Drinking/CCW
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drinking/CCW

1. Drinking/CCW

Hey Guys,
    I have a question. I prefer to carry if going Downtown, but haven't the last few times, as I thought I might want to have a few drinks.

If I do decide to drink, my girlfriend who doesn't drink, drives us home with my car.

My question is, is it legal for me to carry, then leave my gun in the trunk of the car once I start to drink, then have my girlfriend drive me and the car home (with the gun in the trunk and not on me)?

I think that would be allowed, as I am not drinking while having the gun on me. I just worry, that if the gun is in the trunk, with me in the car, it might pose a problem since my girlfriend doesn't have a CCW and she's driving the car with the gun in it.

Let me know if anyone has any advice. Thanks guys!

I am not a lawyer!

I believe MI law states that we must unload the gun and have it in a locked case in the trunk if we are driving with any alcohol in our system. The MI state police website has some good FAQs addressing CPL regulations.
    George Washington: “They may pass a law to issue paper money, but 20 laws will not make the people receive it. Paper money is founded upon fraud and knavery.”

4. This is the only time the law says you must seperate the gun and ammo.
    Gun unloaded, in a case, & in the trunk or un accessable to occupents of the vehicle.
    Ammo seperated from the gun. The suggestion is ammo in glove box.

5. Handgun and drinking...

If you intend to drink, Leave it home.. It will keep you from LEO BS...

Now if your just out and intensely stop at a bar for Food a drinks with friends then you will need to lock it up remove the Mag..Also if your carrying a extra mag you will need to put that in the glove box or trunk.

6. definition of unloaded

sometimes, unloaded means that the magazine is unloaded. see http://www.legislature.mi.gov/docume...s/firearms.pdf page 55.

must the magazine be unloaded in this case?