, BUT"... doesn't. Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman.

  7. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by NavyLCDR View Post
    I'm curious.... why are cops more deserving of more "courtesy" than other people? Do you tell your garbage man about your gun? Your garbage man is more likely to be killed on the job than a cop is. Would you tell a taxi driver that you hailed/hired about your gun? A taxi driver is 4x more likely to die due to homicide than a cop is.
    How about the Hotel's night auditor, or the waiter at the local restaurant? They are also more dangerous jobs than being a LEO.

  8. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    94
    No New England states have notify requirements.

  9. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire
    Posts
    553
    Let me ask part "b" of the OP. Does MA. have a system that can check if said driver has a LTC when pulled over? Now, I'm talking about the driver who already handed his/her MA. license with MA. plates and pulled over in MA.?
    In NH, if you were pulled over (in NH) we were taught NOT to put your LTC "on deck". As a matter of fact, we were taught to keep BOTH hands on the wheel until instructed by LEO otherwise. If asked, you say "I have a LTC"......that's it and wait for further instructions. They run this in their system and it does show. Doesn't mean at that time you're in fact carriying, but it does give the LEO a heads up. This is why I keep both hands on the wheel. And I will do so in MA. too.
    Did anyone actually answer the question yet......is there a law??
    (All the above are MY opinions/suggestions ONLY....AND, I like to bust ball's, it's called having a sense of humor. In other words, no intent to offend anyone, so get over it)

  10. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Natick, Massachusetts, United States
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by sambo42xa:273807
    Let me ask part "b" of the OP. Does MA. have a system that can check if said driver has a LTC when pulled over? Now, I'm talking about the driver who already handed his/her MA. license with MA. plates and pulled over in MA.?
    No do we do not have that system. If pulled over and asked if theres any weapons in the car then we have to notify the LEO that you are carrying and licensed to then wait for further instruction.Otherwise we just give them our drivers license and registration and wait for the ticket.

  11. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mass. Northshore
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by Flashlight22 View Post
    No do we do not have that system. If pulled over and asked if theres any weapons in the car then we have to notify the LEO that you are carrying and licensed to then wait for further instruction.Otherwise we just give them our drivers license and registration and wait for the ticket.
    Thats not what I heard. I'm being told that when the leo runs your plates or your drivers licence, a big "C" comes up on the screen

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast