The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

1. The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

I work as a Probation Officer in a small town in New Mexico and have noticed a alarming thing happening in the last few years. It all started with the best of intentions in dealing with domestic violence. A law was passed that if you are convicted of battery on a household member, you are not allowed to purchase, or possess, a firearm. It was designed to protect women from violent men who beat them, and if you are talking about the serious abusers, it is logical. But the law is so broad that it includes such things as throwing a cup of water in the middle of an argument, shoving your daughters live in boyfriend when he is drunk and abusive, and my favorite was the guy who threw a picture frame to the floor and a sliver of glass flew across the room and cut a 1/4 inch cut in the girlfriends ankle. Each of these individuals plead guilty as they had not talked to a lawyer and did not think it was a big deal. Until later when they find out they have lost thier right to possess a firearm, period. From the numbers I have personally seen convicted of this misdemeanor, it would amount to hundred of individuals in this state, and across the country it would be in the thousands. And no one seems to be taking notice.

Jc40

I have a friend ,who`s now ex-wife was one crazy mean individual.She would get loud and verbally abusive to him and then hit herself to leave marks.She then would call the sheriffs department and tell them her husband got angry and hit her and they would come out and take him to jail when he never touched her,but she had marks she put on herself.That happened twice before he dumped her,but he is now in the situation you spoke of where he lost his rights to own a firearm because of it.

Has the constitutionality of these laws been tested in court?