South Carolina Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- Shall Issue
- Permits issued to Residents and Non-residents with exceptions
- 21 years of age required
- Valid for five years
- Initial cost is $50
- Processing Time Up to 90 Days
- South Carolina Reciprocity Maps
- South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Program
- South Carolina Gun Laws
- South Carolina Firearms Forums
South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Example
South Carolina Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does South Carolina issue concealed carry permits?
South Carolina is a Shall Issue State and issues concealed weapons permits to residents of South Carolina as well as out-of-state/non-residents with exceptions. Non-residents must own property in South Carolina or if you are Military stations in South Carolina. If you are applying as a Non-resident and own property in South Carolina, you must fill out this form and have the Assessor sign it. Shall Issue means that the sheriff must issue you a permit even after meeting all requirements for an South Carolina Handgun Permit. The relevant South Carolina gun law can be read here.
South Carolina became a shall issue state in 1996.
Who issues South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits?
South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits are issued by the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED). You can visit their Concealed Weapons Permit Program website here.
As of January 14, 2015, all renewals can be made online and soon new applicants will be able to apply online.
Are background checks required for a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit?
Yes, background checks are required when applying for a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit.
Does having a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm South Carolina?
Yes. Having a South Carolina Handgun License does exempt you from a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check when purchasing a firearm.
How long is a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit valid for?
South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits are valid for 5 years if issued after February 11, 2014.
What is the processing time for a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit?
The processing time for new South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits is up to 90 days from the date they receive your application. For renewals, the processing time is up to 30 days.
How much does a South Carolina Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit cost?
The fee for a five year license (new or renewal ) is a $50 which can be a certified check, cashier’s check or money order made payable to SLED.
What are the requirements for a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit?
The following are requirements to obtain a South Carolina Handgun License:
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Complete an application signed by the applicant
- Submit a photocopy of your driver’s license or photographic identification card
- Photographic identification card must be issued by the state in which the applicant resides or by the Department of Revenue, a federal or state law enforcement agency, an agency of the United States Department of defense, or the United States Department of State.
- Submit proof of residence if you are a Resident of South Carolina
- You are considered a resident if you are present in South Carolina with the intention of making a permanent home in South Carolina or military personnel on permanent change of station orders.
- Submit proof of ownership of real property in South Carolina if you are not a resident of South Carolina. You must fill out this form and have the Assessor sign it.
- Submit proof of actual or corrected vision rated at 20/40 within six (6) months of the date of application. (Not needed if you have a valid driver’s license.)
- Submit proof of training
- Original or certified copy of training certificate
- Must be within three (3) years before filing an application
- Shows that you successfully completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety
- Must included information on the statutory and case law of South Carolina relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force
- Must include information on handgun use and safety
- Must include information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child
- Must involve the actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor
- Any military that can demonstrate the completion of basic military training provided by any branch of the United States military by submitting their DD214 form
- Any retired law enforcement officer who produces proof that he is a graduate of the Criminal Justice Academy or that he was a law enforcement officer prior to the requirement for graduation from the Criminal Justice Academy
- Any instructor certified by the National Rifle Association or another SLED-approved competent national organization that promotes the safe use of handguns
- Any person who can demonstrate to the Director of SLED or his designee that he has a proficiency in both the use of handguns and state laws pertaining to handguns
- Any active duty police handgun instructor
- Any person who has a SLED-certified or approved competitive handgun shooting classification
- Any member of the active or reserve military, or a member of the National Guard
- Original or certified copy of training certificate
- Payment of the $50 application fee. This fee is waived for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers
- Submit a complete set of fingerprints
- Unless because of a medical condition verified in writing by a licensed medical doctor, a complete set of fingerprints is impossible to submit. In lieu of the submission of fingerprints, the applicant must submit the written statement from a licensed medical doctor specifying the reason or reasons why the applicant’s fingerprints may not be taken. If all other qualifications are met, the Chief of SLED may waive the fingerprint requirements of this item. The statement of medical limitation must be attached to the copy of the application retained by SLED. A law enforcement agency may charge a fee not to exceed five dollars for fingerprinting an applicant
How do I renew my South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit and what is the cost?
You can renew your South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit using the online form and the cost is $50. This fee is waived for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers. You will receive a notification about your permit expiring from the SLED at least thirty days before it expires via mail or online.
How do you change a name or address on a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit?
You must notify SLED in writing within 10 days of your change of name or address along with a $5 fee. Failure to notify SLED is considered a misdemeanor with a $25 fine. Here is a link download the South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit Duplication/Replacement form.
What do you do if your South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
You must submit the South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit Duplication/Replacement form along with a $5 fee.
If I get arrested or convicted, do I have to notify the South Carolina State Police about the arrest or conviction?
You must surrender your South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit to SLED immediately if you become prohibited under state law from possessing a weapon. You also must surrender your permit if you are charged for an offense that, upon conviction, would prohibit the person from possessing a firearm. However, if the person subsequently is found not guilty of the offense, then his permit must be reinstated at no charge. A person who fails to surrender his permit in accordance with this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty-five dollars.
If I move my permanent residence to another state, is my South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit still valid?
No. One you have moved your permanent resident to another state and no longer own real property in the State, the permit is revoked and you must surrender your South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit to SLED immediately. A person who fails to surrender his permit in accordance with this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty-five dollars.
Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to South Carolina?
South Carolina does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to South Carolina. You must apply for a new South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit.
Does South Carolina accept any other state’s concealed carry permits or licenses?
Yes, South Carolina has reciprocity with and accepts resident permits of the following states:
- Idaho (Enhanced Only)
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- West Virginia
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
Yes, as a permit holder you must have your permit in your possession whenever you are carrying a concealed weapon. You also must inform law enforcement that you are a permit holster and present the permit when he identifies himself as law enforcement and he requests your driver’s license. You can find a big discussion about informing LEO of concealed carry by clicking here.
Does South Carolina issue South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit to resident aliens with a green card?
Yes. South Carolina does issue South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits to lawful permanent resident aliens that have been deemed so by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). You must provide your Alien # on the application along with a copy of your alien card.
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in South Carolina?
You may carry concealed in a vehicle with a South Carolina Handgun License or a recognized state’s permit or license. Without a recognized license or permit, loaded handguns may be carried in a closed glove compartment. Rifles and shotguns may be loaded while in the trunk or passenger area unless you are in a state park, recreational area or wildlife area during hunting season. In this case, all long guns must be unloaded and secured in cases even if you have a permit.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in South Carolina?
The following is a list of places that are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in South Carolina:
- Law enforcement office or facility
- Detention or correctional facility
- Courthouse or courtroom
- Polling place on election days
- Office of or the business meeting the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district
- School or college athletic event not related to firearms
- Daycare or preschool facility
- Place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms
- Church or other established religious sanctuary unless express permission is given by the appropriate church official or governing body
- Medical services facilities unless expressly authorized by the employer.
- Place clearly marked with a sign prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon on the premises pursuant to Sections 23-31-220 and 23-31-235. Except that a property owner or an agent acting on his behalf, by express written consent, may allow individuals of his choosing to enter onto property regardless of any posted sign to the contrary. A person who violates a provision of this item, whether the violation is wilful or not, may only be charged with a violation of Section 16-11-620 and must not be charged with or penalized for a violation of this subsection.
Except as provided for in item (11), a person who willfully violates a provision of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than one year, or both, at the discretion of the court and have his permit revoked for five years.
Does South Carolina have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
South Carolina is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground law called the Protection of Persons and Property Act.
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in South Carolina?
You must not consume alcoholic liquor, beer, or wine while carrying a concealed weapon. You may carry in places that serve food or alcohol. USA Carry always recommends never to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol. Anyone caught drinking alcohol while carrying concealed will get their permit revoked for five years, plus face up to two years in prison and a $2,000 fine.
Does South Carolina have laws for No Gun signs?
Yes, No Gun signs have the force of law.
SECTION 23-31-235. Sign requirements.
- Notwithstanding any other provision of this article, any requirement of or allowance for the posting of signs prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon upon any premises shall only be satisfied by a sign expressing the prohibition in both written language interdict and universal sign language.
- All signs must be posted at each entrance into a building where a concealable weapon permit holder is prohibited from carrying a concealable weapon and must be:
- clearly visible from outside the building;
- eight inches wide by twelve inches tall in size;
- contain the words “NO CONCEALABLE WEAPONS ALLOWED” in black one-inch tall uppercase type at the bottom of the sign and centered between the lateral edges of the sign;
- contain a black silhouette of a handgun inside a circle seven inches in diameter with a diagonal line that runs from the lower left to the upper right at a forty-five degree angle from the horizontal;
- a diameter of a circle; and
- placed not less than forty inches and not more than sixty inches from the bottom of the building’s entrance door.
- If the premises where concealable weapons are prohibited does not have doors, then the signs contained in subsection (A) must be:
- thirty-six inches wide by forty-eight inches tall in size;
- contain the words “NO CONCEALABLE WEAPONS ALLOWED” in black three- inch tall uppercase type at the bottom of the sign and centered between the lateral edges of the sign;
- contain a black silhouette of a handgun inside a circle thirty-four inches in diameter with a diagonal line that is two inches wide and runs from the lower left to the upper right at a forty-five degree angle from the horizontal and must be a diameter of a circle whose circumference is two inches wide;
- placed not less than forty inches and not more than ninety-six inches above the ground;
- posted in sufficient quantities to be clearly visible from any point of entry onto the premises.
Are you allowed to carry concealed in South Carolina State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
State Parks: YES 51.3.145
State Forests: YES 51.3.145
National Forests: YES 51.3.145
WMA’s: YES 123-203 (B) & 123-204 (D)
Road Side Rest Areas: YES 16-23-420
I am a South Carolina resident but am currently deployed with the Military. Can I still obtain a South Carolina Handgun License?
If you are deployed with the Military, in most cases you will have to wait to get home because you have to get fingerprinted and visit your local law enforcement agency for approval. You may try contacting your local law enforcement agency to see if they can accommodate you while deployed.
- South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Program
- South Carolina Gun Laws
- South Carolina Firearms Forums
- South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Application
- NRA: South Carolina State Profile
- Wikipedia: Gun Laws in South Carolina
What are the South Carolina Open Carry laws?
Please visit our South Carolina Open Carry page for more information.
6/23/2015 – Format updated along with all information.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Wyoming
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
May Issue to Residents Only:
Delaware, Virgin Islands
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, West Virginia
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.