Rhode Island Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- May Issue for Attorney General
- Shall Issue for Local Authorities
- Permits Issued to Residents and Non-Resident
- 21 years of age required
- Valid for 4 years
- $40 for New and Renewals
- 90 Day Processing Time
- Rhode Island Reciprocity Maps
- Rhode Island AG Weapons Carry Permit Packet
- Rhode Island AG Renewal Form
- Rhode Island Firearm Statutes
- State of Rhode Island General Laws
- Rhode Island Final Rules and Regulations Search
- Rhode Island Attorney General
- Rhode Island Firearms Forums
Rhode Island Concealed Weapons License Example
Rhode Island Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does Rhode Island issue concealed carry permits?
Yes, Rhode Island issues Rhode Island Pistol Permits. Whether they are a Shall Issue state or a May Issue state is a gray area. The Rhode Island Attorney General can issue Pistol Permits but Local Officials also issue them. The law for the Attorney General uses the wording “may” while the law for Local Officials uses the wording “shall”.
Many Local Authorities won’t issue pistol permits referring you to apply through the Attorney General.
Attorney General Law
“§ 11-47-18 License or permit issued by attorney general on showing of need – Issuance to retired police officers. – (a) The attorney general may issue a license or permit to any person twenty-one (21) years of age or over to carry a pistol or revolver, whether concealed or not, upon his or her person upon a proper showing of need, subject to the provisions of §§ 11-47-12 and 11-47-15; that license or permit may be issued notwithstanding the provisions of § 11-47-7.
(b) All state police officers and permanent members of city and town police forces of this state who have retired in good standing after at least twenty (20) years of service, or retired in good standing due to a physical disability other than a psychological impairment, may be issued a license or permit by the attorney general subject to the provisions of §§ 11-47-12 and 11-47-15. The term “in good standing” means that at the time of retirement, the police officer was not facing disciplinary action that could have resulted in his or her termination for misconduct or unfitness for office. Any member of the licensing authority, and its agents, servants, and employees shall be immune from suit in any action, civil or criminal, based upon any official act or decision, performed or made in good faith in issuing a license or permit under this chapter.
(c) Notwithstanding any other chapter or section of the general laws of the state of Rhode Island, the attorney general shall not provide or release to any individual, firm, association or corporation the name, address, or date of birth of any person who has held or currently holds a license or permit to carry a concealed pistol or revolver. This section shall not be construed to prohibit the release of any statistical data of a general nature relative to age, gender and racial or ethnic background nor shall it be construed to prevent the release of information to parties involved in any prosecution of § 11-47-8 or in response to a lawful subpoena in any criminal or civil action which said person is a party to such action.
History of Section.
(G.L. 1938, ch. 404, § 7; P.L. 1950, ch. 2452, § 2; G.L. 1956, § 11-47-13; G.L. 1956, § 11-47-18; P.L. 1959, ch. 75, § 1; P.L. 1975, ch. 278, § 1; P.L. 1981, ch. 387, § 1; P.L. 1990, ch. 396, § 1; P.L. 1993, ch. 414, § 1; P.L. 1998, ch. 268, § 1; P.L. 2007, ch. 368, § 1; P.L. 2007, ch. 438, § 1.)” [Source]
Local Authorities Law
“§ 11-47-11 License or permit to carry concealed pistol or revolver. – (a) The licensing authorities of any city or town shall, upon application of any person twenty-one (21) years of age or over having a bona fide residence or place of business within the city or town, or of any person twenty-one (21) years of age or over having a bona fide residence within the United States and a license or permit to carry a pistol or revolver concealed upon his or her person issued by the authorities of any other state or subdivision of the United States, issue a license or permit to the person to carry concealed upon his or her person a pistol or revolver everywhere within this state for four (4) years from date of issue, if it appears that the applicant has good reason to fear an injury to his or her person or property or has any other proper reason for carrying a pistol or revolver, and that he or she is a suitable person to be so licensed. The license or permit shall be in triplicate in form to be prescribed by the attorney general and shall bear the fingerprint, photograph, name, address, description, and signature of the licensee and the reason given for desiring a license or permit and in no case shall it contain the serial number of any firearm. The original shall be delivered to the licensee. Any member of the licensing authority, its agents, servants, and employees shall be immune from suit in any action, civil or criminal, based upon any official act or decision, performed or made in good faith in issuing a license or permit under this chapter.
(b) Notwithstanding any other chapter or section of the general laws of the state of Rhode Island, the licensing authority of any city or town shall not provide or release to any individual, firm, association or corporation the name, address, or date of birth of any person who has held or currently holds a license or permit to carry a concealed pistol or revolver. This section shall not be construed to prohibit the release of any statistical data of a general nature relative to age, gender and racial or ethnic background nor shall it be construed to prevent the release of information to parties involved in any prosecution of § 11-47-8 or in response to a lawful subpoena in any criminal or civil action which the person is a party to that action. ” [Source]
On May 20, 2013, Senate Bill 286 was signed into law and took effect on August 1, 2013. This makes Rhode Island a Shall Issue State. Sheriff’s are required to issue or deny the concealed carry application within thirty (30) days. Upon denials, applicants will receive a written notice and have the chance to appeal the denial.
Who issues Rhode Island Pistol Permits?
Rhode Island Attorney Generals and Local Authorities can issue Rhode Island Pistol Permits. Please see the questions above for more details.
Are background checks required for a Rhode Island Pistol Permit?
Yes. Upon receiving the applications (Attorney General or Local Authorities), they will then check your background with state, local and Federal law enforcement databases. They may also check other sources that contain pending criminal cases, restraining orders, court records and/or discrepancies in the applicant’s background, including prior history of mental illness. [Source] [Source]
How long is a Rhode Island Pistol Permit valid for?
Rhode Island Pistol Permits are valid for 4 years. [Source]
What is the processing time for a Rhode Island Pistol Permit?
The processing time for a Rhode Island Pistol permit is a maximum of 90 days. [Source]
How much does a Rhode Island Pistol Permit cost?
The cost for a Rhode Island Pistol Permit is $40. This is paid upon picking up the permit and must be a check or money order. Do not send it with your application. [Source]
What are the requirements for a Rhode Island Pistol Permit?
All applicants applying for a Rhode Island Pistol Permit must:
- Completed Application Form. It must be printed or typed or it will be returned
- Application must be notarized.
- If applying through the AG, the application must be signed or stamped by the local Police Chief or a city hall official in the city or town of the applicant’s residence.
- Enclose two (2) 1” X 1” pictures of the applicant taken without headgear or glasses. This photo must be a clear, colored picture of the head and face. Please PRINT applicant’s name on the back of each picture. NO laminated photos will be accepted.
- Three (3) References AND reference letters are required for new AND renewal applications and are to be submitted along with the application. All three references are to TYPE (not handwritten) a letter for the applicant pertaining to the gun permit that is SIGNED, DATED AND MUST BE NOTARIZED. Reference letters must be written by the reference, not the applicant, and cannot be identical.
- Proof of qualification before a certified weapons instructor; i.e., N.R.A. Instructor or Police range instructor must be supplied along with a copy of the instructor’s NRA/FBI firearms instructor’s certification. Qualifications will only be accepted up to one year old and you cannot qualify yourself.
- Two types of positive identification must be submitted, photocopied, signed and dated by a Notary Public, attesting to be true copies.
- All NON-RESIDENT APPLICANTS must include a copy of the their home state permit
- All new pistol permits issued from this office must have a full set of applicant’s fingerprints submitted on a FBI FINGERPRINT APPLICANT CARD [FD-258 (Rev. 12-29-82)] included with be application. Fingerprint card must be signed by applicant. This is not necessary for a renewal application
- If the permit is to be used for employment, a TYPED AND SIGNED letter of explanation must be submitted on your employer’s letterhead and included with the application. Also, please include a copy of the business license as proof that the business exists.
- If the permit is not for employment, a typed letter must be submitted by the applicant stating the reasons why a permit is needed on a full time basis. All letters must be dated. We will not accept a photocopy of any signature.
- Retired Police Officers applying under 11-47-18 must submit a letter of verification from the Chief of Police of the department which they retired from stating that they have completed 20 years of good standing.
- A Forty dollar ($40.00) CHECK OR MONEY ORDER must be presented when picking up permit. DO NOT SEND A CHECK OR MONEY ORDER WITH YOUR APPLICATION.
- Applicant will be notified by mail of approval or denial of permit. If approved, applicant must appear in person to pick up permit. This application, fingerprint card, and photo’s become part of the records of the Attorney General and will not be returned.
- All permits will expire FOUR (4) YEARS from the date of issue. Also, the renewal of your permit is your obligation. No notification of expiration of the permit will be sent to you. Allow a maximum of 90 DAYS for processing of your application due to the fact that this department is dependant on other agencies for information necessary to complete the application.
How do I renew my Rhode Island Pistol Permit and what is the cost?
Rhode Island Pistol Permits must be renewed before they expire. You will not be notified by the Attorney General or Local Authorities that you need to renew your permit. The process to renew is almost the same as a new application except you don’t have to supply a set of fingerprints. The cost is $40.
How do you change a name or address on a Rhode Island Pistol Permit?
If you have a name change or a change of address, contact the Attorney General or your local authorities depending on who issued your permit to make the change on your Rhode Island Pistol Permit.
What do you do if your Rhode Island Pistol Permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
If your Rhode Island Pistol Permit is lost, stolen or damaged, contact contact the Attorney General or your local authorities depending on who issued your permit to obtain a duplicate.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
From what we have found in our research, in Rhode Island there is no duty to inform law enforcement when you are carrying a concealed weapon in the State of Rhode Island. [Source]
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Rhode Island?
Residents of Rhode Island without a Pistol Permit are allowed to transport handguns in their vehicle if:
- The handguns are merchandise
- The handguns are unloaded and are being transported from the place of purchase to your home or place of business
- You are moving the handguns from one place of living or business to another
- You are transporting the handgun to or from a target practice range (handgun must be broken down, unloaded and secured in separate container or openly carried.)
Residents of other states with a valid concealed carry permit issued by another state are allowed to carry a handgun in the vehicle or on their person, concealed or not, as long as they are transporting the firearms through Rhode Island.
Unloaded rifles and shotguns can be transported in your vehicle without a permit.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Rhode Island?
Other than federal restrictions, it is illegal to carry a weapon while under the influence of liquor or drugs. [Source]
Does Rhode Island have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Yes, Rhode Island is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law. [Source]
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Rhode Island?
It is illegal to carry a weapon while under the influence of liquor or drugs. [Source]
Does Rhode Island have laws for No Gun signs?
There is no clear law or answer as to whether No Gun Signs have the force of law in the state of Rhode Island. When in doubt, treat it as having the force of law.
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Rhode Island State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
State Parks:No Park and Management Area Rules and Regulations – Rule VIII Sec. 11 11.1
State/National Forests No Park and Management Area Rules and Regulations – Rule VIII Sec. 11 11.1
WMA’s: No Park and Management Area Rules and Regulations – Rule VIII Sec. 11 11.1
Road Side Rest Areas: YES
What are the Rhode Island Open Carry laws?
Please visit our Rhode Island Open Carry page for more information.
11/5/2013 – Format updated along with all information.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Wyoming
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
May Issue to Residents Only:
Delaware, Virgin Islands
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, West Virginia
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.