Does West Virginia issue concealed carry permits?
Yes, West Virginia is a shall issue state, meaning the state is required to furnish a concealed carry permit if you can pass a background check. West Virginia only issues permits to residents of the state.
Who issues West Virginia concealed weapon permits?
The county sheriff in the county the applicant resides.
What does a West Virginia Concealed Pistol/Revolver License look like?
Are background checks required for a West Virginia Concealed Weapon Permit?
Background checks are required when applying for a West Virginia concealed carry permit but the permit will not exempt you from a NICS check at a FFL.
How long is a West Virginia concealed weapon permit valid for?
The West Virginia concealed weapon permit shall be valid throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance.
What is the processing time for a West Virginia concealed weapon permit?
The application must be approved or rejected within 45 days.
How much does an West Virginia concealed weapon permit cost?
The fee for a West Virginia concealed weapon permit is $75 plus an additional $15 if you are approved.
What are the requirements for a West Virginia concealed weapon permit?
- Be a resident of this state and of the county in which the application is filed
- Be at least 21 years of age or be at least 18 years of age and be employed in a job requiring the applicant to carry concealed handguns
- Not be addicted to or an unlawful user of alcohol, controlled substances, or other drugs
- Not have been convicted of a felony
- Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence involving the use of a deadly weapon
- Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
- Not be currently subject to either a temporary or final domestic violence protective order
- Not be on probation or any other form of judicial supervision for any misdemeanor
- Not under indictment for any felony
- Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent by any court
- Be physically and mentally competent to carry a concealed handgun; this provision is vague but has not led to known abuses
- Have successfully completed one of several specified forms of handgun training.
What are the required documents when applying for a West Virginia concealed weapon permit?
- A completed application
- A nonrefundable permit fee of $75
How do I renew my West Virginia concealed weapon permit and what is the cost?
The process is the same as a new application, with the exception you check the box ‘renewal’ on the form and you do not have to requalify.
How do I change my name or address on my West Virginia concealed weapon permit?
This information is not available.
What do I do if my West Virginia concealed weapon permit is lost or stolen?
If a license is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the license was issued may obtain a duplicate or substitute license for a fee of $5 by filing a notarized statement with the sheriff indicating that the license has been lost or destroyed.
Do I need to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
You are not statutorily required to inform law enforcement you are carrying a weapon in the state of West Virginia.
What are the laws regarding a firearm in an automobile in West Virginia?
Without a West Virginia concealed weapon permit, the firearm must be openly carried.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in West Virginia?
- The grounds of any jail, state correctional facility, juvenile facility or juvenile detention center, unless specifically authorized by the authorities in control of the facility (W.Va. Code § 61-5-8(c))
- Primary or secondary school property (W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a(b))
- School buses (W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a(b))
- Primary or secondary school-sponsored functions or events (W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a(b))
- Courthouses (W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a(g))
- Anywhere on the State Capitol Complex, including the grounds outside the buildings (W.Va. Code § 61-6-19(b))
- Wherever signs are posted indicating weapon restrictions or where notice has been given by other means. (W.Va. Code § 61-7-14) However, a person is not subject to the misdemeanor penalty provided for a violation of any such restriction unless that person refuses to either leave or temporarily relinquish his or her weapon, upon being confronted about the violation.
- The city hall, municipal auditorium, the civic center, and all parks and recreation buildings ad facilities, including recreation centers, playgrounds, swimming pools, dressing areas, tennis courts, parks and recreation areas and all other buildings, structures, facilities, and grounds thereof, owned or occupied by the City of Charleston (Charleston City Code § 78-165–grandfathered under preemption)
- City Hall or any municipal building or public park in the City of Dunbar (Dunbar City Code § 545.13–grandfathered under preemption)
- Any city-owned building, park or recreation area in the City of South Charleston (South Charleston City Code § 545.15–grandfathered under preemption)
What are the laws regarding alcohol and a concealed weapon in West Virginia?
There are no known statutes restricting carry in establishments serving alcohol.
Does West Virginia has a Stand Your Ground law aka Castle Doctrine?
Yes, West Virginia is a Castle Doctrine state and has a Stand Your Ground Law which is below.
§55-7-22 of the Code of West Virginia
- (a) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence is justified in using reasonable and proportionate force, including deadly force, against an intruder or attacker to prevent a forcible entry into the home or residence or to terminate the intruder’s or attacker’s unlawful entry if the occupant reasonably apprehends that the intruder or attacker may kill or inflict serious bodily harm upon the occupant or others in the home or residence or if the occupant reasonably believes that the intruder or attacker intends to commit a felony in the home or residence and the occupant reasonably believes deadly force is necessary.
- (b) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence does not have a duty to retreat from an intruder or attacker in the circumstances described in subsection (a) of this section.
- (c) A person not engaged in unlawful activity who is attacked in any place he or she has a legal right to be outside of his or her home or residence may use reasonable and proportionate force against an intruder or attacker: Provided, That such person may use deadly force against an intruder or attacker in a place that is not his or her residence without a duty to retreat if the person reasonably believes that he or she or another is in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm from which he or she or another can only be saved by the use of deadly force against the intruder or attacker.
- (d) The justified use of reasonable and proportionate force under this section shall constitute a full and complete defense to any civil action brought by an intruder or attacker against a person using such force.
- (e) The full and complete civil defense created by the provisions of this section is not available to a person who: (1) Is attempting to commit, committing or escaping from the commission of a felony; (2) Initially provokes the use of force against himself, herself or another with the intent to use such force as an excuse to inflict bodily harm upon the assailant; or (3) Otherwise initially provokes the use of force against himself, herself or another, unless he or she withdraws from physical contact with the assailant and indicates clearly to the assailant that he or she desires to withdraw and terminate the use of force, but the assailant continues or resumes the use of force.
- (f) The provisions of this section do not apply to the creation of a hazardous or dangerous condition on or in any real or personal property designed to prevent criminal conduct or cause injury to a person engaging in criminal conduct
What are the laws regarding open carry in West Virginia?
Open carry in West Virginia is unrestricted in most public areas and generally accepted.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.