Wearing business attire - false assumption you're a police officer?
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wearing business attire - false assumption you're a police officer?

1. Wearing business attire - false assumption you're a police officer?

Hello everyone,

I am curious to know how the general public will perceive me while wearing my usual professional business attire while open carrying my PF9? Do you feel they will assume I'm an officer of the law?

Just curious. All criticism is accepted.

Thanks!

Thomas

If your apperance is clean cut, then probably yes. I was at my pharmacy a while back in a pair of dockers with a dress shirt.

When I reached for my wallet the guy sitting down notice my weapon. He asked me what Department I worked for. I advised him that I wasn't an officer, He looked Confused as I said have a nice day

I doubt many will confuse a PM9 with a LE pistol.

Average Citizen does not know the difference, from one handgun, to another.

In the United States, open carry is shorthand terminology for "openly carrying a firearm in public", as distinguished from concealed carry, where firearms cannot be seen by the casual observer.

that being said .. they probably would consider you a LEO .. although a LEO would consider you as CCing .. or maybe a BG? .. i don't know if i would chance that ..

is this something you have considered? ..

just curious ..
    SB

Quote Originally Posted by trophyhunter View Post
    Average Citizen does not know the difference, from one handgun, to another.
    I'm not sure Joe Average would recognize the Kel-Tec as a real handgun.

8. Maybe I'm wrong, but in a suit why not just go ahead and CC? Unless of course your motivation for OC'ing is, indeed, public perception? It seems that that is what you are interested in is the public perception. Why draw attention to yourself? just sayin'

Not a fan of OC myself, but why would an LEO think a guy OC'ing would be a BG?

I'm thinking a BG would more like be CC'ing?

KK