Map Test

The permit maps below will show you which states you can carry concealed in as well as which state’s permits are honored in a particular state. If you have a concealed carry permit and want to know which state you can carry in use the default map “States That Honor My Permit(s). If you want to know which state’s permits are honored in a particular state, click on the “Permits Honored By State” tab. If you need help with these maps or what reciprocity means, click here to view our detailed explanation below.


  • Texas accepts Ohio ISSUED AFTER 3/22/2015.
  • Wisconsin accepts Ohio ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 3/22/2015.
  • Wisconsin accepts Nevada ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 07/01/2011.
  • Wisconsin accepts Virginia Non-Resident Permits Only.
  • Wisconsin accepts West Virginia license ISSUED OR RENEWED AFTER 06/08/12.
  • Wisconsin accepts Alaska license ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 1/14/2013.
  • Wisconsin accepts Missouri license ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 08/28/2013. This DOES NOT include any provisional license issued by the state.
  • For a non-resident, South Carolina is not a shall-issue state, since they require property ownership for non-residents.
  • South Carolina accepts Idaho Enhanced Permits Only.
Recent Changes:

6/22/2015 – Nevada updated their list of state’s they accept. Louisiana and Wyoming now accept Nevada. [source]
5/12/2015 – Pennsylvania and Ohio now have reciprocity. [source]
5/12/2015 – Ohio accepts all other resident and non-resident permits and licenses. [source]
3/25/2015 – Georgia accepts Ohio permits. [source]
3/25/2015 – Colorado accepts Ohio resident permits only. [source]
3/25/2015 – Wisconsin accepts Ohio ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 3/22/2015. [source]
1/5/2015 – New Mexico and Alaska have reciprocity. [source]
9/8/2014 – Nevada and Louisiana no longer have reciprocity. [source]
8/4/2014 – Montana honors Illinois Permits. [source]
7/31/2014 – Nevada honors Illinois Permits. [source]
7/14/2014 – Pennsylvania and Utah now have reciprocity. [source]
6/22/2014 – Nebraska honors Illinois Permits. [source]
5/27/2014 – Virginia and Washington now honor Kansas permits. [a href=”” target=”_blank”>source]
5/23/2014 – Wisconsin honors Nevada ISSUED OR RENEWED ON OR AFTER 07/01/2011. [source]
4/7/2014 – Wisconsin honors Illinois. [source]
3/19/2014 – Alaska honors Illinois. [source]
3/5/2014 – New Mexico honors Wyoming. [source]
1/16/2014 – Ohio accepts Arizona Non-Resident. [source]
1/12/2014 – Delaware no longer honors Virginia. [source]
10/31/2013 – Updated to reflect West Virginia signing reciprocity agreements with Iowa and New Hampshire [source]
9/16/2013 – Updated to reflect Ohio only accepting Arizona Resident Permits Only [source]
9/3/2013 – Colorado and West Virginia have full reciprocity. [source]
8/26/2013 – Pennsylvania updated to show they only accept Maine Resident Permits [source]
8/21/2013 – Georgia and West Virginia now have reciprocity. [WV sourceGA source]
8/6/2013 – Wyoming now honors Kansas. [source]
8/1/2013 – Alabama accepts all other state’s permits.
7/29/2013 – Pennsylvania accepts Kansas Permits. [source]
7/29/2013 – Pennsylvania will no longer accept Idaho carry permits [source]
7/23/2013 – Alabama changed to Shall Issue
7/9/2013 – Illinois Concealed Carry Law Enacted [source]
7/7/2013 – Kansas now accepts all state’s permits. [source]

Difference Between Concealed Carry Recognition and ReciprocitySome states have reciprocity agreements with other states which means each state honors the other state’s concealed carry permit.

Example of concealed carry reciprocity between two states: State A accepts State B’s concealed carry permit holders to carry in State A and State B accepts State A’s concealed carry permitholders to carry in State B.

There are also some cases where State A will accept State C’s concealed carry permit holders but State C WILL NOT accept State A’s concealed carry permit holders. This is NOT reciprocity.

The Concealed Carry Reciprocity Maps above will show you:

Map 1 – States That Honor My Permit(s):
The first screen on this map shows whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, or Right Denied.

Shall Issue: States that are Shall Issue will issue any private citizen a concealed weapons permit as long as they meet all requirements.

May Issue: States that are May Issue have the authority to take judgment on whether or not they want to issue a concealed weapons permit to a private citizen even after they have met all requirements.

Right Denied: States that are Right Denied DO NOT allows private citizens to carry handguns and do not issue concealed weapon permits.

To view which states accept your concealed weapons permit, just click on the state your permit is issued in. If you have multiple permits, start with your Resident Permit (The permit issued in the state you live in).

You may be asked if your concealed weapons permit is a Resident or Non-Resident permit. Some states issue permits to Residents of their state as well as Non-Residents. On the other hand, some state’s ONLY issue to Residents of their state. And to take it one step further, some states only allow permits issued to Residents of the states they have reciprocity with. This is what the yellow state color means on the map.

If you need to reset the map and start over just click on the Clear Map button.

Map 2 – Permits Honored by State
This map is a quick way to find out what state concealed carry permits a particular state allows. Just click on a state and any states that are blue are allowed within the selected state, red are not allowed, and yellow means only residents of that state that have permits are allowed.

Check out On The Vise, the new Fly Tying site by the creator of USA Carry.