Iowa Concealed Carry Permit Information
Iowa Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- Shall Issue
- Permits issued to Residents and Non-Residents w/ Exceptions
- 21 years of age required for Non-Professional Permits
- 18 years of age required for Professional Permits
- Non-Professional Permits Valid for 5 years
- Professional Permits Valid for 1 year
- $50 New / $25 Renewal*
- Processing Time within 30 Days
- Iowa Reciprocity Maps
- Iowa Weapon Permit Website
- Iowa Weapon Permit FAQs
- Iowa Weapon Permit Application
- Iowa Weapon Permit Laws: (1) (2)
- Iowa Firearms Forums
Iowa Weapon Permit Example
Iowa Concealed Carry FAQ's
Does Iowa issue concealed carry permits?
Iowa is a Shall Issue State and issues Non-professional Weapon Permits to residents and non-resident with exceptions. Iowa Professional Weapon Permits are issued to residents and non-residents employed in a private investigation business or private security business licensed under chapter 80A, or a person’s employment as a peace officer, correctional officer, security guard, bank messenger or other person transporting property of a value requiring security, or in police work, reasonably justifies that person going armed.
Iowa became a shall issue state in 2011.
Who issues Iowa Weapon Permits?
Iowa Non-Professional Weapon Permits are issued by the Sheriff of your county of residence. The Department of Public Safety issues Iowa Professional Weapon Permits.
Are background checks required for an Iowa Weapon Permit?
Yes. The Sheriff (for Non-Professional Weapon Permits) or Iowa Department of Public Safety (for Professional Weapon Permits) will submit a NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) on each applicant. They also submit a request for juvenile felony arrests from the Clerk of District Court to verify if the applicant was found guilty of the felony. [source]
Does having an Iowa Weapon Permit exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Iowa?
Yes. Having an Iowa Weapon Permit does exempt you from a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check when purchasing a firearm. [source]
How long is an Iowa Weapon Permit valid for?
Iowa Non-Professional Weapon Permits are issued for five years. Iowa Professional Weapon Permits are issued for one year. [source]
What is the processing time for an Iowa Weapon Permit?
The processing time for new Iowa Weapon Permits is up to 30 days from the date they receive your application. [source]
How much does an Iowa Weapon Permit cost?
The fee for an Iowa Weapon Permit is $50 for a new permit and $25 for a renewal. Some Sheriff’s may charge $5-$10 for a plastic permit card. [source]
What are the requirements for an Iowa Weapon Permit?
You must be 21 years of age for an Iowa Non-Professional Weapon Permit or 18 years of age for an Iowa Professional Weapon Permit. You must submit an application to your local county Sheriff (for Non-Professional Weapon Permits) or the Department of Public Safety (for Professional Weapon Permits). There is also the following training requirements:
- Completion of any National Rifle Association (NRA) handgun safety training course.
- Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law
- Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by the Iowa Department of Public Safety.
- Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States as evidenced by any of the following:
- For personnel released or retired from active duty, possession of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions.
- For personnel on active duty or serving in one of the national guard or reserve components of the armed forces of the United States, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification.
- Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer’s duties.
The following training documentation is accepted:
- Photocopy of certificate of handgun training
- Honorable/general discharge or DD-214
- Affidavit attesting to completion of handgun training
- Certificate of completion of military basic training
- Qualified on a firing range under the supervision of a certified instructor (applies to renewal application only)
How do I renew my Iowa Weapon Permit and what is the cost?
You must apply for a renewal permit at least 30 days before your permit expires or you will be charged an additional processing fee. The renewal will cost $25. You must meet the training requirements below and submit a renewal application to your local county Sheriff (for Non-Professional Weapon Permits) or the Department of Public Safety (for Professional Weapon Permits).
Training requirements for renewal permits are the same as they are for new permits (see above) or you have the option to qualify on a firing range under the supervision of an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy). This training must take place within 12 months prior to the permit expiration date. [source]
How do you change a name or address on an Iowa Weapon Permit?
To change your name or address on an Iowa Weapon Permit contact your local county Sheriff (for Non-Professional Weapon Permits) or the Department of Public Safety (for Professional Weapon Permits) to make the change on your Iowa permit. The charge will be $25.00. [source]
What do you do if your Iowa Weapon Permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
To obtain a duplicate Iowa Weapon Permit contact your local county Sheriff (for Non-Professional Weapon Permits) or the Department of Public Safety (for Professional Weapon Permits). The charge will be $25.00. [source]
If I get arrested or convicted, do I have to notify the Iowa Department of Justice about the arrest or conviction?
Are far as we can tell, you are not required to notify them of an arrest or conviction. But they will suspend or revoke the permit if they find out that a permit holder has been arrested or has a disqualifying offense or is the subject of proceedings that could lead to the person’s ineligibility for such permit may immediately suspend such permit.
The issuing officer will immediately notify the permit holder of the suspension by personal service or certified mail on a form prescribed and published by the commissioner of public safety, and the suspension shall become effective upon the permit holder’s receipt of such notice. [source]
If I move my permanent residence to another state, is my Iowa Weapon Permit still valid?
No. Once you have moved your permanent resident to another state the permit is no longer valid.
Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Iowa?
Iowa does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Iowa. You must apply for a new Iowa Weapon Permit.
Does Iowa accept any other state's concealed carry permits or licenses?
While Iowa does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states, they do accept all other state’s concealed carry permits and licenses. [source]
To see the most up-to-date reciprocity information, please view our concealed carry reciprocity maps.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
No. You are only required to have your Iowa Weapon Permit on your when you are carrying a handgun and display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer. [source]
Does Iowa issue Iowa Weapon Permit to resident aliens with a green card?
Yes, Resident Aliens can apply for an Iowa Weapon Permit. On the application form, there is a field to enter your alien registration # (ARN) or I-94 non-immigrant admission #. [source]
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Iowa?
Anyone with an Iowa Weapon Permit or recognized permit may legally possess a loaded firearm in a vehicle. For anyone without a recognized permit or license, you are allowed to to carry or transport an unloaded pistol or revolver in a vehicle inside a closed and fastened container or securely wrapped package which is too large to be concealed on the person or inside a cargo or luggage compartment where the pistol or revolver will not be readily accessible to any person riding in the vehicle or common carrier. Long guns can be transported and remain accessible as long as they are unloaded and cased. [source]
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Iowa?
724.4A WEAPONS FREE ZONES — ENHANCED PENALTIES.
1. As used in this section, “weapons free zone” means the area in or on, or within one thousand feet of, the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school, or in or on the real property comprising a public park. A weapons free zone shall not include that portion of a public park designated as a hunting area under section 461A.42.
2. Notwithstanding sections 902.9 and 903.1, a person who commits a public offense involving a firearm or offensive weapon, within a weapons free zone, in violation of this or any other chapter shall be subject to a fine of twice the maximum amount which may otherwise be imposed for the public offense.
724.4B CARRYING WEAPONS ON SCHOOL GROUNDS — PENALTY — EXCEPTIONS.
1. A person who goes armed with, carries, or transports a firearm of any kind, whether concealed or not, on the grounds of a school commits a class “D” felony. For the purposes of this section, “school” means a public or nonpublic school as defined in section 280.2.
2. Subsection 1 does not apply to the following:
a. A person listed under section 724.4, subsection 4, paragraphs “b” through “f” or “j”.
b. A person who has been specifically authorized by the school to go armed, carry, or transport a firearm on the school grounds, including for purposes of conducting an instructional
program regarding firearms.
