SC "real property" law
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SC "real property" law

1. SC "real property" law

What exactly does this part of our gun laws mean? The way it was explained to me in my CWP class is that, even if a hotel prohibits gun, you can still keep a gun in your room because since you're paying for it, it is your real property. So is it a general rule that if you're paying to live somewhere, then you can have a gun in your residence even if the establishment prohibits them?

Since I'm not a lawyer this is a little over my pay grade. But, that is my understanding as well. I was taught you can have one in your room even if they have a posted sign. However, you just couldn't CC in the communal areas. (Lobby, vending areas etc)

-
    “Only a rookie who knows nothing about science would say science takes away from faith. If you really study science, it will bring you closer to God.” —JAMES TOUR, NANOSCIENTIST

Section 23-31-230 in the SC code of Laws provides authorization to posses a firearm in your hotel room with or without a permit if you are otherwise legally entitled to posses a firearm. It also provides the authorization to carry it concealed from your conveyance to your room. You must got straight to your room with check-in being the only exception unless you have your CWP.

Edit to say the law specifically mentions that an accommodation tax must be paid.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

5. Quote Originally Posted by Gadgetech View Post
    Section 23-31-230 in the SC code of Laws provides authorization to posses a firearm in your hotel room with or without a permit if you are otherwise legally entitled to posses a firearm. It also provides the authorization to carry it concealed from your conveyance to your room. You must got straight to your room with check-in being the only exception unless you have your CWP.

Edit to say the law specifically mentions that an accommodation tax must be paid.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD