Georgia and South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Georgia and South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Question

1. Question Georgia and South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Question

I just moved to Georgia from South Carolina, where I have my CWP. Since I am now a resident of GA, I can technically get a my GA carry permit correct? But this poses a problem, will my SC CWP permit still be valid? I frequently travel back and forth between both states as I live very close to the state lines, so what is my best option?

I don't see a "resident time" for which one has to be a GA resident before applying...so you should be good to go there.

Your SC permit may or may not be voided when you inform them of your address change.

As I understand SC law, your SC CWP is no longer valid since you have moved to Georgia. If you own property in SC, you qualify for a SC non-resident CWP. Otherwise, I don't know how you can solve the problem because SC does not recognize permits of people who are not residents of the state that issued the permit. Is that confusing enough?!
    The Founders Got It Right - Back To The Constitution
    NRA (Life) - GOA (Life) - NAGR - GOSC (Life) - GrassRoots GunRights SC

Quote Originally Posted by kudzu View Post
    As I understand SC law, your SC CWP is no longer valid since you have moved to Georgia. If you own property in SC, you qualify for a SC non-resident CWP. Otherwise, I don't know how you can solve the problem because SC does not recognize permits of people who are not residents of the state that issued the permit. Is that confusing enough?!
    That's the way I understand it as well.

Quote Originally Posted by wooddoctor View Post
    msbrown, sc does not recognize Ga. Get yourself a Fla. ccp and problem solved.
    It solves the GA problem but SC is still a problem. SC doesn't recognize FL non-resident permits.
    The Founders Got It Right - Back To The Constitution