Kansas Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- Permitless Carry
- Shall Issue
- Permits issued to Residents and Non-Residents That are Active Duty or Dependents Stationed in Kansas
- 21 years of age required
- Valid for 4 years
- $132.50 Initial / $25 Renewal
- Processing Time within 90 Days
- Kansas Reciprocity Maps
- Kansas Attorney General Concealed Carry Website
- Kansas Concealed Carry License Application
- Kansas Firearm Laws
- Kansas Firearms Forums
Kansas Concealed Carry License Example
Kansas Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does Kansas issue concealed carry permits?
As of July 1, 2015, you no longer need a Kansas Concealed Carry License to carry concealed in the state of Kansas as long as you are not prohibited from possessing a firearm. But you can still get a Kansas Concealed Carry License to take advantage of the reciprocity Kansas has in place with other states.
Kansas is a Shall Issue State and issues Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses to residents of Kansas and non-residents that are Active Duty or dependents of Active Duty stationed in Kansas.
To apply, you must apply with the Sheriff of the county you reside in.
Kansas became a Shall Issue state as of July 1, 2006 but issued its first permit on January 3, 2007.
Who issues Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses?
Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses are issued by the Attorney General. Applications are submitted to the sheriff of the county you reside in. Once your license has been approved you will receive a letter directing you to go to a participating drivers license office to take a photo for the license. You will receive a paper version at that time and the actual license will be mailed to you in 1-2 weeks.
Are background checks required for a Kansas Concealed Carry License?
Yes, the Attorney General will conduct a background check when applying for a new license and renewing a license.
Does having a Kansas Concealed Carry License exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Kansas?
Yes, Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses issued after July 1, 2010 qualify as an alternative to a background check when purchasing a firearm according to the ATF Permanent Brady Permit Chart.
How long is a Kansas Concealed Carry License valid for?
Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses are valid for 4 years.
What is the processing time for a Kansas Concealed Carry License?
The processing time for new Kansas Concealed Carry Licenses is within 90 days by law. Turnaround time is usually around 30 days but you shouldn’t expect to hear anything for 45 to 60 days.
How much does a Kansas Concealed Carry License cost?
The fee for a new Kansas Concealed Carry License is $132.50. This can be paid with a money order, personal check or cashier’s check to your local sheriff and must be one in the amount of $32.50 payable to the sheriff’s office and a second one in the amount of $100 to the “Office of the Attorney General”.
Renewal licenses cost $25 and can be a money order, personal check or cashier’s check made out to “Kansas Attorney General” as long as you renew before the license expires. If it has expired, you have 6 months to renew the permit with an addition $15 fee making it $40. After 6 months you need to apply as if it was a new permit.
Replacement fee for lost and stolen licenses is $15 and can be a money order, personal check or cashier’s check made out to “Office of the Attorney General”. When changing your name or address the drivers license office will charge a fee but we could not find that fee stated anywhere.
What are the requirements for a Kansas Concealed Carry License?
When applying for a Kansas Concealed Carry License you must:
- Have payment for the applicable fees (see above).
- A photocopy of a certificate signed by an AG approved instructor showing the applicant’s completion of an approved training course. A certificate of completion may not be required if: (a) you are a retired law enforcement officer and apply within 8 years of retiring; (b) you are a state corrections or parole officer, or federal corrections officer who qualified with a handgun within the 12 months preceding application; or (c) you are a resident of Kansas in possession of a valid concealed handgun license issued by a jurisdiction whose training is equal to or greater than the Kansas training requirement.
- A 2” x 2” frontal view (head & shoulders, no sunglasses or hats), passport-type color photograph of the applicant taken within the preceding 30 days.
- A photocopy of your Kansas driver’s license or Kansas identification card. Eligible active duty military personnel and their dependents living in Kansas and possessing a non-Kansas driver’s license or state issued ID card must attach hereto a copy of: (a) their driver’s license or state issued ID card; and (b) the orders which currently station the member (or dependent) in Kansas.
Things that could cause your application to be denied:
- fleeing from a jurisdiction to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony
- Currently under charges, indictment or information (including a diversion agreement) in any court for a felony, or any other crime
- Being convicted as an adult or adjudicated as a juvenile in any court of a felony crime even if expunged
- Being convicted in any court of any misdemeanor crime involving domestic violence even if expunged. This can include convictions for domestic battery, battery, disorderly conduct or others.
