maine ccw in tn
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: maine ccw in tn

  1. maine ccw in tn

    i am 19 and have my ccw for maine can i carry in tn?
    Last edited by GoSOx1120; 02-08-2010 at 09:01 PM. Reason: wrong words

  2.   
  3. #2
    TN honors licenses from ALL states.


    TN Dept of Safety:

    Recognition of Out-of-State Handgun Carry Permits

    1. Tennessee now recognizes a facially valid handgun permit, firearms permit, weapons permit, or a license issued by another state according to its terms, and will, therefore, authorize the holder of such out-of-state permit or license to carry a handgun only in the state of Tennessee.
    Handgunlaw.us


    I do not see any restrictions based on your age.

  4. thank you very much i read a lot i just wanted to see if any one saw something i may have missed

  5. Excuse me you mentioned that you are 18 years old on other your thread : http://www.usacarry.com/forums/conce...06-ccw-tn.html

    And now you said you are 19 years old ???

    I am confuse!
    NRA Life Member

  6. Handgun Carry Permit Qualifications and Requirements
    Qualifications

    Qualifications That Must Be Met Before Applying for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit

    * Effective July 1, 2005, all handgun permit applicants seeking a new permit must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency.
    * Effective July 1, 2005, Tennessee handgun carry permit law will now allow certain applicants already exempt from complying with firing range provisions of the current statute to also be exempt from any classroom requirements. Those current exceptions are applicants who prove to the department that within five (5) years from the date of application for handgun permit, the applicant has:
    1. Been certified by the police officer's standards and training commission, or
    2. successfully completed training at the law enforcement training academy; or
    3. successfully completed the firearms training course required for armed security guards; or
    4. successfully completed all handgun training of not less than four (4) hours as required by any branch of the military.
    * Applicants are required to be a resident of the State of Tennessee;
    * Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
    * Applicants shall not have been convicted of any felony offense punishable for a term exceeding one (1) year;
    * Applicants shall not currently be under indictment or information for any criminal offense punishable by a term exceeding one (1) year;
    * Shall not be currently the subject of any order of protection;
    * Shall not be a fugitive from justice;
    * Shall not be an unlawful user of or addicted to alcohol or any controlled substance and the applicant has not been a patient in a rehabilitation program or hospitalized for alcohol or controlled substance abuse or addiction within ten (10) years from the date of application;
    * The applicant has not been convicted of the offense of driving under the influence of an intoxicant in this or any other State two (2) or more times within ten (10) years from the date of application and that none of such convictions has occurred within five (5) years from the date of application or renewal.
    * Shall not have been adjudicated as mental defective; has not been committed to or hospitalized in a mental institution; has not had a court appoint a conservator for the applicant by reason of a mental defect; has not been judicially determined to be disabled by reason of a mental illness, development disability or other mental incapacity; and has not, within seven (7) years from the date of application, been found by a court to pose an immediate substantial likelihood of serious harm, as defined in Title 33, Chapter 6, Part 5, because of mental illness;
    * Shall not be an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
    * Shall not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions (dishonorable discharge, bad conduct discharge or other than honorable discharge Chapter 1340-2-5-.02 (5);
    * Having been a citizen of the United States, applicants shall not have renounced their citizenship;
    * Shall not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U.S.C.A. 921 (33);
    * Shall not be receiving social security disability benefits by reason of alcohol dependence, drug dependence or mental disability;
    * Shall not have been convicted of the offense of stalking;

    Requirements

    Requirements for Obtaining a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit

    * Applicant shall submit proof of the successful completion of a department approved Handgun Safety Course within the past six (6) months. Call (615) 251-8590 to find out more information on handgun schools, locations and contact information.
    * Provide CERTIFIED PROOF of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency (no photocopies).
    * Submit application at any full service Driver License Service Center location.
    * Applicant is required to present a photo ID to the department at the time of filing the application.
    * Pay $115 non-refundable application fee payable by cash, certified check, or money order.
    * When the application is processed at the driver service center, the applicant will be given instructions on being fingerprinted.
    * Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
    * FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.
    NRA Life Member

  7. i was just typing fast and didnt think i am 19 i said i was 18 in this one too and then when i read it i went back and edited this one and those are the laws for appyling for one?

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by RRGlock23 View Post
    Handgun Carry Permit Qualifications and Requirements
    Qualifications

    Qualifications That Must Be Met Before Applying for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit

    * Effective July 1, 2005, all handgun permit applicants seeking a new permit must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency.
    * Effective July 1, 2005, Tennessee handgun carry permit law will now allow certain applicants already exempt from complying with firing range provisions of the current statute to also be exempt from any classroom requirements. Those current exceptions are applicants who prove to the department that within five (5) years from the date of application for handgun permit, the applicant has:
    1. Been certified by the police officer's standards and training commission, or
    2. successfully completed training at the law enforcement training academy; or
    3. successfully completed the firearms training course required for armed security guards; or
    4. successfully completed all handgun training of not less than four (4) hours as required by any branch of the military.
    * Applicants are required to be a resident of the State of Tennessee;
    * Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
    Line above your bold also says MUST be a resident of TN...but those requirements are for a TN resident applying for TN license.

    There doesnt seem to be any restrictions on recip licensing....but I guess you could contact TN directly...

    Contact Us:
    Lisa Knight, Manager
    1150 Foster Avenue
    Nashville, TN 37243
    (866) 849-3548

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Parsons, TN
    Posts
    272
    The requirments for getting a TN Handgun Carry Permit only apply to those wishing to get a TN Handgun Carry Permit.

    The law on whether TN reconginzes and out of state permit is a different subection. As has been pointed out the law says TN honors ALL facially valid out of state permits. It does not say only if they are over 21.
    “Because when seconds count, the police are only minutes away”

    Posting in …….
    OpenCarry.org
    USA Carry
    Glock Talk
    Tennessee Gun Owners
    also check
    Handgunlaw.us
    Tennessee Laws at: Michie’s Legal Resources

  10. Thanks fallguy i knew i had to be 21 to apply for one in Tennessee just like most states, but i was not sure if they would honor mine since i am 19. I read all the info i could thanks for reassurring me :)

Similar Threads

  1. List of Maine CCW Instructors
    By lukem in forum Maine Discussion and Firearm News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-22-2011, 06:34 PM
  2. List of Arizona CCW Instructors
    By lukem in forum Arizona Discussion and Firearm News
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 02:39 PM
  3. Any trouble with Maine CCW?
    By BamaBoy in forum Maine Discussion and Firearm News
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 08:13 PM
  4. CCW in Tn
    By GoSOx1120 in forum Concealed Carry Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-13-2010, 11:50 PM
  5. CCW and crime rates in urban areas
    By tattedupboy in forum General Firearm Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 11:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast