Here are some updates and clarifications on Virginia law...

- under the section named "Issuing Authority" add Virginia non-resident Concealed Handgun Permits are issued by the State Police.
(see below)

__________________________________________

- under the section named "NICS check"... fingerprints and a backround check are NOT required to get a CWP. Some areas require it by local ordinance

some do not. NOTE the VA State Police DOES require a set of prints / backround check for a non-resident permit.

15.2-915.3. Requiring fingerprinting for concealed handgun permit.
LIS > Code of Virginia > 15.2-915.3

Notwithstanding 15.2-915, a county or city may by ordinance require any applicant for a concealed handgun permit to submit to fingerprinting for the

purpose of obtaining the applicant's state or national criminal history record; however, such ordinance shall not require fingerprinting for the renewal of an

existing permit pursuant to subsection I of 18.2-308.

18.2-308
LIS > Code of Virginia > 18.2-308

P1. Nonresidents of the Commonwealth 21 years of age or older may apply in writing to the Virginia Department of State Police for a five-year permit to

carry a concealed handgun. Every applicant for a nonresident concealed handgun permit shall submit two photographs of a type and kind specified by the

Department of State Police for inclusion on the permit and shall submit fingerprints on a card provided by the Department of State Police for the purpose

of obtaining the applicant's state or national criminal history record.

___________________________________________

also of interest...

18.2-308.
LIS > Code of Virginia > 18.2-308

D: Upon completion of the criminal history records check, the State Police shall return the fingerprint cards to the submitting local agency or, in the case

of scanned fingerprints, destroy the electronic record. The local agency shall then promptly notify the person that he has 21 days from the date of the

notice to request return of the fingerprint cards, if any. All fingerprint cards not claimed by the applicant within 21 days of notification by the local agency

shall be destroyed.

___________________________________________

- under the section named "Requirements" sub-section 7... the following needs to be UPDATED...

18.2-308
LIS > Code of Virginia > 18.2-308

ONLINE training is now accepable

G7:. Completing any firearms training or safety course or class, <<including an electronic, video, or on-line course>>, conducted by a state-certified or

National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor;

____________________________________________

- under the section named "Alcohol and Drugs"

18.2-308
LIS > Code of Virginia > 18.2-308

J1. Any person permitted to carry a concealed handgun, who is under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs while carrying such handgun in a public

place, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.


____________________________________________

-under the section named " Required Documents" ...add Fingerprint impressions are OPTIONAL for RESIDENT permits based on local ordinance. The

State Police does require fingerprints for a NON-RESIDENT permits.