Age Restrictions and Vehicle carry
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Age Restrictions and Vehicle carry

  1. Age Restrictions and Vehicle carry

    I was recently given a brilliant Sig Saur p239 9mm from my father as a graduation present. There has been many contradicting ideas as to my rights to the handgun. The law states:
    "Federal law prohibits, except in certain limited circumstances, anyone under 18 years of age from knowingly possessing a handgun..."

    I'm 18. So what are my rights?
    Can I carry openly in a car?
    Can I have a concealed carry?
    I live in Arkansas if that makes a difference.

    Thanks alot!

  2.   
  3. Have you attempted to research what the Laws are in Arkansas? I would say pretty much that if you can open carry or conceal carry anywhere, then yes, you can do so in your car

  4. #3
    As I understand it, you may possess but not purchase a handgun at the age of 18. The law about where and when and how you may carry a handgun are guided by state law. Look for a good synopsis of Arkansas gun law - there may be a book or a pamphlet available to you through gun stores there that addresses each of your questions.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St. Louis County, MO
    Posts
    3,445
    Here in MO, as far as I know, the age limit is 21. Check your local state laws. MO is an open carry states but it also depends on the county you are living in. Our county doesn't allow OC.

    BTW, welcome to this forum.
    Last edited by Tucker's Mom; 06-05-2011 at 07:04 AM. Reason: added the last paragraph.
    "Don't let the door hit ya where the dawg shudda bit ya!"
    G'day and Glock
    GATEWAY SWIFT WING ST. LOUIS

  6. #5

  7. #6
    In Maine you can own but not buy a handgun at 18.
    I am 18 and have my CCW, I got it a week after my 18th birthday, about a week after that my father "let's me borrow all the time" HIS new that day llama .380 as it is in his name :D

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lacey, WA
    Posts
    344
    AR is a no OC state for any age.
    OpenCarry.org - A Right Unexercised is a Right Lost!

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tallahassee Florida
    Posts
    1,876
    Quote Originally Posted by climbamtn11 View Post
    "Federal law prohibits, except in certain limited circumstances, anyone under 18 years of age from knowingly possessing a handgun..."
    Care to provide the actual cite & link to this ALLEGED Federal Law?

    "It's easier to avoid conflict than it is to survive it" - SGB

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Colorado Rocky Mountain High
    Posts
    3,900
    Quote Originally Posted by climbamtn11 View Post
    I was recently given a brilliant Sig Saur p239 9mm from my father as a graduation present. There has been many contradicting ideas as to my rights to the handgun. The law states:
    "Federal law prohibits, except in certain limited circumstances, anyone under 18 years of age from knowingly possessing a handgun..."

    I'm 18. So what are my rights?
    Can I carry openly in a car?
    Can I have a concealed carry?
    I live in Arkansas if that makes a difference.

    Thanks alot!
    None of the people that are responding to your posts are going to be w/ you when you have a run in w/ the police. It is incumbent upon you to find out what the law says in your state (Knowing the law in Missouri or Maine is as worthless to you as tits on a boar hog).

    I'd suggest you start w/ the link seeya posted and go from there
    See, it's mumbo jumbo like that and skinny little lizards like you thinking they the last dragon that gives Kung Fu a bad name.
    http://www.gunrightsmedia.com/ Internet forum dedicated to second amendment

  11. #10

    Arkansas carry--concealed or open--for an 18 year old

    Quote Originally Posted by climbamtn11 View Post
    I was recently given a brilliant Sig Saur p239 9mm from my father as a graduation present. There has been many contradicting ideas as to my rights to the handgun. The law states:
    "Federal law prohibits, except in certain limited circumstances, anyone under 18 years of age from knowingly possessing a handgun..."

    I'm 18. So what are my rights?
    Can I carry openly in a car?
    Can I have a concealed carry?
    I live in Arkansas if that makes a difference.

    Thanks alot!
    I followed the links posted by SEEYA (see excerpt below), and it would appear that you are not eligible for concealed carry as you are under 21 years of age.

    "TO AUTHORIZE THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE
    TO ISSUE LICENSES TO QUALIFIED
    APPLICANTS TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS."

    BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

    SECTION 1. As used in this act:
    (a) "Director" means the director of the Arkansas State Police.
    (b) "Handgun" means any firearm with a barrel length of less than
    twelve inches (12") that is designed, made, or adapted to be fired with one
    hand.
    (c) "Concealed" means to cover from observation so as to prevent public
    view.

    SECTION 2. (a)(1) The director is authorized to issue licenses to carry
    concealed handguns to persons qualified as provided in this section. Such
    licenses shall be valid throughout the state for a period of four (4) years
    from the date of issuance. Any person possessing a valid license issued
    pursuant to this section may carry a concealed handgun.
    (2) The licensee must carry the license, together with valid
    identification, at all times in which the licensee is carrying a concealed
    handgun and must display both the license and proper identification upon
    demand by a law enforcement officer.
    (b) The director shall issue a license if the applicant:
    (1) Is a resident of the state and has been a resident
    continuously for twelve (12) months or longer immediately preceding the filing
    of the application (provided this shall not apply to any retired city, county,
    state or federal law enforcement officer);
    (2) Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older;

    Also, it would appear that open carry is out of the question as well as per OpenCarry.org - State Information For Arkansas which states "Arkansas is not a traditional open carry state. They issue a concealed carry permit, so it is our understanding at this time that open carry is not allowed even with a permit."

    Given all of the above, I seriously doubt that it would be legal for you to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle within your reach. (Note: I did not research how to legally transport a gun to hunting sites or ranges for practice, nor did I research to see if AR allows you openly carry anywhere on your property--LOOK IT UP ....)

    As TREO stated, YOU need to personally research the statutes (and perhaps consult some legal entities -- AND GET DOCUMENTATION TO SUPPORT YOUR POSITION) as you will be the one in trouble if LE catches you carrying illegally....

    Given your current age, I would be very thorough in your research, and if you find something that allows you to CC or OC, you would probably want to carry a copy of your reference source ON YOU while out in public. Not ALL LEOs know the nitty gritty of the law, and it helps if you can reference specific legal statutes to support your position.

    The Sig Sauer P239 is a beauty (concealable, reliable, accurate), and will serve you well for many years. Enjoy, and be safe.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast