Alternative Self Defense
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Alternative Self Defense

Alternative Self Defense

Hello,
    I was jumped by two thugs right outside of a movie theater in Manhattan Friday night...of course, since NYS and NYC deny my second amendment right (especially since I am a resident of CT), I was unable to defend myself sufficiently to avoid any injury. I did make it out fairly unharmed, just some minor injuries...my pride being what was hurt the most.

Anyway...to my question. What legal alternatives do I have as a non-resident that works in the city to prevent this from happening to me again?
    Thanks

3. I'm guessing here not being a resident.
    Mace/Pepper spray?

Drive away and never come back? Seriously, sorry you had that experience and I would also say mace.

I aggree with the mace/pepper spray BUT heres a cheaper thing WASP & hornet spray
    A Body Piercing
    Saved My Life
    <(((><

6. Be carefull with the wasp spray. If you read the label it states that any use other than which it is intended is illegal

Quote Originally Posted by grady202 View Post
    Be carefull with the wasp spray. If you read the label it states that any use other than which it is intended is illegal
    Last I checked, insecticide companies did not write legislation! Probably written by a lawyer to cover their butts against a lawsuit.

But in all seriousness - while wasp and hornet spray is a good self-defense alternative at home, I'm not sure of the legality of hauling around a can of it for just that same purpose. A prosecutor may put it in the same category as things like a baseball bat, tire iron, length of chain, ball peen hammer, meat cleaver, chef knife, hatchet, machete, and the like. None of these things are illegal to buy or own, but might be illegal to carry for self-defense by New York standards. Or if not outright illegal, the prosecutor might use your carrying of them to prove intent to harm or kill.