Wisconsin Concealed Carry

This is a summary of Wisconsin Concealed Carry and firearm laws. We break them down into a question and answer format to make it easier to understand for those of us that aren’t lawyers.

Wisconsin Concealed Carry Quick Stats:

  • Permit/License: Wisconsin Concealed Carry License
  • Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents (Stationed Military Only)
  • 21 years of age minimum
  • Valid for 5 Years
  • $40 Initial / $22 Renewal
  • Processing Time within 22 Days
  • 47 State/Territory Permits Honored
  • 26 States Accept Wisconsin*
  • State Population: 5,893,718 (2020)
  • License Issued: 101,549 (2020)

States That Honor Wisconsin Concealed Carry Licenses (Residents Only)

For non-resident licenses and other states, click on the image to view our Concealed Carry Maps.

Wisconsin Concealed Carry License Example

Wisconsin Concealed Carry License Example

Wisconsin Concealed Carry License Information

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Wisconsin issue concealed carry permits?

Wisconsin is a Shall Issue State and issues Concealed Weapon Licenses to residents of Wisconsin. Non-resident licenses are only issues to Military personnel stationed in Wisconsin.

Applicants can apply online at the Wisconsin Concealed Carry Website. You can also download the application form or request one be mailed to you by calling (608) 261-7998 or sending a letter to:

Wisconsin Department of Justice
ATTN: Firearms Unit
P.O. Box 7130
Madison, WI 53707-7130

Wisconsin was the 49th state to instate concealed carry law which went into effect on November 1, 2011, making them a Shall Issue state.

Who issues Wisconsin CCW Licenses?

Wisconsin CCW Licenses are issued by the Wisconsin Department of Justice. You can visit the Wisconsin CCW licensing website here.

What are the requirements for a Wisconsin Concealed Carry License?

To be eligible for a Wisconsin CCW License license the applicant must:

  • Be 21 years of age or older.
  • Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.
  • Not have been ordered as a condition of bail or release in a criminal case from possessing a dangerous weapon.
  • Be a Wisconsin resident (as evidenced by a valid Wisconsin driver’s license or ID card), or be active military stationed in Wisconsin.
  • Have provided proof of the firearms training required for a license.

What are the training requirements for a Wisconsin Concealed Carry License?

The proof of training requirement may be met by any of the following:

  1. A copy of a document, or an affidavit from an instructor or organization that conducted the
    course or program, that indicates that the individual completed any of the following:

    1. The hunter education program established by the Department of Natural
      Resources (DNR) or a substantially similar program that is established by another
      state, country, or province and that is recognized by DNR.
    2. A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a national or state
      organization that certifies firearms instructors. A model certificate is available here.
    3. A firearms safety or training course that is available to the public and is
      offered by a law enforcement agency.
    4. A firearms safety or training course that is taught by an instructor who is
      certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or by
      an instructor certified by DOJ, and that is available to the public and offered by
      any of the following: a technical college, a college or university, a private or public
      institution or organization, or a firearms training school.
    5. A firearms safety or training course that is offered to law enforcement officers or to
      owners and employees of licensed private detective and security agencies.
    6. A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a firearms instructor who
      is certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or
      who is certified by DOJ.
  2. Documentation that the individual completed military, law enforcement, or security training
    that gave the individual experience with firearms that is substantially equivalent to a course
    or program described above.
  3. A current or expired license, or a photocopy of a current or expired license, that the
    individual holds or has held that indicates that the individual is licensed or has been
    licensed to carry a firearm in this state or in another state or in a county or municipality of
    this state or of another state unless the license has been revoked for cause. You must
    complete form DJ-LE-289 from the DOJ website and include it with a copy of the license.
  4. Documentation of completion of small arms training while serving in the U.S. armed
    forces as demonstrated by an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable
    conditions or a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of
    successful completion of small arms training and certification. Wis. Stat. § 175.60(4)(a).

How much does a Wisconsin CCW License cost?

The cost for a Wisconsin CCW License is $40. If you are mailing in your application, include a check for $40 made out to Wisconsin Department of Justice.

How long is a Wisconsin CCW License valid for?

Wisconsin CCW Licenses are valid for five years from the date it was issued unless suspended or revoked.

What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Wisconsin?

The following places or off-limits when carrying concealed in Wisconsin:

  1. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station, or the office of a division of criminal investigation special agent of the department.
  2. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
  3. The facility established under s. 46.055. (Secure mental health facility for sexually violent Persons)
  4. The center established under s. 46.056. (Wisconsin Resource Center)
  5. Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s. 51.05, including a facility
  6. designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.

  7. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.
  8. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.
  9. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.

The prohibitions under par. (a) do not apply to any of the following:

  1. A weapon in a vehicle driven or parked in a parking facility located in a building that is used as, or
    any portion of which is used as, a location under par. (a).
  2. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a judge who is a licensee is carrying the weapon or if
    another licensee or out−of−state licensee, whom a judge has permitted in writing to carry a weapon,
    is carrying the weapon.
  3. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a district attorney, or an assistant district attorney, who is a licensee is carrying the weapon.