- Currently subject to a court ordered restraining order involving an “intimate partner” or child of such a partner
- Being an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance
- Having ever been adjudicated mentally defective
- Having ever been involuntarily committed to a mental institution
- Currently or ever being a “mentally ill person subject to involuntary commitment” or “person with an alcohol or substance abuse problem subject to involuntary commitment”
- Being discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
- Being an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States
- Being a nonimmigrant alien residing in Kansas unless you reside in Kansas and you fall within any of the exceptions set forth in 18 U.S.C. § 922(y)(2)
Exceptions to Nonimmigrant Alien Prohibition: An “alien” is anyone not a citizen or “national of the U.S.” A “national of the U.S.” is someone who owes permanent allegiance to the U.S. A “nonimmigrant visa” is a visa properly issued to an alien as an eligible nonimmigrant by a competent officer. Nonimmigrant aliens may apply for a Kansas concealed carry handgun license if the alien: (1) is admitted to the U.S. for lawful hunting or sporting purposes and in possession of a hunting license/permit issued in the U.S.; (2) is an official representative of a foreign government who is accredited to the U.S. Government or their Government’s mission to an international organization having its headquarters in the U.S.; (3) is an official of a foreign government or a U.S. Dept of State designated “distinguished foreign visitor”; (4) is foreign law enforcement of a friendly foreign government and here on official law enforcement duties; or (5) has received a firearms waiver from the Attorney General of the United States. See 18 U.S.C § 922(y)(2) for additional exceptions)
How do I renew my Kansas Concealed Carry License and what is the cost?
The Kansas Attorney General will mail you a renewal notice at least 90 days before you Kansas Concealed Carry License expires. You must then fill out the application, get it notarized and then sent via certified mail it back to the Attorney General or hand deliver the notarized application to the Attorney General’s Office in Topeka. You must also supply a current 2×2 inch color photo of the licensee and a money order, personal check or cashier’s check in the amount of $25.00 made payable to the Kansas Attorney General.
If it has expired, you have 6 months to renew the permit with an addition $15 fee making it $40. After 6 months you need to apply as if it was a new permit.
How do you change a name or address on a Kansas Concealed Carry License?
You must notify the Kansas Attorney General within 30 days of your address or name change in writing. Once you receive the approval notice you need to go to an approve drivers license station to re-issue the license for a fee. We could not find how much this fee would be.
What do you do if your Kansas Concealed Carry License is lost, stolen or damaged?
You must notify the Kansas Attorney General within 30 days of losing or having your license stolen including a notarized statement setting forth the circumstances of the loss and a money order, personal check or cashier’s check made out to “Office of the Attorney General” for $15. Once you receive the approval notice you need to go to an approve drivers license station to re-issue the license for a fee. We could not find how much this fee would be.
If I get arrested or convicted, do I have to notify the Kansas Department of Justice about the arrest or conviction?
Are far as we can tell, you are not required to notify anyone if you are arrested. Any reasons that would cause you to be denied on an initial application can cause your license to be revoked or suspended.
If I move my permanent residence to another state, is my Kansas Concealed Carry License still valid?
While we cannot find anything that specifically states this, since they do not issue permits to non-residents other than ones that are in the active military or their dependents which are stationed in Kansas, then once you move out of the state it is no longer valid. You must notify the Kansas Attorney General about your address change within 30 days.
Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Kansas?
Kansas does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Kansas.
Does Kansas accept any other state’s concealed carry permits or licenses?
Kansas recognized all permits and licenses from all other states. To see the most up to date reciprocity information please our concealed carry maps.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
No, you do not need to immediately notify law enforcement that you are carrying concealed but you must give him your license when asked. Since you no longer need a license to carry a concealed handgun in Kansas, you don’t need to have your license on your but it is recommended.
75-7c03. (b) At all times when the licensee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun, the licensee shall carry the valid license to carry concealed handguns. On demand of a law enforcement officer, the licensee shall display the license to carry concealed handguns and proper identification. Verification by a law enforcement officer that a person holds a valid license to carry a concealed handgun may be accomplished by record check using the person’s driver’s license information or the person’s concealed carry license number
Does Kansas issue Kansas Concealed Carry License to resident aliens with a green card?
Yes, Resident Aliens can apply for a Kansas Concealed Carry License. The application states:
(If born outside of U.S. attach a copy of your foreign-born U.S. citizen birth certificate, U.S. passport or certificate of naturalization)
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Kansas?
Since you no longer need a license to carry concealed, you may be able to now carry concealed while in a car without a license but we have yet to verify if this is correct. Once we receive verification on this we will update this entry.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Kansas?
You can find the list of places that are off-limits while carrying concealed here.
Does Kansas have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Kansas is a state with castle law. You can find the Kansas SENATE BILL No. 381 here.
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Kansas?
It is unlawful for anyone carrying a firearm on their person or within immediate access and control while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It is a class A misdemeanor offense which punishment can be up to one year in jail and/or up to $2500 in fines.
Carrying concealed in a restaurant that serves alcohol is allowed.
USA Carry always recommends never to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol.
Does Kansas have laws for No Gun signs?
No, No Gun signs do not have the force of law.
(e) (1) It shall be a violation of this section to carry a concealed handgun in violation of any restriction or prohibition allowed by subsection (a) or (b) if the building is posted in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection
(h). Any person who violates this section shall not be subject to a criminal penalty but may be subject to denial to such premises or removal from such premises.
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Kansas State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
State Parks: Yes
State Forests: Yes
National Forests: Yes
Road Side Rest Areas: Yes
What are the Kansas Open Carry laws?
Visit our Kansas Open Carry page for more information.
Does my military training exempt me from the training requirement for a Kansas Concealed Carry License?
No, you are not exempt from the training requirements for a Kansas Concealed Carry License if you are currently servicing in or are honorably discharged from the military.
10/2/2015 – Format updated along with all information.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.