Open carry confrontation at a Rest Stop
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Open carry confrontation at a Rest Stop

Open carry confrontation at a Rest Stop

Extremely rare when I don't cover up, Friday was an exception. I was wearing my OWB with the .45 when I stopped at a rest area up by Shepard. Since the place was pretty much empty and I was only going to be a moment, decided to forgo putting my coat back on.
    Lady confronted me as I hit the front door, yelling at me about wearing a gun, and asking if I was a cop. Told me it was against the law to open carry on any state property, she knew that, because she worked there. Told her I didn't think she was fully aware of the laws (trying to be polite) and continued into the Men's room. She waited for me, and kept telling me that I needed to make sure I never carried on any state property again.
    First time at all for me to have a bad experience carrying, mainly carry concealed due to work, but on a rare occasion open.

It never amazes how someone unarmed has the juevos to confront an armed person and get in their face. Fortunately for them, you're one of the good guys.

Sorry you had a bad experience. Chalk it up to their ignorance.

If she really thought it was against the law, I wonder why she bothered to wait for you rather than call the cops. *shrugs*
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote."
    ~ Benjamin Franklin (maybe)

Either she didn't think you were a BG, and was being an airhole, or she was totally brain dead...
    Lewis - NRA Life - Oregon Firearms Federation - National Assoc. for Gun Rights

Gun control is NOT about guns, it's about CONTROL.

Hopefully at some point she did call the police because dispatchers are getting better at informing people OC is legal.