Top Nav

Georgia Concealed Carry Permit Information

Click here to view the Georgia Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map.

If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the State Forums.

Concealed Permit:

Shall Issue to Residents Only

Example Resident Permit:

Georgia Concealed Weapon Permit
Georgia Concealed Weapon Permit

Issuing Authority:

Probate court in the county in which you reside. Contact info for all 159 of them are listed here: http://www.georgiapacking.org/gfl1.php


NICS/Background Check:
License qualifies as NICS check during firearm
purchases.

Cost:
$75-$89 depending on the county

Required Documents:
Identification and Proof of Residency, most counties will accept a valid
GA Drivers License, some counties will require more. Note that
providing SSN is optional.
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
Georgia does not require that a licensee volunteer to LEO’s that he is carrying but does require that the GFL be presented on request.

Automobile carry:

Without a GA or Reciprocal License – fully open to view (such as uncovered in passenger seat, partially sticking out below or beside seat is not allowed). If you are not prohibited from obtaining a firearm carry license, it can be in a closeable compartment like the glove box or center console (map pockets that are not closeable are not acceptable) ith a GA or Reciprocal License – Anywhere in the car.
Places off-limits when
carrying:

Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:

Georgia has a castle doctrine and imposes no duty to
retreat before reasonably resorting to deadly force (“stand your ground”) if you
are lawfully present where you are threatened and are not engaged in illegal
conduct at the time.

Open Carry:

Prohibited unless one possesses a recognized license.

Localities with Varying Laws:

Georgia has generally pre-empted the regulation of
firearms with the exception that cities/counties may regulate the discharge
of firearms and laws governing the carry of firearms by city/county
employees while working.

Print Friendly
  • Travis Shelton

    The cost for GA has been raised to $75-$89 depending on the county

  • Anonymous

    Thanks, this info has been updated.

  • Anonymous

    Thanks, this info has been updated.

  • Vampyre2022

    ga now does require the GFL holder to notifiy the LEO that he is carrying if stopped in your car also in ga you cannot carry in a building with more than 200 people, bank church, school, or any goverment building just thought you should know

    • Xmanhockey7

      Is that the only PFZ as far as there being no more than 200 people or are there others?

    • Jlcnuke

      This post is only partially somewhat correct.  Ignore it please and visit the actual code or a site that is up to date please

    • 9mmJeff

      Since the passage of SB308, the 200 people and Bank prohibit have been removed. School, church, and government buildings are still off limits (you can have in your vehicle)

  • Devoshire

    Kindly cite applicable statutes in regard to notifying leos that youre carrying, as well as those pertaining to the 200 person rule, as well as banks.
    Thank you

    • Jlcnuke

      200 person rule does not exist.  Prior to passage of SB308 in 2010 there was a prohibition against carrying at “public gatherings” and that has been eliminated.  Notification of a GWL is NOT required (contrary to info on this page).  It IS required that a person have their GWL in their possession if it is required to be lawfully carrying.

  • Bill

    Can the weapon be loaded while in the vehicle?

    • Jlcnuke

      yes, but only if you have (or are not prohibited from obtaining) a GWL.

    • Erinaveryt

      yes if you have a carry permit.
      it can be loaded while in your car.

  • Ronnie Cole

    with a ga permit can you carrying it concealed

    • Jlcnuke

      With a valid GWL (or for non-residents, a permit issued by a state which GA recognizes their permit), open or concealed carry is permitted anywhere not specifically designated off-limits by federal legislation or 16-11-various subsection of OCGA.

  • Jeben725

    List states that are reciprocal with Ga.

    • JR POWERS

      IT’S ON THE WEB, JUST LOOK FOR IT

  • Steveshadburn

    Georgia (my home state) has a bullshit ccw policy. Thank God I have an Ohio and Utah ccw permits. Maybe one day GA will catch up to the rest of the country.

    • Kfamoor

      How do you mean, Steve? How is GA behind? Not trying to piss on your garden, honestly trying to figure out your meaning.  I am about to get my CCW, so I’m curious… 

      • Jerry Huber

         Steve please tll us the difference in the Ga. and Ohio ccw

        • Fred

          We relocated FROM Kommiefornia to Georgia and we LOVE it!  Compared to California, Georgia’s CCW policy is like breathing actual air.  Each county in California has either a “may issue” or “shall issue.”  Ours was a “may issue.”  You had to pay a couple hundred dollars for a training course, then you had to pay $210 for the application process, then you had to be interviewed by a sheriff deputy to determine whether or not you actually NEEDED a ccw.  THEN, the SHERIFF would eventually decide if he was going to issue a CCW.  He could say “no” for no reason at all.  Plus, California licenses are only good for 2 years before needing to be renewed.

          There is NO Castle Doctrine in California either and the laws restricting the use of deadly force are patently ridiculous.

          You also had to list (no more than THREE) guns on your CCW permit, including the model number AND serial number.  Only those three guns were permissible to use.

          Georgia’s CCW policies are wonderful, far better than many other states.

          • phil48

            In ga. if you do not have a lience your gun can be in glove box,console but you ammo must be seperate from your gun.rebimber the 3 point rule 1 you have to get your gun1,load it 2 cock it3 aim and pull the trigger

          • Scongie

            WRONG! In georgia your weapon does NOT have to be unloaded if it is in your vehicle. As long s you are not prohibited by law to own a handgun.

          • Jim

            I’m not sure where you got that, it’s false.

    • Regbl

      There’s nothing wrong with the policy.  You can even open carry.  What county do you live in?

    • Hooper

      Steve, you make an assertion without clarification or evidence to back it up. So, if you will permit me to do the same….You’re an idiot…… Georgia is a very gun friendly state. Oh, the evidence supporting my assertion is exhibit A (your post).

  • Chaddrowland

    Hey can someone explain to me why ga law clearly states that for 30 dollars plus a 5 dollar fingerprint fee I will be issued a permit…but these counties are charging far in excess of that?

  • Kevo

    I live in Dekalb Co.  Can I get my CCW in Cobb or Cherokee since their wait is days as opposed to Dekalb’s 3 months to a year?

    • DeKrap Co

      No

  • Gfd451

    Amen brother, GCO is the way to go and get the correct info. With the new laws on places you now can carry, they have incorrect info! If they would join GCO they would have all the right info !!! GCO for life!

  • M Fernand81

    How do you get a cwp in both Georgia and South Carolina if you live in one state or the other (my mother and I)?

    • 9mmJeff

      GA and SC do not have reciprocity with each other due to SC not being happy with GA issuing permits to GA citizens without requiring firearms training. SC does require training before you can obtain a permit, and doesn’t recognize GA permits because of this.

    • Fred DeRuvo

      You can’t.  Don’t feel bad though.  I used to live in California and they only recognize CA permits, period.  It’s because of the rigorous training that you have to go through before a law enforcement official will sign off on it.  Many counties in California are “MAY issue,” with only some being “SHALL issue.”  I lived in a “MAY issue” county but fortunately, had no trouble obtaining a permit.

      We recently drove through SC and I had to stop before entering, empty my gun completely (incl. chamber), then stored the gun in one part of the car with the ammo in another part.  When I got through SC, I stopped and reloaded the gun and placed it in the holster I have attached underneath the dashboard for easy access.

  • Wolf616782

    16-11-127 CARRYING DEADLY WEAPONS TO OR AT PUBLIC GATHERINGS.
    (a) A PERSON IS GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR WHEN HE OR SHE CARRIES TO OR
    WHILE AT A PUBLIC GATHERING ANY EXPLOSIVE COMPOUND, FIREARM, OR KNIFE
    DESIGNED FOR THE PURPOSE OF OFFENSE AND DEFENSE. (b) FOR THE PURPOSE OF
    THIS CODE SECTION, ‘PUBLIC GATHERING’ SHALL INCLUDE, BUT SHALL NOT BE
    LIMITED TO, ATHLETIC OR SPORTING EVENTS, SCHOOLS OR SCHOOL FUNCTIONS,
    CHURCHES OR CHURCH FUNCTIONS, POLITICAL RALLIES OR FUNCTIONS, PUBLICLY
    OWNED OR OPERATED BUILDINGS, OR ESTABLISHMENTS AT WHICH ALCOHOLIC
    BEVERAGES ARE SOLD FOR CONSUMPTION ON THE PREMISES. (c) THIS CODE
    SECTION SHALL NOT APPLY TO COMPETITORS PARTICIPATING IN ORGANIZED SPORT
    SHOOTING EVENTS, LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS, PEACE OFFICERS RETIRED FROM
    STATE OR FEDERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES, JUDGES, MAGISTRATES,
    SOLICITORS, AND DISTRICT ATTORNEYS MAY CARRY PISTOLS IN PUBLICLY OWNED
    OR OPERATED BUILDINGS.

  • greg

    I just bought my first handgun and i’m confused on the law. I DO NOT have a concealed permit so where in my car can i place my gun. and does it need to be unloaded ect..?

    • http://www.facebook.com/ed.selby Ed Selby

      Under GA law regarding guns, your car is an extension of your house. You can carry your handgun anywhere in your car.

      • Muzzled

         not true,  it has to be unloaded and in it’s case,  you can only transport your pistol to and from the shooting range.  Once you have your permit you can carry it almost everywhere allowed by law.   Further more if you bring your weapon into any store and they ask you to not carry,  you must leave premises.  

        • Christo is Christo

          Not sure where you heard that, but it’s inaccurate… So long as you meet the eligibility for a permit (e.g., not a felon, not convicted for DV crimes, etc.), you may carry pretty freely within your vehicle without actually having the permit. The firearm either needs to be openly visible or kept in a closed compartment. The only two real restrictions to that off the top of my head are on school grounds (permit holders may carry normally *within their car*) and you are legally protected to keep your firearm in your vehicle at your place of work *if you have a permit*.

          • Jflame66222

            not tru if you dont have a permit and you are in your car the mag has to b away from the gun or YOUR GOING JAIL PAL LOL

          • Christo is Christo

            And this is exactly why I recommend people actually research laws: your response is non-sense as far as Georgia law is concerned (which is the state we’re commenting on here).

            You absolutely may have a loaded firearm (round in the chamber and everything!) in your vehicle without a permit. The restrictions set in place are where that firearm can be located: You may not conceal it without a permit, unless it is in a closed compartment such as a glove box, trunk, etc.

          • RustyNail

            Christo is absoulutely correct.

          • Justin

            You look like you have done your homework. When you have a permit everything you have posted has been correct. However, (with out a permit), I’m Not sure why you keep saying you can have a loaded gun in the car. Sure, without a permit Georgia law does allow you to have one in the car. As you like to point out, in georgia, “your car is an extension of your home.” Don’t confuse extension of your home though as having all the same laws as you do at home. They are similar. According to Georgia state law, which I have copy and pasted below,

            ” § 16-11-126. Possession and Carrying a Concealed Weapon With out A Permit
            (c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case and unloaded. ”

            As some have also stated below just as you have, this clearly goes against the “unloaded” part of the law. This sometimes leads people to act like a lawyer and say, “unloaded” is open for interpretation. It’s not clear what that means. They say that it could mean a number of things from having the actual magazine out, in but not chambered, etc. This is why the great state of Georgia then went on to clarify,
            “An unloaded gun is one that IS NOT CHAMBERED, and has the active clip disengaged from the weapon.”

            This is the law. It must be unloaded. However, as it was also pointed out below, laws are always changing. But for now, you must have the fun unloaded unless you are properly permitted to do so by the state of Ga.

          • Bigg Gunn

            whats the big deal? just go get a permit. why would you want to carry an unloaded gun to start with. why worry about being loaded or unloaded. I carry a loaded pistol 24/7 . I just do not have a round in the chamber. therefore by law it is a unloaded weapon. BANG!!

          • Erick

            “An unloaded gun is one that IS NOT CHAMBERED, and has the active clip disengaged from the weapon.”
            I would like to see in the written law where it says “clip” because a “clip” does not actually have anything to do with how a firearm operates. The proper terminology for a(n) ammunition holding device that engages in operation with the weapon is a magazine, and I am pretty sure that a “clip” merely holds ammunition BEFORE it is inserted into a magazine. and not all ammunition comes on clips

          • kevin

            again,your correct,i just recommend getting a permit,,its only about 80 dollars

          • Lost Affection

            sorry but your wrong, i carried my glock for two years in my car got pulled over 15 times or so cause of people seeing it on the seat beside me. every time i was told the mag does not have to be out just cannot have a round chambered. Been told that by county officers, state and city. When i looked it up online in the revisions to the laws it only applies to county by county on the mag being removed.

          • Coreysmith1750

            thats not ture at all.. you were misinformed by LEOs.

          • Christo is Christo

            I don’t know if that was previously the case (about the county-by-county magazine laws), but at this point, you can absolutely carry open on the car seat as you are doing now, and you *may* have a round chambered (even with a Glock, M&P, or any other gun without an external “safety”).

            On the other topic, I’m not sure what you’re doing to upset the cops so much to get pulled over 15 times, but you can’t get pulled over simply for having a firearm; there is nothing illegal about carrying one (and if you’re carrying openly as you say, then you don’t even need a CWL), and LEOs need reasonable suspicion of a crime in order to pull you over. Now, mine is not legal advice (neither is anything on these forums), but you should study up on the subject or consult with a lawyer so that if you *are* pulled over again for simply having a weapon, you’re able to firmly (but politely!) request the officer explain his reasoning for pulling you over, and if it’s for the weapon, to point out that that is not grounds for a traffic stop. Again, this is not something you want to do without more information first-hand, but you *do* have rights, and if you allow them to be violated, you’re giving them up. Good luck!

          • nubhtar

            they need to have probable cause to pull u over. and havein a gun on your seat is not probably cause. before u argue with a police office have a camera with u. stream it live .

          • http://www.Verizonsucks.com/ Johnny Test

            Probable cause is not needed to pull someone over. Clear suspicion, which is less than prob. Cause is all they need to stop you. Probable cause is needed to conduct the search of the car

          • Orlando

            Not true!, its not a county by county thing is a state thing. Gun can be loaded and one in the chamber. Don’t know which county state or city officer will tell you that!!!

          • Mike

            Georgia law preempts any county or city from further regulating guns with the exception of discharging, and if county/city workers can carry, but if you have a permit, is a state permit, can be loaded, concealed, no restrictions on mags, one in chamber, etc.

          • armyguyga

            just follwo the law as written asnd all will be good….if you got pulled over 15 times in 2 years then you have serious issues….just saying.

          • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=643525364 Jesse Antfukked Upboutyou

            Not True. you can carry your gun in your car fully loaded as long as its visible by the police when they approach you

          • Vitus

            Not true because most of the time the officers will search peoples cars.

          • IG: @HNIC_JESSE

            if they search your car in georgia and u have a gun that has not been reported stolen or if u dont have any felonies they will give your gun back and send you on your way. I have been in this situation alot

          • tj

            I have to disagree with about the “going to jail part”, because just last night I was pulled over, apparently for running a stop sign on my street. I had my hand gun on the passenger seat completely visible with the clip beside it, and nothing in the chamber. When he approached my window, I was tryn to tell him that I had a weapon in the vehicle, but didn’t want me to interrupt him from telling me why he pulled me over. At that very moment his backup shined his flashlight thru the passenger seat and saw the gun. Boy, did the whole situation change!! There were 3 officers and they were in a panic. He then asked me to get out of my vehicle, so when I reached for my seat belt buckle, I thought they were going to shoot me. “Can I get out of my seat belt”, I said. Finally, I’m out of the vehicle and immediately I was frisked and forced up against my vehicle, while asking what did I do wrong…anyway once everything checked out, I was able to relax. That’s when the officer answered my question. He said “to me when I looked and saw that gun and the clip right next to it, all I could think of, is a quick load, you know what I mean”. Then he told me that the clip should separated from the gun like in the glove box. Oh check this out, he asked me earlier why was I carrying a gun in my vehicle, and I said to you carry a gun….LOL

          • joeyl10

            You’re wrong Jflame, Christo is exactly right

          • zetor

            WRONG!

          • Ron

            In Georgia a gun owner who is not prohibited may carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle in plain sight or in a closed compartment. It may NOT be under seat or in open door storage compartment.

          • http://www.facebook.com/brian.hughes.906638 Brian Hughes

            Christo, in regards to your comment on the workplace, you would have to check with your place of employement to find out about thier policy in regards to this issue. In my case, I can not bring any weapons on campus regardless of the permit that I carry. I work at a medical center.

          • http://www.examiner.com/paulding-county-republican-in-atlanta/christopher-collins PCGOPExaminer

            Do they search your car?

          • http://www.facebook.com/sparkles53181 Tobi Hancock

            I have a question I have been reading your post and it seems like you know what you are talking about so I hope you can help me I have looked all over the internet trying to find out if you need to take a gun training class in order to get a permit to carry a gun. Thank you much!

          • Zach Cochran

            Not in georgia

        • C Diesel

           Ga law is that your car is an extension of ur home I know cause I got pulled over twice & the officers told me that!

          • Christo is Christo

            Mostly true: Your vehicle is considered personal property, and liberties applied to your home apply to your vehicle, such as your right against unreasonable search and seizure, etc. However there are laws that apply to vehicles specifically above and beyond that, which include those that deal with carrying a firearm in your vehicle. Just because you can do it at home, doesn’t necessarily mean you can do it in a vehicle.

            Also, do not confused advice from LEOs as legal advice. While LEOs are trained to uphold the law, their classes on current law and all the little nuances (and changes in case law, which is big) are few and far between. If you need advice, consult with a lawyer in the particular field as they will be much more knowledgeable about the details, etc.

            It also goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyway), do not *relay* on any advice from anyone commenting in these forums (myself included!), or from the articles themselves. None of this is legal advice; it is a starting point to begin your own studies with. For example, if you don’t know who to believe regarding open/closed carry in the car without a license, go look up the laws themselves to begin with. Also, read up on websites that *cite reliable information* (such as pointing to laws or cases).

          • Soldierine09

            To have a weapon according to Georgia laws,without a GWL can get you a felony or Misdemeanor if not propery carried. If you don’t have a criminal background you can carry a hand gun or long gun as long as its visible but you are still suseptable to being questioned by the law. If you have a GWL you can carry ( under the laws and not sweat) your fire arm and have it if you need it not hidden in which is a concealed one. There are some rules that apply like,Goverment intities, Schools, places of worship and bars( if they have a no firearm rule) are off limits. If at school ( university’s, technical institutes etc.) it must be in a vehicle in a safe box not on your person. Parks and out side concealment is ok with a GWL. Go to Georgia gun laws to get the real info because everyone is responsible for knowing the law and if you don’t know the law you are subject to what ever punishment comes your way

          • Christo is Christo

            Most of that sounds pretty spot on, with one pretty important exception: If you do not have your GWL, you may *not* open (or concealed) carry outside of your home/car. Georgia does not allow open carry without a GWL, which is kind of silly (IMHO), but that’s the way it is.

            Also, to clarify the bar part: The bar *owner* must specifically *allow* GWL holders to carry into his/her bar. It is not enough to simply not have a “no firearms” rule. If it is a bar you frequent often, you’d be best to get something in writing from the owner. If it’s a one-time shot (pun semi-intended?), then either: don’t carry (an option I *never* recommend), don’t go to the bar (the safe option), or carry and hope for the best. Keep in mind that if you do get into trouble for carrying into an off-limit bar, it is *NOT* a trespassing charge (as if you carried into a restaurant/store that had a “no firearms” sign), but rather a violation of the GWL laws, and you can have your permit taken for this kind of offense.

            Not trying to scare anyone off, or dissuade anyone from carrying (everyone who has the right to carry, should!), but I want people to be clear what their rights are (and aren’t!).

        • Orlando

          You have to read buddy!!! Stop misleading people. I am a LEO and in no way a know all, but what you say is not true. Law changed in 2010 but this part never changed. It’s never been as you say. Without a carry license you can have it in your car loaded and ready to go, as the previous writer said, per GA law your vehicle is an extension to your house. Although it must not be concealed, and please if you have the gun in your car and get stopped by a Police Officer, let him know as soon as he reaches your window. Although not a requirement, it eases the officer, AND NEVER REACH FOR IT when the officer asks “where is it?”
          Thanks!

        • Elroy

          Laws changes all the time. I’m not as to when you posted this, however you can carry your weapon on your person without a permit. It does however have to be in view and in the proper holster for that weapon. Some cities varies as to they do not care if its in view or not as long as its in the proper holster.

        • Elroy

          Laws changes all the time. I’m not sure as to when you posted this, however you can carry your weapon on your person without a permit. It does however have to be in view and in the proper holster for that weapon. Some cities varies as to they do not care if its in view or not as long as its in the proper holster.

        • http://www.examiner.com/paulding-county-republican-in-atlanta/christopher-collins PCGOPExaminer

          Wrong….you can have it loaded in your car without a permit just as if it was in your house. Before I got my permit, I worked with our local police here in GA and I asked him about it and showed that it was loaded and on my seat, he said it was fine.

        • Aday

          wrong…..Ed Selby is correct

        • T.J. Hutto

          As a former Law Enforcement Officer for the State of Georgia, I go on record for saying that according to the Gun Carry Laws of the State of Georgia, you can carry a loaded weapon in your vehicle without having a carry license as long as you are not a convicted felon and are of age to have one. Which by the way, is the age of 21. However, it is your responsibility to tell any officer who approaches your vehicle to tell them before you say anything else, that you have a weapon in the car and exactly where it is at the time he approaches. DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT under any circumstances make any sudden movements in your vehicle after that point. The officer does not have a clue as to who you are or what you are capable of. UNLESS you want to be killed, do everything he/she tells you to do. In most cases, they will have their gun already drawn and at the ready. This is for their protection, not yours. Like me, they want to return to their home and their children at the end of their shift. SO DO NOT ARGUE! DO NOT REFUSE! DO WHAT THEY TELL YOU! I tell you this for your safety. If you allow your stupid ego, idiotic mindset or less than appropriate intellectual lawyer mouth cash checks that are not bullet proof, YOU WILL BE ON THE LOOSING SIDE, GUARANTEED! As an officer, I respected any individual who respected my safety and my right to go home. But any punk or punkette who cared more about their rights more than my life and argued with me as to why or how I did my job usually found themselves having to post bond shortly after. Lastly, if you are consistently challenging officers, ie. being stopped all the time or doing things that are unlawful, stop carrying a gun! I have learned in life that if a person says that “trouble (police) follows them all the time”, then YOU might be the trouble! Quit being stupid, quit blaming others, and take a long look at your own life. Ignorance can be fixed, but stupidity is unrepairable, or even worse, deadly!

          • CD

            “The officer does not have a clue as to who you are or what you are capable of”. And we don’t know what a lot of cops that CARRY FIREARMS are capable of! Just because they have a gun and a badge, doesn’t mean they don’t have a “stupid ego”, or aren’t a “punk or punkette” You cops seem to forget who you work for; who pays your salaries…Who you’re SWORN to protect…Rest assured, you or your pals try to arrest me for my “less than appropriate intellectual lawyer mouth”, you better have your shit straight; all your ducks in a row, because everything you say and do is being recorded the SECOND you approach my vehicle! Don’t ruin a career because you have a God complex and enjoy being a prick when you come to my car because “YOU WILL BE ON THE LOOSING SIDE, GUARANTEED!”

        • recentgunbuyer

          i believe that is only for people under the age of 21 and legally allowed to own a handgun

        • Bob Sanders

          actually you do not need a permit in your car or home but in your car the handgun has to be in plain sight OR in the glove department.

      • Tonkinw

        wrong. it has to be in the glove box or console if you do not have a carrying permit

    • Dale32006

      only in glovebox if no permit it says that above

      • Christo is Christo

        You can have it out in plain sight, you simply cannot have it concealed. The exception is if you are *eligible* for a permit, you may keep it in a closed compartment.

        • Ben

          Christo, you are complicating the issue. The law is clear and deputy sheriff Shawn obviously knows his job and the law. Here’s the text of the law:

          § 16-11-126. (a) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license.

          • Christo

            I don’t know what part of what you’re reading I wrote that you’re replying to, nor do I know who you’re referring to by Deputy Sheriff Shawn, as I haven’t referenced or referred to any Shawn that I can see. (And the post is a year and a half old)

            What you quoted is one paragraph of a very long set of laws. Yes, the law you quoted is pretty clear as far as carrying in your car: As long as you’re not specifically prohibited by law (e.g., if you’re a felon, or convicted of domestic abuse charges, etc), you may carry in your car with or without a carry permit.

            However, there are *also* additional laws that relate to the manner of carry *in your car*, and whether or not you can carry *concealed* or if you have to carry open or in a closed compartment.

    • Erinaveryt

      yes you can carry a handgun, in your  car.
      and no it dose not need to be unloaded.
      and visable in your car hope this helps.
       

    • DavidH

      Ga law states you can carry your firearm anywhere in your car, loaded and concieled without a permit. However you must notify any law enforcement officer that you have a firearm immediately and its location. I would recommend placing the firearm on the dashboard in plain sight prior to the officer approaching your vehicle with the barrel pointing away from the driver side windows and the trigger is closest to the glass. This removes the threat to the officer.

      You can also carry your firearm concieled from your vehicle into a hotel room, however you cannot carry it

      • DavidH

        Any where else in the hotel. You must leave it in your room.

      • Christo is Christo

        Some misinformation in here… You may not carry concealed in the vehicle without a permit, except in a closed compartment if you are *eligible* for a permit. You do *not* have to notify LEO of having a gun, however if you do not have a permit, it is a good idea to let them know. Finally, having it on the dashboard is (IME) a bad idea: That’s not a very stable location, and when the officer is at their vehicle it’s hard to him/her to monitor your actions regarding the firearm unless he/she takes the firearm for the duration of the stop. Also, if you get pulled over, that means that one of the first things you’d be doing when you stop is handling a firearm, which isn’t a great way to start a traffic stop. Much better would be to have it holstered in the passenger seat (or glove compartment if possible) and make the officer aware of it. He/She can then react more appropriately based upon the situation.

        • C Diesel

           in gwinnett county u can carry in ur vehicle any way you want!!

          • Christo is Christo

            Please see the other comments that I have made in this thread. If you have a CFL, then yes, you can carry any way you’d like in your vehicle without restrictions. Without one, however, you are restricted to how you may carry in the vehicle: Either openly, or in a closed compartment (glovebox, trunk, etc). You may not otherwise conceal in your vehicle without a CFL, whether you live in Gwinnett or any other county; these are Georgia laws, which cannot be preempted by county laws.

          • Soldier4821

            no you can NOT. you can OPEN CARRY in your car without a permit, but as soon as its concealed (not in the open) you need to have a concealed carry permit. open carry is okay in your vehicle.

          • http://www.facebook.com/crw123 Chris Williams

            Gwinnett county represent!

        • CD

          “when the officer is at their vehicle it’s hard for him/her to monitor your actions regarding the firearm unless he/she takes the firearm for the duration of the stop” WHAT? If I’m legally allowed to have a loaded weapon in plain sight, he shouldn’t give two-shits what my actions are regarding the firearm. Would it be stupid to handle the weapon during the stop…Of course. Is it illegal? Nope! When he runs my drivers license, he will see I’m not a felon; a bad guy…Allowed to openly possess a firearm in my vehicle. Also, who cares “how” the officer reacts to seeing my LEGAL firearm! He’s supposed to be a trained professional, and should react the SAME EXACT way whether the gun is holstered on the passenger seat, or unholstered laying on my dash.

    • lee

      Does not have to be unloaded but it has to be in plain sight. If you get pulled over the best place to have it is sitting in your passenger seat.

      • Taz8654

        seriously?  you want to a gun loaded on your seat as a police officer walks up on your vehicle during a traffic stop? Its stressful enough walking up on a vehicle not knowing who or what can transpire, adding to that a gun on the seat is asking for problems.  I dont know about you, law or not, keep it out of plain sight is best, but not in your “glove box” where you keep your registration. inform the police officer you have a firearm in the car and its location. Give that officer a chance to asses the situation first and then they will give you guidance as what they want  you to do.  

    • Huntertreylance33

      You’re allowed to have a gun in your car. It is part of you property.

    • Tylerfillpot

      just go get your permit man. its easy. better safe than sorry i say

    • Taurissherman

      It clearly states that if you are not licensed, you can not carry in plain sight, such as on passenger seat or protruding in any manner.

      • C Diesel

         not true in gwinnett county your car is a extension of ur home & you can have 1 in the chamber

      • Jim

        Not true. You’re reading the part about carrying on your person. You can carry loaded in your car in glove box, console, or in plain sight.

    • Daj1150

      Just google Ga. Gun Laws and it will tell you everthing you need to know and more

    • Scongie

      Basically as long as you are not prohibited from obtaining a ccw you can carry any concealed, open, or any way you want in your own vehicle.§ 16-11-126. Possession and Carrying a Concealed Weapon; Penalty for Violating Licensing Requirement (a) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license. (b) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a long gun without a valid weapons carry license, provided that if the long gun is loaded, it shall only be carried in an open and fully exposed manner. (c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case and unloaded. (d) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun who is eligible for a weapons carry license may transport a handgun or long gun in any private passenger motor vehicle; provided, however, that private property owners or persons in legal control of property through a lease, rental agreement, licensing agreement, contract, or any other agreement to control access to such property shall have the right to forbid possession of a weapon or long gun on their property, except as provided in Code Section 16-11-135. No Permit License Is needed to carry the firearm inside your Motor Vehicle either openly or concealed. Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license. (b) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a long gun without a valid weapons carry license, provided that if the long gun is loaded, it shall only be carried in an open and fully exposed manner. (c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case and unloaded. (d) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun who is eligible for a weapons carry license may transport a handgun or long gun in any private passenger motor vehicle; provided, however, that private property owners or persons in legal control of property through a lease, rental agreement, licensing agreement, contract, or any other agreement to control access to such property shall have the right to forbid possession of a weapon or long gun on their property, except as provided in Code Section 16-11-135. No Permit License Is needed to carry the firearm inside your Motor Vehicle either openly or concealed. Note: The GA Court of Appeals ruled in (Hubbard v. State, 210 Ga. App. 141, 143-44 1993) that if you do not have a permit/license honored in GA you can only carry a firearm in “Your Own Vehicle.” This means you can carry in “Your Own Vehicle” without a permit/license but if you are riding in a vehicle that is not yours you must have permission of the person who has legal control of the vehicle The GA Court of Appeals ruled in (Hubbard v. State, 210 Ga. App. 141, 143-44 1993) that if you do not have a permit/license honored in GA you can only carry a firearm in “Your Own Vehicle.” This means you can carry in “Your Own Vehicle” without a permit/license but if you are riding in a vehicle that is not yours you must have permission of the person who has legal control of the vehicle

    • Bishop

      Yes it need to be unloaded u can put it on the seat or glove boxs Without a GA or Reciprocal License – fully open to view (such as
      uncovered in passenger seat, partially sticking out below or beside seat
      is not allowed). If you are not prohibited from obtaining a firearm
      carry license, it can be in a closeable compartment like the glove box
      or center console (map pockets that are not closeable are not
      acceptable) ith a GA or Reciprocal License – Anywhere in the car.

      • Scongie

        WRONG…. It does not have to be unloaded!

        • SCONGIE

          MY POST BELOW IS ACTUAL CUT AND PASTE OF GA LAW!

    • biggun3143

      as long as the weapon is visible you do not need a consealed permit. and law says it has to be unloaded but what good is an unloaded gun?

    • Will

      A car is a legal extension of your home, so you can keep it loaded. You can even keep it chambered. It just can’t be concealed with easy access. In other words. You can have it on you dash, in the clove compartment, etc…You can’t have it, under your seat, between the seat & the console, etc…You will hear alot of opinions, even from police officers. But this is truth.

    • http://profiles.google.com/pudbertsavannahga Mort Leith

      Read “Automobile carry” above.

      If you DON’T have a CCW Permit, you have to have the gun in the glove compartment.

      If you DO have a CCW Permit, you can carry it anywhere in your car or on your person while in the car.

      • Ms. GA

        I live in GA can I carry my gun into South Carolina?

    • Coach A

      Hey man you are getting a lot of misinformation, not sure I would listen to a bunch of people on line. Just look up and know the laws of your state(look up the actual statutes), and investigate any state you plan to visit or pass through they actuall sell books specifically for these purposes, you can pick one up at most gun shows

    • http://twitter.com/KINGOFBEATZCOM TRAXX ♬ Producer™

      JUST GET A PERMIT TO BE ON THE SAFE SIDE !!!!

    • Shawn

      I am a Deputy Sheriff here in Georgia. You can carry your gun in any motorized passenger vehicle without a permit to carry, because it is an extension of your property. it covered in O.C.G.A. § 16-11-126. Your weapon can be fully loaded as well.

      • OhioCCW

        I’m from Ohio and have an Ohio CCW permit, but there is no reciprocity between Ohio and GA. I know that 16-11-126 says that you can have a loaded gun in your car provided you aren’t ineligible for a permit. As an Ohio resident, doesn’t that make me technically ineligible for a GA permit, and therefore not permitted to carry a loaded weapon in my car through GA? That’s the $3000 question I’ve been trying to get an answer to.

    • Rains

      To answer your question, it clearly states in the passage above this comment that, if you DO NOT have a permit you MUST OPEN carry. If you have the ability to get a permit but DO NOT have a permit you can put your gun it the glove box or center console (as long as it closes) If you DO HAVE a permit you can carry anywhere in the car. The law does not specify if the gun has to be unloaded, separate, non-chambered, loaded so that is one thing you could fight in court if the situation arose. BTW my husband is a cop and I can tell you for sure cops do not know all the laws either. Your best bet is to find the penal code about the gun being loaded in the car
      .

    • T.J. Hutto

      As a former Law Enforcement Officer for the State of Georgia, I go on record for saying that according to the Gun Carry Laws of the State of Georgia, you can carry a loaded weapon in your vehicle without having a carry license as long as you are not a convicted felon and are of age to have one. Which by the way, is the age of 21. However, it is your responsibility to tell any officer who approaches your vehicle to tell them before you say anything else, that you have a weapon in the car and exactly where it is at the time he approaches. DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT under any circumstances make any sudden movements in your vehicle after that point. The officer does not have a clue as to who you are or what you are capable of. UNLESS you want to be killed, do everything he/she tells you to do. In most cases, they will have their gun already drawn and at the ready. This is for their protection not yours. Like me, they want to return to their home and their children at the end of their shift. SO DO NOT ARGUE! DO NOT REFUSE! DO WHAT THEY TELL YOU! I tell you this for your safety. If you allow your stupid ego, idiotic mindset or less than appropriate intellectual lawyer mouth cash checks that are not bullet proof, YOU WILL BE ON THE LOOSING SIDE, GUARANTEED! As an officer, I respected any individual who respected my safety and my right to go home. But any punk or punkette who cared more about their rights more than my life and argued with me as to why or how I did my job usually found themselves having to post bond shortly after. Lastly, if you are consistently challenging officers, ie. being stopped all the time or doing things that are unlawful, stop carrying a gun! I have learned in life that if a person says that “trouble (police) follows them all the time, then YOU might be the trouble.” Quit being stupid, quit blaming others, and take a long look at your own life. Ignorance can be fixed, but stupidity is unrepairable.

  • tim

    We are going to Florida for vacation what does GA Res permits only mean? We are also in the process of moving. Do I need to have the address on my CCW changed? if so, how?

    • Fred DeRuvo

      It means they recognize a Georgia permit from a person who actually LIVES in Georgia.  I have a Georgia permit and I live here, but I also have Florida and Utah permits.  You don’t have to live in those states to be issued permits.

      • Denny43015

        Thank you Fred my ohio permit is good all the way down to Fl but Georgia.
        Also didnt they pass a bill in congress making all states having to reconginize all other states permits? I thought mabey it had a specific date that is not here yet????? Know anything about that bill.
        thanks
        Denny

        • Fred DeRuvo

          As far as I know it has not passed yet. 

          • Denny43015

            Thanks for the info
            Denny

  • Denny43015

    how do you carry a gun while passing through geargia when the other states you are traveling through recognize your permit

    • Fred_deruvo

      If you do not have a Georgia permit, the gun and ammo must be in two separate parts of the car.  Normally gun in trunk – ammo in glove compartment or something similar.

  • Doublebfarms

    I just applied for my CCW permit in georgia.I am a georgia resident.How long of process should I expect before my permit is finalized? The probate court said,”they just got this new computer program and it might take awhile before they call me in to finish my permit process”.This didnt seem right to me.It sounds like they dont want to issue any more permits and I am expecting a run around.Who can i file complaints with if I feel i am getting jerked around?

    • Bradd 58

      What County? They are switching to a permit that has your picture instead of your print? Do you have a GA DL? Got mine in 2 weeks, old style with print.

      • Bradd 58

        New picture type starts in 2012

  • Soldierbaby08

    can military carry a concealed firearm without i a premit

  • Koachman

    I just moved to Georgia from Arizona. I have a current valid CCW from Arizona but have recently been issued a Georgia drivers license. Is my Arizona CCW still valid in Georgia or do I need to get my Georgia CCW now that I am a resident?

  • Deac3967

    if you are not a resident of ga but have a nonresident permit from another state that ga does reconize will you be legal to carry (Example Fla does not honor a non resident lic if you are not a resident of the state

    • Modres

      My understanding is that if you have a FLORIDA CCW, even though not a resident of the state, they will honor it, otherwise they wouldn’t give it out to people out of state.

      I have a GA, FL, and UT license and I’m good in quite a few states.

      • Saltypa

        How did you apply for florida CCW license? 

  • James Moffitt

    My wife and I are traveling from Charleston SC to Atlanta Georgia this weekend. My CWP is not recognized by Ga. Do I have to pull over before I cross the state line and lock my weapon in a gun case or can I put it in the glove box. Does it need to be unloaded?  What about at the hotel, am I allowed to take the gun case in the hotel room with me?  

  • guest1

    long time site lurker, just applied for permit in Fulton County a week ago, let’s see how long it takes them to issue me the permit!

    • Stuart

      I applied on Dec 19th 2011, still no show. It is within 45 days though.

      • Gumpsuccess

        I applied in N Fulton December 15th and still no show.

        • Sospechoso_80

          nice note came in from Fulton County today for me to go pick up my FAL downtown, I applied the first week after the New Years Holiday, I’m pretty excited. Heard and read horror stories of Fulton County taking forever. Also this should be the new one as i had to take a picture at the Probate Court when i applied.

      • Stuart

        Arrived today 25th Jan 2012, have to say that I was expecting it to be much longer. I’m pleasantly surprised. Old style licence and valid for the full 5 years. Best of luck everyone.

  • Scott

    If I move from one county to another within the state of GA and had a CCW from the previous county, is my CCW still good until expiraton date or do I have to renew it within the new county I live in upon moving. 

  • Dan

    I
    have a non- resident New Hampshire CCP (as well as a Mass CCP). As New
    Hampshire is a reciprocal state with Georgia, I believe that I can carry
    concealed in Georgia. Any help is appreciated.

  • Anonymous

    I was just issued a weapons carry license in Houston County. The fee I paid (75.00) looks like the range of fees charged for a concealed carry lcense. Can I carry concealed with the license I was issued?..I live in GA

    • Erinaveryt

      Yes you can carry  concealed with your license you were issued in Houston County,
      also you can carry any where in GA.
      Hope this helps.

  • Kg81277

    I am very confused by how these ccw laws actually work.  I am new to the whole gun world, I live in Illinois which is THE MOST STRICT state regarding gun laws as far as I am able to tell so far.  What I am confused about is if I applied for a Utah CCW permit but am a resident of Chicago Illinois, is my permit good in any other state since Illinois does not honor ANY permits? And I see people saying they have permits issued in different states but the only two states I was aware of that even issue CCW’s is Utah & Florida.  I am very confused about how all this breaks down, can somebody PLEASE help me out.

  • Erinaveryt

    yes you can carry a handgun, in your  car.
    and no it dose not need to be unloaded.
     

  • Justinhouser2370

    Is your military licenses the same as a carry permit?

  • laura

    What do I have to get a carry permit if Iwas granted a First affenders plee witch probation was completed.This was  20 years ago.It was a possesion charge (cocain resadue)

    • Prideonmyside

      I would worry about taking a spelling course before applying for your weapons permit (Just kidding) If you are able to walk into a gun store and purchase a firearm (basically if you clear your background check) then nothing is needed except and application at the probate court. If you are denied the purchase then you will need to speak with an attorney. For a few hundred dollars and a few months of waiting time he/she MAY be able to have the decision reversed since it has been 10+ years.

  • Nationalguard87

    can i carry a pistol if i am a mp in the military at 20 years old?

  • Tbfordbrown09

    can i carry a concealed weapon, in the military as a  mp at the age of 20?

  • DavidH

    Ga permit pictures are incorrect.

    Front of card now includes this text at the bottom:
    Invalid Unless Signed by Probate Judge, Sealed & Laminated JUNE2010

    Back of card only displays the following in LARGE Print and text direction is reversed from the front:
    GEORGIA
    WEAPONS
    CARRY
    LICENSE

    • DavidH

      Front title has changed as well from
      Georgia Firearms License
      To
      State of Georgia Weapons Carry License

  • Derekgodfrey911

    I live in Ga. I have my ccw. how do i carry my gun and can I conceal it?

  • Danamiller85

    I am confused about open carry laws in GA. What is a “recognized license” for long guns and handguns? Should I always keep a hunting license on my person and get a rifle like Lucas McCain’s on The Rifleman. I have heard so many different variations. What is the definitive source of these truths without having to retain a lawyer?

  • jj

    Unless much has changed, cannot carry it concealed in vehicle without permit.  I know because I did not have a permit and used to carry loaded/locked and someone rear ended and when I called police simply advised weapon in vehicle open on passenger seat.  They checked out it was of course clean, gave it back sent me on my merry way,  no harm/no foul.

  • Chip

    Does anyone in Ga. know why Ga & SC do not have a recipocal agreement ? seems crazy that the two states bordering each other would not?

    • DChand

      GA does not have an agreement with SC because SC will not recognize GA firearms license (carry permit) due to the fact that GA does not make their firearms license holder take a firearm course. GA policy is if a state does not recognize GA then GA will not recognize the other state. FYI Mr Christo is on the money with his interpretation of GA firearm license laws.

  • Sherrel Hodge

    Can u have a firearm in your home if u been deny a permit to carry one 

  • Bubba Grump

    I was pulled over years ago – BEFORE – I had my permit by a Georgia State trooper and had my gun on the passenger seat.  He shined his flashlight on it and asked if it was mine and I said yes.  He never mentioned it again, however he DID write me a speeding ticket.

    No doubt the regulations regarding CCP are confusing.  I prefer to have my permit and be as legal as possible in all situations.

  • Charles

    Is open carry permitted with a valid concealed carry permit?

  • Myemaillater

    If your in Georgia just go get your permit just got mine today it only cost a little time and money but well worth it

  • Lbailey953

    why would you want to have your gun in your car if you are not allowed to have it loaded:as a unloaded gun is not going to protect you.Please reply..Linda from Ga.

  • Robertgaddy72

    the state of georgia issued me a concealed weapons permit and im a convicted felon. 5 years later they inforned me it was a mistake.. i put myself in danger thinking my rights were clear to carry..can i sue the state for such a mistake

    • Marquesan

      What loses did you incur?  Sounds like none – so you have nothing to sue for.

    • Daj1150

      If you were a convicted felon you already knew that you can’t have a permit or a gun foe that fact. So for to apply for one you were aiready breaking the law for prejury anyway.

  • brendan whitcomb

    I applied for my CCW last week. Today i had an accidental discharge in my apartment and was charged with unlawful discharging of a firearm 106-301. Will i still get my permit issued to me?

    • Bmc430

      If your that careless and stupid, I hope not…  If you do get it….  Can you move to Iran…  or Iraq….  Please don’t shoot any of ours over there in war….   Actually you will not get it….

      • Bpwhitcomb

        Your wrong I was just issued my permit

    • Lorenzovasser

      youre an idiot

  • nativegirl

    I am getting my South Carolina Residence Conceal Permit, and I was shocked to find out that Georgia, Alabama and Mississippi does not recognize it!!!  Now I am looking for an additional state Non Resident CWP, to apply to to cover these states, in case I end up traveling to them in the future.  I am a disabled Veteran, and feel very vunerable right now when I have to travel…  Any suggestions???  AZ, FL, TX or??????  Thanks, and stay safe everyone!

    • chilehead

      I’m getting mine in SC too and noticed that. I travel to GA often so I will need to get a non-resident CWP in another state too. Still not sure which is best or easiest to obtain. Thoughts?

    • chilehead

      Just looked into that… NH is your best bet for the best coverage.

  • Shark_932002

    No you can’t. And you should have been arrested because it illegal for felons to posess firearms. So of you stil have the weapons, please let me know your name and address so I can have them comeyou pick up .

  • Micmurphy27

    what does ga res permit mean?

  • Thomas Williams

    I live in north carolina, I have a conceal carry Lic:  I’m thinking about moving to Ga, can I turn my Lic, in and get a Ga one, Or do I have to take a class, do it all over again??  Thomas E Williams

  • Jimmiller82

    I am from Michigan, where I have my CPL, and I am moving to Georgia later this summer. I see that Georgia honors the Michigan carry license, but who would I have to call and talk to to get a GA license? In Michigan the county sherriff is who handles most CPL information, is it the same for Georgia? Thank you.

    • Void

      Call the clerk of probate court in the county you will be residing in.

  • Mike

    Ok, i live in florida and i have my CCL he for florida and no other state. I visit georgia alot, i am not asking about concealed carry, but the open carry of the pistol in georgia. Is it possible to open carry not being a resident? If not can i get a out of state permit, essentially would it be possible to open carry in georgia and what would i have to do?

  • Chris Vanpelt

    can u get a ccw if u have a misdemeanor for a concealed weapon if it happened 9 and a half years ago

    • Bpwhitcomb

      No unfortunately not that’s one of this misdemeanors that disqualifies you forever

  • Dan

    I own a home in Georgia, but currently rent it out. my wife and I both have Georgia concealed carry permits. Our permits have recentley expired. We have moved to Louisiana where we now reside. However, we maintain our home in Georgia and since Louisiana honors Georgia’s permits is it allowable to just renew our Georga permit rather than go through the Louisiana training, background and finger print checks all over again ?

  • mb168

    This car discussion is EXACTLY why I got a permit to begin with. I asked several people, including cops, what the law was and got different answers from each. I decided to just get the permit because I didn’t want to be on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere with some rookie cop that didn’t know the law.

  • Henryt

    I am a Texan that moved to Georgia. I love the Georgia gun laws…Carry or Concealed carry not so dang messed up as many other states.$80.00 for 5 years..background check and then if u are cleared u get your permit
     

  • DeWayne

    O.C.G.A. § 16-11-126
    Having or carrying handguns, long guns, or other weapons; license requirement; exceptions for homes, motor vehicles, and other locations and conditions; penalties for violations
    (a) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license.

    (b) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a long gun without a valid weapons carry license, provided that if the long gun is loaded, it shall only be carried in an open and fully exposed manner.

    (c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case and unloaded.

    This should clear it up a bit. Not carry license..in a car… (unloaded and in a case)

    • DeWayne

      O.C.G.A = Official Code of Georgia Annotated

  • poidog77

    Is GA an open carry state?

  • jandb150

    I am a life long friend with a Woodstock Police officer and You may keep your weapon Loaded and In your car, In plain sight or in your glove box, center console, etc…..what good is a gun in your car if its not loaded or hidden, or in the original box….my god, you might as well save your money and keep a big rock to hit the perpetrator with. Read people and all the others on here just regurgitating bad info should just take a minute and think about what you are posting.

  • KJ

    I have a question. I am visiting Georgia and I have a Florida Concealed Carry permit, am I able to purchase a handgun in Georgia to bring back to Florida with me? (I will be driving)

  • CG

    Ga. does not recognize, SC, concealed weapon carry. Can you drive through Ga. with the weapon loaded in the trunk or glove box, or must be un-loaded. Can you take the hand gun in to a hotel that you are staying, if from SC. Ga. does not approve CWP from SC?

  • D.Pickett

    Actually in the state of Georgia it has to be unloaded and in open view aka in the seat next to you. Glove box is acceptable the door is not under the seat is not. Kee in mind though concealed is actually at the discretion of the LEO enganigng in the traffic stop. That being said dont rely on what I or anybody on here says about you carrying bc if you do get in trouble all these awesome people with their great advice won’t be there to help you. Get your permit; done! No questions asked. I work for the GBI get your permit.

  • btrock

    I live in sc and travel in ga all the time , we are right next door but yet my cwp of more than five years is useless here. HOW STUPID!!!! So either have it all the way concealed in car or all the way in the open but not partially , oh no not that. So I ask myself , ok, I,ll get a ga permit, but I already knew the answer to that one, have to be a resident. my permit is good in NC but not in GA. But yet GA recognizes NC, now does that make any freakin sense at all?!!!!!!! It is time for a national permit good in all 50 states!!!!!! with the same qualifying rules and regs, of course that would make way to much sense and these are govt. beaurocrocies we are talking about.

    • FreddyS

      South Carolina requires a training course in order to obtain your permit, since Georgia does not, SC does not honor Georgia’s permit and of course since SC does not honor GA, well then GA feels it should not honor SC.

  • Vorland

    I have. A question if I have a ccw from West Virginia what r they regulations I’d I would go to Georgia

  • Jack

    Quick question. Georgia is a shall issue to residents only. I am originally from Oklahoma but I am stationed at fort Stewart. Would I have to get my permit in Oklahoma or since I am military and stationed in Georgia could I get a Georgia permit?

  • CherryCoke

    Ok, every single one of you are on a different page, I actually regret doing the research because now I am MUCH more confused. I’m going to tape it to my elbow with the slide to the rear and walk in catholic churches and public schools ONLY. Thanks.

  • Georgia

    Instead of arguing over who’s right or wrong, perhaps someone could copy, paste and give a reference for the actual law. That would be very helpful

    • Scongie

      Holy crap people I actually cut the actual law 3 months ago and pasted it about halfway up the page if people would just do some research instead of just getting someone’s “opinion” of what the law says! This issue is way too important to not take very seriously. Also there is a link to a ga reciprocity map at the top of the page.

  • friend need help

    My friend went to jail four years ago. He was accused. Of aggravated assault and child cruelty do to spanking his 15year disrespectful child whom had a few marks on his body. He never been in trouble before and served a month. And was released on a sob never convicted but had to report to weekly classes and after about one year he was reunited with his child and case was dead docket. Now he moved in a areas where homes have been broken in and as a single father he purchased a gun denied firearms. License, due to past record he had the gun for six months now and now someone. From. The atf knock on his door saying they can arrest him if he dont sell it what are his rights of GA law

    • Scongie

      If he is a convicted fell he can NOT own or posess a firearm. It does not matter what state you are in

  • Jorge

    I have a question. I had a misdemeanor DV in 2006 that was supposed to be adjudicated withheld but for not having the money for my probation one time they violated my probation and they said that because of that violation of probation it turned into a conviction. I was never sentenced to any jail time for this. The DV did not involve any weapons. It was a fight that me and my ex got into when I was like 19 or 20. Havent had another DV since. Anyways with all that being said, can I EVER purchase a fire arm for protection?

  • MARESIDENT

    I have a non-resident license to carry for the state of NH and I am a resident of MA. Can I carry concealed in GA? I saw that GA does not recognize my MA LTC, but does GA recognize an out-of-state LTC for NH?

  • peaches

    in 1995 i got arrested and charged for family violence and was a mistamenor will i be able to obtain a gun permit sence it was 17years ago and never been in trouble before? i hate to pay all that money to get turned down

  • Joel

    What about Military residing in GA?

  • John

    The image for the Georgia CCP is an old image, new issued cards now have a photo.

  • LDUBYA

    Don’t be misled by the thoughts of others. To to Ga. firearm law and read. O. C. G. A. 16-11-120 thru 16-11-133 and you can get a better understanding of the law, but just as Orlando stated, you have to have your handgun in a closable glovebox. It can’t be in your door pocket. It can even be in a closable center console loaded at the ready.

    • gunstar1

      Someone needs to re-read those laws, the glovebox/closable console requirement was removed 2 years ago. It is allowed anywhere inside your own vehicle.

  • eastside

    can u carry your handgun on a moped in Ga wihout a conceal and carry license?

  • Mimi Reed

    Hi I’m going to be moving to Georgia but i’m only gonna be there for 6 months. I’m from Washington state and I see on the map that my license is not honored. What should I do?

  • t-man1911

    why doesn’t Ga. have receprosity with SC?

    • Gunstar1

      SC requires training and will not be reciprocal with a state that does not require it. Georgia does not require training. Georgia law says we will be reciprocal with any state that honors our license.

  • bigguy

    I moved here to Georgia from Tennessee and I was wondering if i had to transfer my gun permit or will I be able to continue using my Tennessee permit until it expires?

    • Gunstar1

      If you are a Georgia resident and you want to carry in Georgia, you must have a Georgia license.

  • Maddys’ Mom

    I am about to purchase my first handgun. I am a woman of 50 and will take lessons in firearm safety. Any suggestions on what to buy?

  • eric

    The photo of the permit on this site is outdated, both in appearance and code(s) printed on the back. You need to update the info on this site to be accurate. Eric

  • JS

    I just got my GA Weapons Carry License. I believe I can carry anywhere “loaded” unless posted otherwise. Correct? I keep reading the rules and they’re so confusing!

  • Jerry

    After reading most of the comments it sounds like some if not all of you need to re-read the laws because none of you are completely correect.

  • Steven

    AS told to me by: 1 City LEO (Floyd County, GA), 1 County LEO (Floyd County, GA), 1 County Sheriff’s Deputy (Floyd County, GA), 2 different G.S.P. (1Retired, 1 active duty), 1 Jailer (Hayes State prison), 1 City LEO (Catoosa Co), 4 Sheriff’s Deputy’s(Walker County); Your car is an extension of your home and as long as you meet the criteria of firearms conceal carry permit, have one or NOT, a Georgia resident within the state of Georgia, may carry a firearm in their vehicle. If NOT permitted, you must have 2 steps to get said firearm. For example, Step 1 – Open glove box Step 2 – un-holster weapon. As with an individual with a permit, one without carrying like this is responsible to know know what laws regulate when to use or not use a firearm.

    • Gunstar1

      That is the old law, it was changed 2 years ago in regards to your own vehicle. Currently as long as you are not prohibited from owning a firearm you can carry your firearm anywhere in your own car. It doesn’t matter if you are a resident.

      If it is someone else’s vehicle and you don’t have a license but would not be prohibited from obtaining one, then it needs to be unloaded and in a case.

      There is nothing in the law regarding a glove box anymore.

      Your car is an extension of your home only as it pertains to use of force in self defense, NOT in regards to the laws about carrying a pistol.

      One does need to know the laws, which is why you should read the laws yourself and not rely on police or internet posters in getting your information.

  • http://www.facebook.com/sterling.hickman Sterling Hickman

    i have a gun permit but i live in ohio, how difficult is it to transfer it to ga,i may not move there as a result

    • Gunstar1

      There is no transferring of a gun permit. However there is no training in GA either. So once you are a GA resident, you pay the fee and as long as your are not otherwise prohibited from obtaining a license, then you will be issued one.

  • EMTI1083

    I know of a law officer who told me the same thing.. plain sight, with the mag in the gun. No bullet in the chamber. Why have a gun if the mag isnt in it, unless you plan to use it as a rock to beat the poor guy to death thats robbing you…

  • jeremy

    Can you carry a firearm in the state of georgia without permit? Jeremy

  • Cody

    Does a permit allow you to carry your weapon in a commercial vehicle (semi truck)?

  • Jim

    LOTS of misinformation here. If you’re confused, look up the actual text of the law and read every word of it just like you would read a mortgage document. If you’re still confused, call a lawyer.

    It’s O.C.G.A 16-11-126. Sectiong (a) below seems to say that you can carry on your person while in your car:

    Title 16 – CRIMES AND OFFENSES
    Chapter 11 – OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC ORDER AND SAFETY
    Article 4 – DANGEROUS INSTRUMENTALITIES AND PRACTICES
    Part 3 – CARRYING AND POSSESSION OF FIREARMS

    (a) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or
    long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or
    her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business
    without a valid weapons carry license.”

    (b) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or
    long gun may have or carry on his or her person a long gun without a valid
    weapons carry license, provided that if the long gun is loaded, it shall only be
    carried in an open and fully exposed manner.

    (c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or
    long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case
    and unloaded.

    (d) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or
    long gun who is eligible for a weapons carry license may transport a handgun or
    long gun in any private passenger motor vehicle; provided, however, that private
    property owners or persons in legal control of property through a lease, rental
    agreement, licensing agreement, contract, or any other agreement to control
    access to such property shall have the right to forbid possession of a weapon or
    long gun on their property, except as provided in Code Section 16-11-135.

    (e) Any person licensed to carry a handgun or weapon in any other state
    whose laws recognize and give effect to a license issued pursuant to this part
    shall be authorized to carry a weapon in this state, but only while the licensee
    is not a resident of this state; provided, however, that such licensee shall
    carry the weapon in compliance with the laws of this state.

    (f) Any person with a valid hunting or fishing license on his or her
    person, or any person not required by law to have a hunting or fishing license,
    who is engaged in legal hunting, fishing, or sport shooting when the person has
    the permission of the owner of the land on which the activities are being
    conducted may have or carry on his or her person a handgun or long gun without a
    valid weapons carry license while hunting, fishing, or engaging in sport
    shooting.

    (g) Notwithstanding Code Sections 12-3-10, 27-3-1.1, 27-3-6, and 16-12-122
    through 16-12-127, any person with a valid weapons carry license may carry a
    weapon in all parks, historic sites, or recreational areas, as such term is
    defined in Code Section 12-3-10, including all publicly owned buildings located
    in such parks, historic sites, and recreational areas, in wildlife management
    areas, and on public transportation; provided, however, that a person shall not
    carry a handgun into a place where it is prohibited by federal law.

    (h) (1) No person shall carry a weapon without a valid weapons carry
    license unless he or she meets one of the exceptions to having such license as
    provided in subsections (a) through (g) of this Code section.

  • David

    If you have a GA licence, then you can carry in your car…read .. Without a GA or Reciprocal License – fully open to view (such as uncovered in passenger seat, partially sticking out below or beside seat is not allowed). If you are not prohibited from obtaining a firearm carry license, it can be in a closeable compartment like the glove box or center console (map pockets that are not closeable are not acceptable) with a GA or Reciprocal License – Anywhere in the car.

    • David

      Your car is an extension of your house… I’ve talked to several officers, and they stated the same thing

  • abel

    Something that I don’t know I got my consealed permit but can I carry an assult rifle in my car consealed

  • andy502

    I have a South Dakota concealed carry permit and am.stationed in Ft
    Benning and am wondering if i can carry open?

  • MikeJ

    I am traveling from GA where I have a permit to NC whic reciprocates my permit but my question is in 2 parts.
    |1, I will be traveling through SC on the Hwy, what will I have to do with my gun to be legal while traveling through SC?
    2. Since NC reciprocates my GA license should I assume I can carry in my vehicle just as I would in GA?

  • Jan

    If you are traveling through states that don’t recogonise your gun permits and planning to stay in that state for a few weeks what should you do with your gun.

  • ampdog

    in GA you dont need a permit to own a gun or carry your weapon in plain sight. You can have it in your vehicle, concealed or in plain sight without a permit. You are allowed to protect your vehicle just as you would your home. In the event you are pulled over and are asked if you have a weapon in the vehicle just be honest and tell them yes and the location. Your weapon can be loaded, there is no such thing as an unloaded gun in GA so have it loaded and chambered if you would like.

  • wheeler

    After reading these comments I am not sure what I can and can not do please every one find out the law where you live not saying anyone is right or wrong I don’t know be safe.

  • Charles

    CB. As truck driver I traveled this country from one end to the other. Only on rare occasion have I heard of a firearm (permit or no permit) keeping a person from getting robbed, beat up, shot, or mugged. I don’t carry and don’t need to. Nor do I spend precious time and energy fearing that someone gonna get me. I listen to cowards talk about what they are going to do and how they are going to do it. Fact is when Billy Bad Ass show up they are the first to freeze up. Repent of you sins, dump your fears, and start enjoying life. REAL MEN WALK BY FAITH!!!

    • http://www.cleanfunnypics.com/ Shelley

      Carrying a gun does not indicate fear of something or someone hurting them. There’s a difference in fear and being prepared. I have smoke alarms and fire extinguishers in my home in case of a fire. I’m not afraid of my home catching fire, but I’m prepared if it does.

      Yes, real men do walk by faith. What does that have to do with arming yourself? The Bible says to buy a weapon to protect yourself and your family. It even says to sell your clothes and buy one if you can’t afford one.

  • Bob

    You guys are all very confused. There is a lot of misinformation out there regarding laws. Read the actual code on lexis nexis. This is the only way to be absolutely sure. Most of what has been said on this board is inaccurate.

    • Pete

      you got that right !!!

  • michigan

    Im fromMichigan and I don’t have my CCW because it hasn’t came in the mail yet so can I still carry my gun in Georgia openly

  • Jim Vause

    I am a CWP Instructor in South Carolina. For the life of me , I can not understand why Ga. will not recognize our permits. We have to attend very strict law and shooting classes. Students are forced to lay out more money for the Utah course to be safe in Ga. It just defies common sense.

    • StopitnowUS

      Wish I knew the answer to this one also. I have a GA permit and must disarm myself when traveling to see family in HHI. If I had to guess, I would say it’s a pissing contest since SC has stricter issue requirements.

      • Jamie Boo

        I’ll have to buy land in SC if I ever want to be able to carry in SC. It sucks.

    • Pete

      Politics. Ask your Governor. She’ll tell you.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jllanos1 Juan Llanos

    Does the Ga Concealment License differentiate between rifle and handgun?

  • redandblack80

    When you go to work,see if there is a utility pole skirting your work parking lot.A utility company has a 7 ft right of way on each side of the pole.Plus the highway dept has a right of way on each side of the road too.

  • http://www.facebook.com/ziplokz Ziplok LikemyLikepage

    why does everyone want guns? this is weird.

  • 11luispedro

    Hi .!! If I have a concealed weapons permit can I wear a badge that says that???

  • Grandmaspistol

    I just moved to Houston county from Bibb county, do I need a new permit?

  • Bella

    I have a conceal carry permit and carry my hand gun in car can it be in glovebox loader with clip in it at all times

    • ken

      Yes

  • Bill

    The sample for the Georgia WCL is outdated.

  • disqus_7ICRvE7yp2

    How old do you have to be to get a concealed perment in georgia

    • ken

      21

  • confused military

    if i get my cpl in Georgia will Michigan recognize it, or would i have to get a separate one for Michigan?

  • Joy Thompson

    Can I carry my weapon in fl with a ga carry license?

  • Steven

    In GA you can carry in your car without a permit. The car is an extension of your home. The firearm may be locked and loaded as long as it is in a lockable compartment…I.E. glove box or center console. if the firearm is outside of those areas it must me unloaded and separate or ammunition without a conceal carry permit present.

    • xman1337

      In 2008 they removed the ‘compartment’ requirement.

  • john

    Hey im thinking of getting my permit and was wondering about the automobile carry rules. The thing is I drive a motorcycle, what would the laws be considering the circumstances? Would i be able to keep it in an underarm holster under my jacket, because it is a little hard to carry much on a motorcycle and having it on my hip would not feel secure.

  • David S.

    I am a Texas resident with a Georgia carry license. Am I allowed to carry concealed in the state of Texas? I have asked the Department of Public Safety and all I got from them was a Copy and Paste email that they send to everyone that asks them a question.

  • Tenise

    how can I transfer my ccw from Ohio to Georgia?

  • dsnowla

    This is why all concealed carry laws need to be revoked. Too confusing. Making criminals out of decent law abiding citizens.

  • amgsmg

    so i have a Georgia weapons carry license. can i open and conceal carry?

  • http://www.examiner.com/paulding-county-republican-in-atlanta/christopher-collins PCGOPExaminer

    Nevertheless, I have a permit now so I don’t have to worry about it. I have the right, not my man, but by God to protect myself.

  • Eddie

    If I have a Ga. carry License ,does it have to be visible when on me.

    • xman1337

      The weapon and permit can both be concealed. You MUST have the permit in your possession while carrying.

  • cdk

    Does this permit include being able to carry a hatchet

    • xman1337

      It covers knives being carried as a weapon. Not sure how a hatchet would be treated.

  • Sheriff Rob

    Georgia state law allows anyone over the age of 21 who can legally own a firearm to conceal carry in their vehicle without a permit with the firearm fully loaded as long as it is stored in the glove box or console. You can also open carry as long as the firearm is in sight and not under the seat. You may also open carry a firearm on your persons without a permit if the firearm is empty. Never consent to any searches nor answer any questions you are not required to by law. I open carry everwhere and have never been asked for my permit but keep in mind that if they do not feel that you have been involved in the institute of a crime then you can reserve the right of privacy and refuse. Know your laws. I suggest every person in Georgia to look up how to handle a traffic stop on youtube

    • xman1337

      Some incorrect information here. Everyone should go read the actual laws.

  • Chuck

    Took only 40 minutes total from filling out certification forms at the Probate Court Office to driving to Sheriff’s Office 3 miles away for the fingerprinting. Very organized and quick. Great Job Carroll County ,Georgia!!

  • Patrick

    Do you have to take a concealed carry class before you apply for a permit?

    • http://www.cleanfunnypics.com/ Shelley

      Not in Georgia, no.

  • moses jones

    Ohio sucks why can’t every state just let us carry

  • Avalon

    If I have passed NCis check, is it likely to be denied for concealed weapon permit here in ga

    • http://www.cleanfunnypics.com/ Shelley

      No.

  • Rob

    Can a person that resides out of state get a conceal permit in Georgia?

    • xman1337

      No, it’s done by county and you must have a permanent residence in that county. You’ll have to get a permit from another state that GA recognizes.

  • Sister

    I just came back from trying to renew my concealed carry permit in Clayton County Georgia.

    I had this permit renewed before and was never asked to prove my citizenship.

    This time I was told I need to show either a passport or a birth certificate or a Citizenship paper.

    Is
    that what I must do? I AM US citizen. I was born in France but have
    lived in the US legally for over 25 years in the same house in the same
    county, Clayton County.

    I have full blown US Citizenship not just an alien card.

    She
    told me homeland security requires foreign born people even if US
    citizens to prove they are citizens to get a firearms license. Is that
    legitimate or did she makes this up?

    I am suspicious because only after I spoke a couple of
    sentence (I have a foreign accent) while giving her my ID and credit
    card, which she asked for first, did she ask me where I was born.

    I
    am confused and very upset because non of this was told to me in the
    letter I received, to remind me of my pending expiration of my present
    permit which expires in March.

    There was no mentioning of bringing proof of citizenship at all.

    I am so upset even though I could simply take my papers over there I problay rather just don’t my concealed carry renewed. I feel totally humiliated, as someone who went through all the requirements to get legal citizenship to be treated like this. I have friends that only have to show their Drivers license including my husband, who just got his renewed.
    I am trying to learn if this is even legal to ask me for these papers.

  • Jeff

    I’m from South Carolina (A state that does not honor Georgia permits) but I am about to move to Savannah to study law school for three years. I want to get my CWP, but I am not technically a resident of Georgia, yet. I have a “get off me gun” 380. What can I do to get a CWP and carry legally around the city?

    • xman1337

      Get your permit from SC then apply for a Utah non-resident permit, or change your address to Georgia and apply for a permit here. Keep the timing in mind, you’ll have to complete the SC/UT option from your SC address before you leave.

    • Jamie Boo

      you can also get the New Hampshire permit. One page application, photocopy of your SC permit, and $100. Will have it in 3 weeks.

  • Mike

    How long does it take to receive ccw once finger prints have been taken

    • xman1337

      I applied on 12/25 and I’m still waiting as of 2/14. They told me 60-90 days but it would probably be just after 60 days.

  • L K

    can this pertain to knives as well?

  • Joe

    I have a permit from a state not recognized by Georgia. Can I transport through with weapon unloaded and locked?

  • Tim Johnson

    So the page didnt mention age. I’m 19, the age is 21 I believe. But i’m in the army, can i get one of these?

  • Rebekah

    I’m going to be traveling to Georgia on a business trip. I have a virginia concealed weapons permit. I know ga doesn’t honor it. I’m not leaving without my gun. Where can I keep it and be legal?

  • T.J. Hutto

    As a former Law Enforcement Officer for the State of Georgia, I go on record for saying that according to the Gun Carry Laws of the State of Georgia, you can carry a loaded weapon in your vehicle without having a carry license as long as you are not a convicted felon and are of age to have one. Which by the way, is the age of 21. However, it is your responsibility to tell any officer who approaches your vehicle to tell them before you say anything else, that you have a weapon in the car and exactly where it is at the time he approaches. DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT under any circumstances make any sudden movements in your vehicle after that point. The officer does not have a clue as to who you are or what you are capable of. UNLESS you want to be killed, do everything he/she tells you to do. In most cases, they will have their gun already drawn and at the ready. This is for their protection not yours. Like me, they want to return to their home and their children at the end of their shift. SO DO NOT ARGUE! DO NOT REFUSE! DO WHAT THEY TELL YOU! I tell you this for your safety. If you allow your stupid ego, idiotic mindset or less than appropriate intellectual lawyer mouth cash checks that are not bullet proof, YOU WILL BE ON THE LOOSING SIDE, GUARANTEED! As an officer, I respected any individual who respected my safety and my right to go home. But any punk or punkette who cared more about their rights more than my life and argued with me as to why or how I did my job usually found themselves having to post bond shortly after. Lastly, if you are consistently challenging officers, ie. being stopped all the time or doing things that are unlawful, stop carrying a gun! I have learned in life that if a person says that “trouble (police) follows them all the time, then YOU might be the trouble.” Quit being stupid, quit blaming others, and take a long look at your own life. Ignorance can be fixed, but stupidity is unrepairable.

  • ken

    the two officers are absolutely right Shawn & TJ Hutto

  • Chip

    I think we need a lawyer or a judge to render an opinion here. What we think it means and how they interpret it may be different

  • Ro

    If I live in one county an move to another would I need to return to that county that I got my ccw from when renewing or can I get it done were I moved too ga ccw

  • Larisey Jarrett

    I do not understand why GA will not recognize SC permits in their State. In GA there is no requirement to receive any training what so ever. All you do is pay some money and you are good to go. SC requires classroom training and you must demonstrate you are capable of handling the weapon safely by firing for score. You fire 50 rounds for practice and then 50 rounds for score and you must score high enough before the instructor certifies your permit. Can anyone answer this question for me?

  • spiff1

    Who has the authority to ask a CC holder to see their CC?

  • Jason Seate

    If I just purchased a firearm and I filled out the forms at the dealer that did the background check, why is it mandatory that I also go to my county probate court and file for a CCP, the form that I filled out at the gun dealer is the same thing

  • David

    If I have a Georgia Carry permit can I carry a gun in Wyoming & South Dakota with my Georgia PERMIT?

  • David

    If I have a Georgia Carry permit can I carry a gun in Wyoming & South Dakota with my Georgia PERMIT?

  • Zach Cochran

    I was stopped by the Murray co sheriffs office and he told me that my handgun has to be in plain sight without a permit and you have to make 2 or more steps to reach your ammo but with a permit you can have a loaded mag in the gun anywhere you want

  • Zach Cochran

    I was stopped by the Murray co sheriffs office and he told me that my handgun has to be in plain sight without a permit and you have to make 2 or more steps to reach your ammo but with a permit you can have a loaded mag in the gun anywhere you want

  • John Bartkowski

    I have a South Carolina CWP and will be going thru Georgia can I just lock my weapon in the glove box and be legal