Firearms in Casinos
a. No patron or employee of the licensee, including the security department members, shall possess or be permitted to possess any pistol or firearm within a licensed facility without the express written approval of the administrator unless:
(1) The person is a peace officer, on duty, acting in the peace officer’s official capacity; or
(2) The person is a peace officer possessing a valid peace officer permit to carry weapons who is employed by the licensee and who is authorized by the administrator to possess such pistol or firearm while acting on behalf of the licensee within that licensed facility
100.2(1) Dangerous weapons. No member of the public shall carry a dangerous weapon in state buildings on the capitol complex. This provision applies to any member of the public whether or not the individual possesses a valid Iowa permit to carry weapons. This provision does not apply to:
a. A peace officer as defined in Iowa Code section 801.4 or a member of the armed forces of the United States or of the national guard, when the person’s duties or lawful activities require or permit possession of a dangerous weapon.
b. A person possessing a valid Iowa professional permit to carry a weapon whose duties require that person to carry a dangerous weapon.
c. A person who possesses a dangerous weapon for any purpose authorized by a state agency to further the statutory or regulatory responsibilities of that agency. An authorization issued pursuant to this paragraph shall not become effective until it has been issued in writing to the person or persons to whom it applies and until copies of the authorization have been received by the director and by the commissioner of public safety.
d. Members of recognized military veterans organizations performing honor guard service as
provided in 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 96, section 1.
Iowa State Fairgrounds – 371—2.5(173) Public safety—weapons.
The carrying or possession by any person other than a peace officer of any weapon, such as a dirk, dagger, hunting knife, buck knife, switch blade, or any knife with
a blade of three inches in length or longer, pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, pellet or BB gun, blackjack, billy club or any other weapon is prohibited on the fairgrounds unless authorized by the board. Failure to comply with this rule shall be cause for expulsion from the fairgrounds or being charged under Iowa Code chapter 724. Kitchen knives and others purchased at the fair must be wrapped and not concealed.
321G.13 Unlawful Operation.
3. A person shall not operate or ride a snowmobile (& ATV’s) with a firearm in the person’s possession unless it is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case. However, a nonambulatory
person may carry an uncased and unloaded firearm while operating or riding a snowmobile (This applies to people with AND without a permit).
Prohibits use or possession of firearms, ammunition, or other dangerous weapons,
substances, or materials (except as expressly authorized by the university), or of bombs, explosives, or
explosive or incendiary devices prohibited by law on the campus of the three state universities (U of I, Iowa
State, UNI) or at or during any university-authorized function or event by any person, student, member of the
faculty or staff.
Does Iowa have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Iowa does have Stand Your Ground / Castle Doctrine laws. [source]
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Iowa?
Your Iowa Weapon Permit becomes invalid when you are intoxicated.
This is defined as any one of the following: 1) while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances, 2) while having an
alcohol concentration of .08 or more, or 3) while any amount of a controlled substance is present in the person, as measured in the person’s blood or urine. [source]
Iowa has no laws prohibiting carry in an establishment that serves alcohol.
Does Iowa have laws for No Gun signs?
No, No Gun signs do not have the force of law unless they are posted on property that is already off-limits as mentioned above. There are some city and counties posting signs that their properties are no firearm zones. Whether or not they actually have the force of law or not, we recommend avoiding anywhere that is posted as a “no firearm zone.”
Does my military training exempt me from the training requirements for an Iowa Weapon Permit?
Yes, an honorable or general discharge, DD-214 or certificate of completion of military basic training is accepted as training documentation. [source]
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Iowa State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
State Parks: YES
State Forests: YES
National Forests: YES
State Preserves: YES
Road Side Rest Areas: YES
What are the Iowa Open Carry laws?
Please visit our Iowa Open Carry page for more information.
- 6/29/2022 – Info checked.
- 6/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 5/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 4/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 3/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 2/16/2022 – Updated links
- 10/10/2018 – Information and links checked.
- 6/4/2018 – Broken links fixed and information checked and updated.
- 8/9/2015 – Format updated along with all information.
Go To Another State's Concealed Carry Page
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Wyoming
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
May Issue to Residents Only:
Delaware, Virgin Islands
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, West Virginia
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands
We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not to provide legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the views of i156 LLC.