As of July 8, 2011, anyone who meets the same requirements to obtain a Wyoming concealed weapons permit can legally carry a firearm in any place that is not specifically prohibited.
Does Wyoming issue concealed weapon permits?
Yes, Wyoming is a shall issue state, meaning the state is required to furnish a permit if you can pass a background check. Wyoming only issues permits to residents of the state.
What does a Wyoming concealed weapon permit look like?
Who issues Wyoming concealed weapon permits?
Wyoming Attorney General issues all Wyoming concealed weapon permits.
Are background checks required for a Wyoming Concealed Weapon Permit?
Background checks are requred when apllying for a Wyoming concealed carry permit and will qualify as a NICS (National Instant Criminal System) check which should exempt you from a background check for a firearm at a FFL.
How long is a Wyoming concealed weapon permit valid for?
The Wyoming concealed weapon permit shall be valid throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance.
What is the processing time for a Wyoming concealed weapon permit?
Wyoming concealed weapon permits are processed in approximately 90 days.
How much does an Wyoming concealed weapon permit cost?
The fee for a Wyoming concealed weapon permit is $74.00. This includes the state application fee and fingerprint fees charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Renewal fees are $50.00.
What are the requirements for a Wyoming concealed weapon permit?
- Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six (6) months prior to filing the application. The Wyoming residency requirements of this paragraph do not apply to any person who holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits, is a valid statewide permit, and the state has laws similar to the provisions of this section, as determined by the attorney general, including a proper background check of the permit holder
- Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age
- Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm
- Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or W.S. 6-8-102
- Has not been committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances.
- Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been involuntarily committed to any residential facility pursuant to the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state as a result of the use of alcohol
- Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of firearms competition, shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any one (1) of the following activities listed in this paragraph shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:
- Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement academy
- Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law enforcement or security enforcement
- Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized handgun shooting competition or military service
- Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor
- Be certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency
- Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum of ten (10) years of service
- Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent
- Has not been committed to a mental institution
What are the required documents when applying for a Wyoming concealed weapon permit?
- A completed application
- A nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), if he has not previously been issued a statewide permit, or a nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for renewal of a permit
- A full set of fingerprints of the applicant administered by a law enforcement agency. The actual cost of processing the set of fingerprints required in this paragraph shall be borne by the applicant
- A photocopy of a certificate or an affidavit or document
How do I renew my Wyoming concealed weapon permit and what is the cost?
You must renew your Wyoming concealed weapon permit on or before the expiration date by filing with the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in this section, and the required renewal fee. The permit shall be renewed to a qualified applicant upon receipt of the completed renewal application, appropriate payment of fees and the division shall verify that the criminal history information available to the division does not indicate that possession of a firearm by the applicant would constitute a violation of state or federal law. A permittee who fails to file a renewal application on or before its expiration date shall renew his permit by paying a late fee of ten dollars ($10.00). No permit shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and the permit shall be deemed to be permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply for a permit pursuant to subsections (b) through (e) of this section.
How do I change my name or address on my Wyoming concealed weapon permit?
Within thirty (30) days after the changing of a permanent address, or within thirty (30) days after the loss or destruction of a permit, the Wyoming concealed weapon permit holder shall so notify the division. Violation of this subsection may result in cancellation or revocation of the permit.
Wyoming Concealed Weapon Permit Address Change Form – Click Here
What do I do if my Wyoming concealed weapon permit is lost or stolen?
In the event that a Wyoming concealed weapon permit is lost or destroyed, the permit shall be automatically invalid, and the person to whom the same was issued may, upon payment of a five dollar ($5.00) fee to the division, obtain a duplicate, upon furnishing a notarized statement to the division that the permit has been lost or destroyed.
Do I need to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
You are not statutorily required to inform law enforcement you are carrying a weapon in the state of Wyoming.
What are the laws regarding a firearm in an automobile in Wyoming?
Without a Wyoming concealed weapon permit, loaded firearms may be carried in plain view or secured in gun cases anywhere in the vehicle, but should not be concealed.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Wyoming?
- Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator
- Any detention facility, prison or jail
- Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom
- Any meeting of a governmental entity
- Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof
- Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
- Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose
- Any place where persons are assembled for public worship, without the written consent of the chief administrator of that place
- Any elementary or secondary school facility
- Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or regulation or state law
What are the laws regarding alcohol and a concealed weapon in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, you may carry a concealed firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol but not in the portion of the facility dedicated to such purpose.
Does Wyoming has a Stand Your Ground law aka Castle Doctrine?
Yes, Wyoming is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law. Wyoming Governor Dave Freudenthal (D) signed House Bill 137 otherwise known as the Castle Doctrine measure. While the bill was stripped of its “no duty to retreat in a public place” provision, the version that was sent to the Governor’s desk did keep the “no duty to retreat inside one’s home” language as well as the provision that individuals whose homes are unlawfully entered cannot be held civilly liable if they use deadly force to defend their home, self or family.
According to the Governor’s message, “the notion of a ‘castle doctrine’ is that a person’s home is his or her castle and he or she is entitled to defend it, its contents and his or her family.”
What are the laws regarding open carry in Wyoming?
Open carry in Wyoming is unrestricted in most public areas and generally accepted.
Forms & Links:
Wyoming Attorney General – Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation Concealed Firearm Permits
Address Change Form
NRA-ILA: Wyoming Gun Laws
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Wyoming
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
May Issue to Residents Only:
Delaware, Virgin Islands
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, West Virginia
Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.