New York Open and Concealed Carry Laws and Information - Page 5
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 66

Thread: New York Open and Concealed Carry Laws and Information

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania, Delaware County
    Posts
    451
    Quote Originally Posted by Jingles View Post
    I assume that there is no reciprocity between NY and VA when you have a VA concealed permit. Am I correct?
    Yes you are correct, the state of NY does not have reciprocity with any state!

  2.   
  3. Thanks Ricardo900, Jingles

  4. If you have a New York permit.You may obtain a Utah ,Florida,Virginia non resident permits.Personal Defense Solutions located in the Philadelpia Pa area offers a class that includes everything you need, photo,notary,fingerprinting.Also these other states are mail in New Hampshire,Maine and Connecticut.Massachusetts you have to appear in person but they do allow non resident issue.I believe Maine has reciprocity with Delaware.It's always a good thing to have as many permits as possible if you travel.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY on the PA border
    Posts
    25
    A slight correction: one does not need to have a New York State Pistol Permit to obtain a Utah non-resident pistol permit. Utah licenses the person, not the firearm.
    Be the one who walks away

  6. Quote Originally Posted by Mother Pearl View Post
    A slight correction: one does not need to have a New York State Pistol Permit to obtain a Utah non-resident pistol permit. Utah licenses the person, not the firearm.
    An important selling point with a Utah Non resident permit is that it costs only $10 USD to renew.If you don't have a NY permit yet you may take the Utah class and wait until it arrives than apply for your NY permit.You have to go through a FBI backround check with Utah.NY also does the same backround check,so if you are ever denied by the county licensing officer you have some leverage to appeal since you have a Utah Non Resident permit.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    15
    You can also obtain your Florida CCW without having a permit in another state. You can find the permit instructions here:

    Concealed Weapons or Firearm Program - Division of Licensing, FDACS

    Hope that helps!

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY on the PA border
    Posts
    25
    The Utah Non-Resident Pistol permit is currently $65.25, is good for 5 years, and is currently renewable for $15.

    If one is a resident of New York State and takes the Florida Non-resident pistol permit class in New York State, one must have a New York State Pistol Permit because handling a pistol in New York State without a permit is illegal.
    Therefore, having either a Utah or a Florida non-resident pistol permit will do a person who resides in NYS no good if s/he doesn't have a NYS pistol permit. Also, if one is a resident of NYS and purchases a pistol in another state, the likelyhood that s/he will be able to take possession of it is nearly zero. FFL holders in other states know they must ship any pistol purchased by a NYS resident to an FFL holder in NYS for processing before the purchaser may take possession of it.
    Be the one who walks away

  9. Quote Originally Posted by Mother Pearl View Post
    The Utah Non-Resident Pistol permit is currently $65.25, is good for 5 years, and is currently renewable for $15.

    If one is a resident of New York State and takes the Florida Non-resident pistol permit class in New York State, one must have a New York State Pistol Permit because handling a pistol in New York State without a permit is illegal.
    Therefore, having either a Utah or a Florida non-resident pistol permit will do a person who resides in NYS no good if s/he doesn't have a NYS pistol permit. Also, if one is a resident of NYS and purchases a pistol in another state, the likelyhood that s/he will be able to take possession of it is nearly zero. FFL holders in other states know they must ship any pistol purchased by a NYS resident to an FFL holder in NYS for processing before the purchaser may take possession of it.
    This is a big problem for many people interested in becoming armed security guards.They have to wait for a permit and go back to finish the class because of the law.When did Utah tack on the extra $5?

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY on the PA border
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by hunter won View Post
    ..........When did Utah tack on the extra $5?
    I suppose you could call Utah BCI and ask........
    Be the one who walks away

  11. Quote Originally Posted by Mother Pearl View Post
    I suppose you could call Utah BCI and ask........
    $10 USD to renew.Never increased to $15 like you said.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast