Should we be Concerned, or just watching out for the safety of "First Responders"

Thread: Should we be Concerned, or just watching out for the safety of "First Responders"

Should we be Concerned, or just watching out for the safety of "First Responders"

Suppose you lived in the land of the free because of the brave, and you had a God given right to do something.

Like sit anywhere on a bus or own a gun. A government group comes along and doesn't like it.
    They do everything in their power to track you and your associates. They maintain a database that is only available to the Group. Is it right? Is it anti American?

When I was a Police Officer riding a sector or beat: If a call came in at a certain location or we overheard another unit running the name of an individual, we would advise each other on the car to car channel, something like, “Hey Tom the guy in that house is OBS or 5150 use extra caution.” Or Hey that guy just got out of County Jail or whatever. We relied on each other experience and knowledge of the area.
    Today there is a very fine line between police work (basic common sense) and profiling.

Back to my point.
    Here in the People's Republik of New York, before you can purchase a handgun, you must seek permission from the State, and pay several hundred dollars not including the gun. The process demands that you provide Four references non- related that can vouch for your veracity.

The local police must interview each of the four references and it is all done in a capricious and arbitrary manner. (willy-nilly) Some send letters – some make phone calls The whole process can take between 30 days in County A to 18 months or more in County B.

Recently I learned that when these “reference” interviews are completed, the house address name and phone are entered in to a database for future reference. Now when a call comes in at that address, the information that the person is associated with a licensed gun owner is available.