Question from Ted. W:
Is the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement’s Class Qualify as Acceptable Training for an Ohio Concealed Carry License?
As long as the class meets the Minimum Educational Requirements listed below, Ohio will accept the training.
Minimum Educational Requirements
The Attorney General does not endorse any particular form of training or instructor. However, a list of instructors certified by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) who wish to teach classes to the general public is available on the Attorney General’s website at www. OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov. County sheriffs also may have a list of certified instructors who have provided contact information to the sheriff.
The law sets out minimum educational requirements that are a component of the various forms of competency certification as set forth on page 2. The total time required for training is 12 hours: 10 hours of instruction and another two hours of experience shooting a handgun.
The law requires at least 10 hours of certified training in the following matters:
- The ability to name, explain, and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition;
- The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner;
- The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner;
- Gun-handling training.
Additionally, you must have two hours of practical training, including range time and live-fire experience. The applicant also must complete an examination that tests his competency. The test must include a written section on the ability to name and explain the rules for the safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition. Additionally, the exam must include a physical demonstration of competency on handgun usage and rules for safe handling and storage of a handgun. It also must require a physical demonstration of the attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner.
As part of the training, applicants also must receive and certify that they have reviewed a copy of this publication.
As an advisory to consumers, the Attorney General recommends anyone contemplating private handgun training take the following minimum steps before paying for any form of training:
- Verify the person teaching the class is qualified to teach.
- Confirm the instructor knows the requirements of the law.
- Be certain the instructor will provide you with this publication.
- Verify whether a refund or additional training may be available if a county sheriff determines, when you apply for a license, that the course did not meet the law’s requirements.
Statutory Reference(s): ORC 2923.125(G)(1) requires that all applicants be given the website address where this publication may be found. This publication may be found at www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov. ORC 2923.125(G)(1)(a) sets out the minimum educational requirements necessary to receive competency certification. ORC 2923.125(G)(1)(b) describes the minimum amount of range and live-fire experience required to receive competency certification. ORC 2923.125(G)(2) requires that applicants take and pass a written examination.