No - right to work
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: No - right to work

No - right to work

I am a small business owner in Texas. A couple of days ago I walked through the break room in my company. The TV was on Fox News and I caught a brief glimpse of about 6 men in Indiana sitting on a concrete floor; each with a sign that read

NO - RIGHT TO WORK

I thought about that long and hard.

It is beyond me that, in America, there is any place where a person is forced to join and pay money to a private sector organization so that he/she can seek and gain employment, especially in the public sector.

It is beyond me that, in America, there is any place where a person can prosper and not produce.

It is beyond me that, in America, a State government can be shut down by its elected senators going on union-like strike because they don't like the way democracy works.

I admit that, following our successes in the 2010 elections, I have moved political activism down my priorities list for a while but that brief glimpse of those men with those signs was my wake up call.

There are places in America where "The Collective" may still out number me but, By God, they can not out work or out fight me.

Semper Fi,

DWC

I heard a rumor that Harley-Davidson, an American company that makes motorcycles, might be moving out of WI. York, PA sounds like a nice spot, they already have a manufacturing plant there.

I never liked the idea of people being required to join a union and pay dues, even if they don't want to. However, I also don't like the idea of unions being required to negotiate on behalf of non-members. Shouldn't unions be able to look out only for their members and shouldn't workers only join them and pay dues to them if they choose to? Problem solved.
    Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.

Benjamin Franklin