Are background checks required for a Wisconsin CCW License?

Yes. For Wisconsin residents, the Wisconsin Department of Justice will conduct a background check when applying for a Wisconsin CCW License.

Does having a Wisconsin CCW License exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Wisconsin?

No. Having a Wisconsin CCW License does not exempt you from a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check when purchasing a firearm according to the ATF Permanent Brady Permit Chart.

How do I renew my Wisconsin Concealed Carry License and what is the cost?

The cost to renew your Wisconsin Concealed Carry License is $22.

You can renew your Wisconsin Concealed Carry License from 120 days before the expiration date to 90 days after the expiration date. Valid license holsters will receive a notice in the mail with a unique identifier to renew using the online system>.

You can also download the renewal application form or request one be mailed to you by calling (608) 261-7998 or sending a letter to:

Wisconsin Department of Justice
ATTN: Firearms Unit
P.O. Box 7130
Madison, WI 53707-7130

How do you change a name or address on a Wisconsin Concealed Carry License?

You have 30 days to notify the Wisconsin Department of Justice of name and address changes. Use their online form to request and pay for the changes.

  • Name Change: $22
  • Name and Address change: $22
  • Address Change: $12 (w/ New Card)
  • Address Change: $0 (w/o New Card)

What do you do if your Wisconsin Concealed Carry License is lost, stolen or damaged?

If your Wisconsin Concealed Carry License is lost or stolen, you can apply for a new license using their online form. It will cost $22 and require a new background check.

If your license is damaged and you need a new one with the same license number, download the replacement form and mail it to the address below along with the $12 fee.

If I get arrested or convicted, do I have to notify the Wisconsin Department of Justice about the arrest or conviction?

As far as we can tell, you are not required to notify the Department of Justice of an arrest or conviction. But the DOJ will revoke a license if the license holder is no longer legally eligible to possess a concealed weapon. They will also suspend a license if a court has prohibited a license holder from possessing a dangerous weapon as a condition of bail.

If your license is suspended or revoked, you will receive a notice in the mail within one day of the revocation or suspension and takes effect when you receive it.

Within seven days, you must deliver the license to the DOJ, mail the license via certified mail, or mail a signed statement stating you no longer have possession of it and the reason why. Failing to do so can result in a fine of up to $500 and 30 days in jail.

If I move my permanent residence to another state, is my Wisconsin Concealed Carry License still valid?

From what we can tell, your license will no longer be valid after you move to another state. You have 30 days to notify the Wisconsin Department of Justice of address changes.

Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Wisconsin?

Wisconsin does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Wisconsin. You must apply for a new Wisconsin CCW License.

Does Wisconsin accept any other state's concealed carry permits or licenses?

Wisconsin accepts 47 other state and territory permits or licenses. Wisconsin has a specific list of states they have reciprocity with and will honor non-resident permits/licenses from those states. To see the most up-to-date reciprocity information visit our concealed carry reciprocity maps.

Does Wisconsin issue Wisconsin Concealed Carry License to resident aliens with a green card?

It seems that yes, Resident Aliens can apply for a Wisconsin Concealed Carry License. In the application form, question 14 asks to enter a Alien Registration or INS # and Country of citizenship if not a citizen.

What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Wisconsin?

If you do not have a Wisconsin Concealed Carry License or a permit or license from a state or territory Wisconsin honors, the firearm should be stowed in the truck out of reach.

Does Wisconsin have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?

Wisconsin is a state with castle law. Assembly Bill 69 relates to the privilege of self-defense.

What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Wisconsin?

Carrying a firearm while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance is a class A misdemeanor (9 months jail and/or $10,000 fine).

Under the influence has been defined as materially impairing the ability to handle a firearm which
is further explained as consuming ―any amount of alcohol to cause the person to be less able to
exercise clear judgment and steady hand necessary to handle a firearm.

If you have a concealed handgun license, you may carry concealed in a place of business that serves alcohol as long as the license holder is not consuming alcohol.

USA Carry always recommends never to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol.

Does Wisconsin have laws for No Gun signs?

Yes, No Gun signs have the force of law. See Wisconsin Statute 943.13 (2).

Have a Question?

Do you have a question that we haven’t answered? Contact us here, and we’ll do our best to find you an answer.

Changelog

  • 10/29/2021 – Adjusted formatting of FAQs.
  • 10/28/2021 – New Page Format and all information checked.

Go To Another State's Concealed Carry Page

To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry, or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status below).

Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Nebraska, New Mexico

Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
District of Columbia, FloridaIllinois, Indiana, MinnesotaNevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin

May Issue to Residents Only:
California, Delaware, Virgin Islands

May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York

Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, Montana, Wyoming

Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, KentuckyMaine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Utah, West Virginia

Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
Vermont

Right Denied:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands

Disclaimer

We try to keep the information on this page as up-to-date as possible, but it is your responsibility to verify all information due to changing laws. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not to provide legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails, or any links within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the views of i156 LLC.

99
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
[index]
[index]
[index]
[index]
[index]
[index]