Non resident open carry in MI
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Non resident open carry in MI

Non resident open carry in MI

Hi I am new here and after some searching around still haven't found the answer to this. Can some one from out of state(WI) open carry in MI? More specifically to camp grounds/while hiking up in Lake of The Clouds area and places like that.

3. Here's some info.

This is the info from Traveler's Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States, 2008 edition, by J. Scott. Kappas. Esq.

Please keep in mind that I am not a lawyer. The author is, but the following statement must not be used as legal advice. Still, you had best consult with a firearms attorney in Michigan.

Quote:

Open carry: unrestricted under state law: however, very uncommon except in rural areas.

Close Quote

You might want to Google any Michigan-based firearms forums, or perhaps lawyer firearms Michigan.

My personal opinion: if it is very uncommon, you will be hassled. The local police, if they cannot charge you with a firearms offense, will find some other statute with which to charge you.

handgonnetoter Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by v65magnafan View Post
    This is the info from Traveler's Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States, 2008 edition, by J. Scott. Kappas. Esq.

Please keep in mind that I am not a lawyer. The author is, but the following statement must not be used as legal advice. Still, you had best consult with a firearms attorney in Michigan.

Quote:

Open carry: unrestricted under state law: however, very uncommon except in rural areas.

Close Quote

You might want to Google any Michigan-based firearms forums, or perhaps lawyer firearms Michigan.

My personal opinion: if it is very uncommon, you will be hassled. The local police, if they cannot charge you with a firearms offense, will find some other statute with which to charge you.