Hollow Point Question
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hollow Point Question

1. Hollow Point Question

I am a retired NYC Police Officer. After retiring I have had a carry permit in Pennsylvania I then moved to Florida where a carry permit was not needed. I am now living in NJ and find I must go through the whole process of applying for a carry permit (which I may not get) as though I never held a pistol. What a state!!

The question I have is: I heard NJ is the only state that does not allow hollow point ammo to be used other than in your own home. Is this true?

This site may answer your question: New Jersey State Police - Transportation and Use of Hollow Point Ammunition by Sportsmen

Transportation and Use of Hollow Point Ammunition by Sportsmen

Provided certain conditions are met, a sportsman may transport and use hollow point ammunition. There are no restrictions preventing a sportsman from keeping such ammunition at his home.

N.J.S.A 2C:39-3f(1) limits the possession of hollow nose ammunition. However, there is a general exception that allows for the purchase of this ammunition but restricts the possession of it to specified locations. This exception provides that:

(2) Nothing is sub section f (1) shall be construed to prevent a person from keeping such ammunition at his dwelling, premises or other land owned or possessed by him, or from carrying such ammunition from the place of purchase to said dwelling or land . . . [N.J.S.A 26:39-3g (2)].

Thus a person may purchase this ammunition and keep it within the confines of his property. Sub section f (1) further exempts from the prohibited possession of hollow nose ammunition "persons engaged in activities pursuant to N.J.S.A 2C:39-6f. . . ."
    N.J.S.A 26:39-3f. (1).

Activities contained in N.J.S.A 26:39-6f. can be broken down as follows: