Illinois Concealed Carry
This is a summary of Illinois Concealed Carry and firearm laws. We break them down into a question and answer format to make it easier to understand for those of us that aren’t lawyers.
States That Honor Illinois Concealed Carry Permits (Residents Only)
To go to another state’s concealed carry page, click on the state in the map above. To view reciprocity for all states, visit our interactive Concealed Carry Maps.
Illinois Concealed Carry License Example
Are background checks required for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
All applicants for an Illinois Concealed Carry License undergo a background check during the application process. This background check includes a NICS search.
Applicants can submit fingerprints in electronic format. If you don’t, the Illinois State Police have another 30 days to complete the application process.
Does having an Illinois Concealed Carry License exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Illinois?
No. Due to Federal Laws, having an Illinois Concealed Carry License or any other state’s concealed weapon license or permit does not exempt you from the background check when purchasing a gun in the state of Illinois.
How long is an Illinois Concealed Carry License valid for?
Illinois Concealed Carry Licenses are valid for five years.
What is the processing time for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
The Illinois State Police shall issue or deny applications within 90 days of receiving a complete application, fee, and a full set of fingerprints in electronic format. If you do not submit fingerprints, the ISP has an extra 30 days to complete the application process.
How much does an Illinois Concealed Carry License cost?
The cost for an initial 5-year Illinois Concealed Carry License is $150. The cost to renew your license is also $150. Non-residents’ initial and renewal licenses cost $300.
What are the requirements for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
To obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License, you must meet the following requirements:
- At least 21 years of age
- Current FOID card (Residents Only)
- Not prohibited under federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm
- Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:
- A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last five years
- Two or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof
- Within the last five years have not been the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification.
- Have not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last five years
- Has submitted a completed Concealed Carry License application, has successfully completed 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.
How do you apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
There are two ways to apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License, online through the ISP website or by phone at 217-782-7980.
During the application process you will need to provide the following:
- A valid driver’s license number or state identification card number
- A valid Illinois FOID card (Residents Only)
- A valid copy of your concealed carry license from your current state (Non-Residents Only)
- A head and shoulder photograph taken within the last 30 days (Electronic for Online, 2″x2″ Headshot for Phone Applications)
- 10 years of residency
- Fingerprints if you want to expedite your application.
- $150 for residents | $300 for non-residents
- 16 hours of concealed carry training provided by an ISP approved instructor
Currently, only residents of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas, and Virginia may apply for a Non-Resident Illinois Concealed Carry License.
Does military training exempt you from the training requirements to get an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Military training gives you credit for up to 8 hours toward the 16 hours of training required for an Illinois Concealed Carry License. Active military personnel needs to provide documentation identifying them as an active member. Veterans will need to provide a copy of their DD-214 or NGB 22.
How do you change a name or address on an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
To request a name or address change on your Illinois Concealed Carry License, log into the ISP website or call 217-782-7980. The fee is $75 + a service fee. Note that your name and address must match what is on your Driver’s License or State Identification card.
What do you do if your Illinois Concealed Carry License is lost, stolen or damaged?
If your Illinois Concealed Carry License is lost, damaged, or stolen, you can request a duplicate by logging into the ISP website or calling 217-782-7980. The fee is $75 + a service fee.
Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Illinois?
Illinois does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Illinois. You must apply for a new Illinois Concealed Carry License.
Does Illinois accept any other state's concealed carry permits or licenses?
Illinois does not honor any other state’s concealed carry licenses or permits. To see the most up-to-date reciprocity information visit our concealed carry reciprocity maps.
Do any other states recognize Illinois Concealed Carry Licenses?
Yes, 27 recognize and honor Resident Illinois Concealed Carry Licenses.
To see the most up-to-date reciprocity information, please view our concealed carry reciprocity maps.
When carrying in another state, you must obey the laws concerning concealed carry of that state.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
There is no Illinois law that requires you to inform Law Enforcement that you are carrying a concealed weapon.
Does Illinois issue Illinois Concealed Carry License to resident aliens with a green card?
Yes. Illinois issues Concealed Weapon Licenses to lawful permanent resident aliens that have been deemed so by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship, and Immigration Service (USCIS).
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Illinois?
You can carry concealed in a vehicle with an Illinois Concealed Carry License or a license or permit from another state.
If you do not have a license or permit, firearms and ammo must be stored in the truck unloaded and in a case.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Illinois?
430 ILCS 66/65 Sec. 65 – Prohibited areas.
A licensee under this Act shall not knowingly carry a firearm on or into:
- Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private elementary or secondary school.
- Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a pre-school or child care facility, including any room or portion of a building under the control of a pre-school or child care facility. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent the operator of a child care facility in a family home from owning or possessing a firearm in the home or license under this Act, if no child under child care at the home is present in the home or the firearm in the home is stored in a locked container when a child under child care at the home is present in the home.
- Any building, parking area, or portion of a building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm onto the real property, bikeway, or trail in a park regulated by the Department of Natural Resources or any other designated public hunting area or building where firearm possession is permitted as established by the Department of Natural Resources under Section 1.8 of the Wildlife Code.
- Any building designated for matters before a circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court, or any building or portion of a building under the control of the Supreme Court.
- Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government.
- Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
- Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home.
- Any bus, train, or form of transportation paid for in whole or in part with public funds, and any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public transportation facility paid for in whole or in part with public funds.
- Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.
- Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public that requires the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government, provided this prohibition shall not apply to a licensee who must walk through a public gathering in order to access his or her residence, place of business, or vehicle.
- Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer’s license as defined in Section 1-3.17.1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special Event Retailer’s license, or a Special use permit license as defined in subsection (q) of Section 5-1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special use permit license.
- Any public playground.
- Any public park, athletic area, or athletic facility under the control of a municipality or park district, provided nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm while on a trail or bikeway if only a portion of the trail or bikeway includes a public park.
- Any real property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District.
- Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, whether owned or leased, and any real property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, college, or university.
- Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a gaming facility licensed under the Illinois Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location licensee.
- Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event.
- Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a public library.
- Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an airport.
- Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an amusement park.
- Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a zoo or museum.
- Any street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The licensee shall not under any circumstance store a firearm or ammunition in his or her vehicle or in a compartment or container within a vehicle located anywhere in or on the street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility described in this paragraph.
- Any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law.
- (a-5) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a public or private community college, college, or university from:
- prohibiting persons from carrying a firearm within a vehicle owned, leased, or controlled by the college or university;
- developing resolutions, regulations, or policies regarding student, employee, or visitor misconduct and discipline, including suspension and expulsion;
- developing resolutions, regulations, or policies regarding the storage or maintenance of firearms, which must include designated areas where persons can park vehicles that carry firearms; and
- permitting the carrying or use of firearms for the purpose of instruction and curriculum of officially recognized programs, including but not limited to military science and law enforcement training programs, or in any designated area used for hunting purposes or target shooting.
- (a-10) The owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control. The owner must post a sign in accordance with subsection (d) of this Section indicating that firearms are prohibited on the property, unless the property is a private residence.
- Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle’s trunk. For purposes of this subsection, “case” includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.
- A licensee shall not be in violation of this Section while he or she is traveling along a public right of way that touches or crosses any of the premises under subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section if the concealed firearm is carried on his or her person in accordance with the provisions of this Act or is being transported in a vehicle by the licensee in accordance with all other applicable provisions of law.
- Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property specified in this Section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Illinois State Police and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size. The Illinois State Police shall adopt rules for standardized signs to be used under this subsection.
Does Illinois have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Illinois is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground law.
Use of deadly force justified. Specific legislation prevents filing claim against defender of dwelling. Illinois has no requirement of retreat.
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Illinois?
You cannot consume alcohol or drugs while carrying concealed in Illinois.
A licensee shall not carry a concealed firearm while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or combination of compounds, or any combination thereof, under the standards set forth in subsection (a) of Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
USA Carry always recommends not to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol.
Concealed carriers cannot go into establishments that have more than 50% of their revenue from alcohol. Any establishments that do should have a sign posted.
Will having an Illinois Medical Marijuana Card cause my Concealed Carry Licenses to be revoked or my application be denied?
No, having or getting an Illinois Medical Marijuana Card will not cause your Concealed Carry License to be revoked and won’t cause your application to be denied. That said, you are subject to restrictions that prohibit you from acquiring or possessing firearms and firearms ammunition under Federal law.
Does Illinois have laws for No Gun signs?
Properties that display a No Gun sign do have the force of law in Illinois.
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Illinois State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Roadside Rest Areas?
State Parks: YES
State Forests YES
National Forests YES
Road Side Rest Areas: NO
What are the Illinois Open Carry Laws
Open carry is not legal in Illinois. If you have an Illinois Concealed Carry License, the firearm must be concealed from view.
Have a Question?
Do you have a question that we haven’t answered? Contact us here, and we’ll do our best to find you an answer.
- 3/29/2023 – Info checked. Edited a typo to show that Illinois accepts 0 permits.
- 6/29/2022 – Info checked.
- 6/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 5/2/2022 – Info checked.
- 4/3/2022 – Info checked.
- 3/1/2022 – Info checked.
- 2/2/2022 – Info checked.
- 1/14/2022 – Info checked.
- 10/20/2021 – Upgraded to interactive maps.
- 10/18/2021 – All information checked.
Go To Another State's Concealed Carry Page
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry, or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status below).
Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Nebraska, New Mexico
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
May Issue to Residents Only:
Delaware, Virgin Islands
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, Montana, Wyoming
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands
We try to keep the information on this page as up-to-date as possible, but it is your responsibility to verify all information due to changing laws. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not to provide legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails, or any links within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the views of i156 LLC.