If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the California State Forums.
May Issue to Residents only.
County Sheriff or Police Chief of the area you reside.
Permit Valid For:
There are several fees involved. They will vary from agency to agency, but as a guideline:
• $70 – $125 – Department of Justice (fingerprints & background check)
• $100 – Local processing fee
• Training – varies, typically no more than $250, at most.
Featured California Firearm Instructors:
California law allows Police Chiefs and County Sheriffs to issue a license to carry a concealed firearm if the following requirements are met:
1. Upon proof that the person applying is of good moral character
2. That good cause exists for the issuance
3. The applicant is a resident of the county or city to which they are applying (or the applicant’s place of employment is within the city or county)
4. The applicant has completed a course of training (16-24 hours)
Change of Name or Address:
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Permits:
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
Some counties (Orange County in particular) require that during any contact with law enforcement, you must “immediately announce” you are carrying a concealed weapon and have a license to do so. Other counties do not have the same mandatory disclosure requirement. If you’re in one of those counties, you have to make the decision whether or not to notify the officer. Law enforcement officers that frequent this forum overwhelmingly would want to be notified. Wouldn’t you if you were them?
California Penal Code section 12025 does not prevent a citizen of the United States over 18 years of age who is not lawfully prohibited from firearm possession, and who resides or is temporarily in California, from transporting by motor vehicle any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person provided the firearm is unloaded and stored in a locked container.
The term “locked container” means a secure container which is fully enclosed and locked by a padlock, key lock, combination lock, or similar locking device. This includes the trunk of a motor vehicle, but does not include the utility or glove compartment. For more information, refer to California Penal Code Section 12026.1.
Places off-limits when carrying:
Federal courthouse – no. State courthouse (including “county” courthouses) – legally, yes – however, most courthouses have security and will not allow weapons in unless you are on-duty LEO.
California law does not prohibit CCW holders from carrying in a private business establishment, even if they post a sign and/or search people entering. However, they are within their rights to ask you to leave (temporarily or permanently) if they find out – and you are trespassing if you don’t leave after being asked.
Public Schoola, Collegea, or Universities – The answer is yes generally speaking. What we believe to be the applicable code sections follow for you to determine for yourself if this answer applies in your circumstance as this site does not provide legal advice.
While the California Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995 (626.9Cal PC) generally prohibits guns in schools, it has an exemption, located in PC 626.9(l), for Peace Officers, retired Peace Officers, and licensed CCW holders.
Alcohol and Drugs:
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
California is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law.
CA PC 198.5
198.5. Any person using force intended or likely to cause death or
great bodily injury within his or her residence shall be presumed to
have held a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or great
bodily injury to self, family, or a member of the household when that
force is used against another person, not a member of the family or
household, who unlawfully and forcibly enters or has unlawfully and
forcibly entered the residence and the person using the force knew or
had reason to believe that an unlawful and forcible entry occurred.
As used in this section, great bodily injury means a significant
or substantial physical injury.
Open Carry in California is prohibited in all incorporated areas. It may be legal in some rural areas if it is unincorporated and has not been made illegal by the county.
Localities with Varying Laws:
Issuance policies change from county to county, from shall issue to won’t issue and everything in between. Check with your local county for more information.
Forms & Links:
Concealed Handgun Permit Application
We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.