Missouri Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- Shall Issue
- Permits Issued to Residents or members of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri, or the spouse of such member.
- 21 years of age required
- 18 years of age for military / 21 for military spuse
- Valid for 5 Years
- New: Up to $100 depending on Sheriff
- Renewal: Up to $50 depending on Sheriff
- 45 Day Processing Time
- Missouri Reciprocity Maps
- Missouri Concealed Weapons Law Brochure
- Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 571
- Missouri Attorney General Reciprocity Info
- Licensed to Carry Concealed Weapons Provisions
- Missouri Firearms Forums
Missouri Concealed Weapons License Example
Missouri Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does Missouri issue concealed carry permits?
Yes, Missouri issues Concealed Weapons Permits and is a Shall Issue State.
On February 26, 2004 Missouri’s concealed weapons law became effective. The law set up training requirements and background checks for applicants as well as issuing processes for sheriffs. It also states restrictions on where concealed weapons are and are not allowed. Lastly, it allows persons to carry concealed in their vehicle without obtaining a permit. [Source]
Who issues Missouri Concealed Weapon Permits?
Missouri sheriffs issue Missouri Concealed Weapon Permits. Apply to your local sheriff. [Source]
Are background checks required for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit?
Yes. Upon receiving an application, sheriff’s have 3 days to request a background check. [Source]
How long is a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit valid for?
Missouri Concealed Weapon Permits are valid for 5 years. [Source]
What is the processing time for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit?
Upon receiving an application, the sheriff has 45 days to approve or deny the applicant. If denied, the applicant can appeal the decision in small claims court. [Source]
How much does a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit cost?
The cost for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit is left up to the Sheriff but cannot exceed $100. Renewals cannot exceed $50. [Source]
What are the requirements for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit?
All applicants applying for an Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit must:
- Be at least 21 years old. Members of the armed forces stationed in Missouri must be at least 18 years old. Their spouses must be at least 21 years old.
- Resident of Missouri. Non-resident permits are issued to members of the armed forces stationed in Missouri and their spouses.
- Be a citizen of the United States
- has not been convicted, or pled guilty or nolo contendre to any felony
- have no weapons-related misdemeanor conviction
- have not been convicted within the past five years of a violent misdemeanor or have not been convicted of two or more misdemeanors involving DWI or possession or abuse of a controlled substance within the past five years
- not be a fugative
- not be currently charged with a felony
- not have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
- not have been adjudged mentally incompetent within the past five years
- received the required firearms safety training at least eight hours in length
- have not the respondent of a valid full order of protection
What are the required documents when applying for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit?
Applicants must obtain an application from their local sheriff. When applying for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit you need the completed application, a copy of your firearms training course certificate and then pay the non-refundable fee which cannot be more than $100. [Source]
How do I renew my Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit and what is the cost?
You must obtain a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit renewal application from your local sheriff. When renewing you will only need your completed application and your current concealed carry permit. There will be a NICS background check for each renewal. The renewal fee for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit can be no more than $50. [Source]
If my Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit is expired, what can I do?
Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit holders have 6 months to renew their license after it has expired. There is a $10 per month late fee associated with the expired renewal on top of the $50 renewal fee. [Source]
How do you change a name or address on a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit?
If you have a name change or a change of address, contact your local county sheriff to make the change on your Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit. There may be a $10 fee charged for the change.
What do you do if your Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
If your Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit is lost, stolen or damaged, contact your local county sheriff to obtain a new permit. There may be a $10 fee charged for the duplicate.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
No, there is no law that you must inform law enforcement that you are carrying. You must show your Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit when requested by law enforcement. You can be given a citation up to $35 for not complying. [Source]
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Missouri?
Anyone that is 21 years of age or older can legally carry a concealed weapon anywhere in their vehicle including on their person. You can also carry loaded rifles and shotguns in plain view. [Source]
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Missouri?
In accordance with Section 571.107 RSMo., you may not carry a concealed weapon in the following places:
- any police, sheriff, or Highway Patrol office or station without consent;
- within 25 feet of any polling place on Election Day;
- adult or juvenile jail or institution;
- courthouse or facilities;
- any meeting of a government body (except by a member with a concealed carry permit);
- bar without consent;
- where prohibited by federal law;
- child care facility (without consent of manager);
- riverboat gambling facility;
- amusement parks;
- any church or place of worship; without permission of minister or person representing religious organization;
- any sports arena or stadium (with seating for more than 5,000);
- hospitals; and
- private or public property where posted.
Possession of a firearm in a vehicle on the premises of any of the above-listed locations is not prohibited so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. Carrying a concealed firearm in any location specified above is not a criminal act. However, you can be denied access to the premises or may be removed from the premises for doing so. If a peace officer is summoned:
- Upon the first offense, you can be cited and fined up to $100.
- If within six months, a second offense occurs, you can be fined up to $200, and your concealed firearms permit can be suspended for a period of one year.
- If within one year of the first offense a third citation for a similar violation is issued, you may be fined up to $500, and your concealed carry permit revoked. If your concealed carry permit is revoked, you are not eligible for
the permit for a period of three years.
Does Missouri have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Yes, Missouri is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law. [Source]
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Missouri?
You can only carry in the dining area of a restaurant.
“Any establishment licensed to dispense intoxicating liquor for consumption on the premises, which portion is primarily devoted to that purpose, without the consent of the owner or manager. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to the licensee of said establishment. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any bona fide restaurant open to the general public having dining facilities for not less than fifty persons and that receives at least fifty-one percent of its gross annual income from the dining facilities by the sale of food. This subdivision does not prohibit the possession of a firearm in a vehicle on the premises of the establishment and shall not be a criminal offense so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. Nothing in this subdivision authorizes any individual who has been issued a concealed carry permit or endorsement to possess any firearm while intoxicated;”
Does Missouri have laws for No Gun signs?
They do not have the force of law unless you refuse to leave or are a repeat offender.
“Carrying of a concealed firearm in a location specified in subdivisions (1) to (17) of subsection 1 of this section by any individual who holds a concealed carry permit issued pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121, or a concealed carry endorsement issued prior to August 28, 2013, shall not be a criminal act but may subject the person to denial to the premises or removal from the premises. If such person refuses to leave the premises and a peace officer is summoned, such person may be issued a citation for an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars for the first offense. If a second citation for a similar violation occurs within a six-month period, such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed two hundred dollars and his or her permit, and, if applicable, endorsement to carry concealed firearms shall be suspended for a period of one year. If a third citation for a similar violation is issued within one year of the first citation, such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars and shall have his or her concealed carry permit, and, if applicable, endorsement revoked and such person shall not be eligible for a concealed carry permit for a period of three years.”
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Missouri State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
What are the Missouri Open Carry laws?
Please visit our Missouri Open Carry page for more information.
11/4/2013 – Format updated along with all information.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.