What about nursing homes?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What about nursing homes?

1. What about nursing homes?

I was reading the SC laws over today and read this...

(10) hospital, medical clinic, doctor’s office, or any other facility where medical services or procedures are performed unless expressly authorized by the employer.

...as of the places you cannot carry. I work at a nursing home and, although our employee handbook prohibits carrying of any weapons, can family members or visitors carry if there are no signs or does this law pertain to nursing homes also?

I'm not a lawyer, but the first word in that building is 'nursing'. Therefore, medical services are performed there routinely. According to the law you quoted, it would seem that nursing care facilities would fall into their category of places not authorized for carry. I could be wrong, and I would not trust your legal advice coming from this forum.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote."
    ~ Benjamin Franklin (maybe)

A nursing home, retirement home is colloquial for an assited living facility or rest home.

The facility does not perform actual medical services, i.e. you can't go there for a check up, residents have doctors on call and onsite doctor visits.
    As an assisted living facility you sign a lease for assisted living and maybe assisted care and are therefore residents.

I would consider it the same as an hoteling situation with addition services if purchased.

Quote Originally Posted by melloyello View Post
    A nursing home, retirement home is colloquial for an assited living facility or rest home.

The facility does not perform actual medical services, i.e. you can't go there for a check up, residents have doctors on call and onsite doctor visits.
    As an assisted living facility you sign a lease for assisted living and maybe assisted care and are therefore residents.