If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the State Forums.
Shall Issue to Residents Only
Example Resident Permit:
Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70896
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit Phone Numbers:
(225) 922-0225 (Fax Number)
1. Sergeant Clay Reavis
2. Wyndie Chifici (Office Manager)
3. Shana Johnson
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit E-Mail Address:
There is a background check done when applying for your Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit. When purchasing a firearm after having a permit you still need to fill out a 4473 firearms transaction record and be subject to a waiting period if there are any delays.
* Original/First-Time Applicants:
Ages 21 – 64
$125 for a five-year permit.
65 Years of Age or Older
$62.50 for a five-year permit.
NOTE: If you have not continuously resided within the State of
Louisiana for the 15 years immediately preceding the date on which your
application is received, an additional $50 non-refundable fee shall be
submitted. This is only for first-time applicants and is not required
for any subsequent renewals.
Ages 21 – 64
$125 for a four-year permit.
65 Years of Age or Older
$62.50 for a four-year permit.
NOTE: For renewal applications the additional $50 non-refundable
fee and the submission of a fingerprint card is not applicable.
NOTE: ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE, and must be paid by money order, cashier’s check, or certified check.
* Original/First-Time Applicants:
In addition to meeting the qualifications in R.S. 40:1379.3(C),
an applicant must demonstrate competence with a handgun by completion
of an approved firearms safety or training course taught by an NRA or
P.O.S.T. certified instructor that is registered with State Police, or
completion of small arms training while serving in the military (as
evidenced by a DD-214), [active service members, reservist and national
guard members must include a clear photocopy of their military ID
(front & back) with a copy of their last qualification record from
their 201 file], or possession of a current valid license to carry a
concealed weapon issued by a parish law enforcement officer.
Pursuant to LAC 55:I:1307.D, each permittee applying for a
renewal of his permit shall complete additional educational training
within one year prior to submitting a renewal application. To obtain
renewal training, please contact one of the LSP registered instructors.
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
The permit shall be retained by the permittee who shall immediately
produce it upon the request of any law enforcement officer. Anyone who
fails to do so shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars.
Additionally, when any peace officer approaches a permittee in an
official manner or with an identified purpose, the permittee shall:
1. Notify the officer that he has a weapon on his person;
2. Submit to a pat down;
3. Allow the officer to temporarily disarm him.
Louisiana law does not expressly prohibit the carrying of handguns in
vehicles. This is a complicated issue. We suggest that you refer to
Louisiana Revised Statutes (L.R.S.) Title 14 Sections 95; 95.1; 95.2;
95.6; 95.7; 95.8. Information on these statutes can be obtained at
www.legis.state.la.us/tsrs/search.html or in the “Laws and Rules”
section of our web page.
Places off-limits when carrying:
R.S. 40:1379.3 (N) states that no concealed handgun may be carried into
and no concealed handgun permit issued pursuant to this Section shall
authorize or entitle a permittee to carry a concealed handgun in any of
* A law enforcement office, station, or building;
* A detention facility, prison, or jail;
* A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom;
* A polling place;
* A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision;
* The state capitol building;
* Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms
is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be
prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the
firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such
firearm as lawful baggage;
* Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship;
* A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity;
* Any portion of the permitted area of an establishment that has
been granted a Class A-General retail permit, as defined in Part II of
Chapter 1 or Part II of Chapter 2 of Title 26 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes of 1950, to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the
* Any school “firearm free zone” as defined in R.S. 14:95.6.
The provisions of R.S. 40:1379.3 (N) shall not limit the right of a
property owner, lessee, or other lawful custodian to prohibit or
restrict access of those persons possessing a concealed handgun
pursuant to a permit issued under this Section. No individual to whom a
concealed handgun permit is issued may carry such concealed handgun
into the private residence of another without first receiving the
consent of that person.
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
On June 30,Governor Kathleen Blanco (D) signed HB 1097 by
Representative Eric LaFleur (D-38), NRA-backed legislation granting
civil immunity to crime victims who lawfully use force up to and
including deadly force to protect themselves against a violent attack.
HB 1097 is the companion bill to HB 89 (also by Representative
LaFleur), the NRA-supported “Castle Doctrine” bill which created
presumptions in law for the use of force against intruders in your
home, car or place of business and explicitly states in law that you
have no “duty to retreat” from criminal attack if you are in a place
where you have a legal right to be.
HB 89 was signed by the Governor on June 2 and both bills take effect on August 15.
Localities with Varying Laws:
Pursuant to R.S. 40:1379.3(T)(1) a valid permit in another state is
valid in Louisiana if the issuing state honors concealed handgun
permits issued by Louisiana.
Permit holders are reminded that while carrying a concealed handgun in
another state they are bound by that state’s laws governing concealed
carry and permittees from other reciprocal states are bound by Louisiana concealed carry laws while in Louisiana.
1. Concealed Handgun Permit Application
2. Change of Address
3. Instructor Information Form
4. Medical Summary and Disposition
5. Suspension/Revocation Affidavit DPSSP 4646 (Law Enforcement Use Only)
Firearm Registration/Transfer Forms
Louisiana law does not require the registration of handguns. However,
the law requires the registration and transfer of a firearm. The
following is the legal definition of firearm;
“Firearm” means a shotgun having a barrel of less than eighteen
inches in length; a rifle having a barrel of less than sixteen inches
in length; any weapon made from either a rifle or a shotgun if said
weapon has been modified to have an overall length of less than
twenty-six inches; any other firearm, pistol, revolver, or shotgun from
which the serial number or mark of identification has been obliterated,
from which a shot is discharged by an explosive, if that weapon is
capable of being concealed on the person; or a machine gun, grenade
launcher, flame thrower, bazooka, rocket launcher, excluding black
powder weapons, or gas grenade; and includes a muffler or silencer for
any firearm, whether or not the firearm is included within this
definition. Pistols and revolvers and those rifles and shotguns which
have not previously been defined in this Paragraph as firearms from
which serial numbers or marks of identification have not been
obliterated are specifically exempt from this definition.
1. Application To Register As Firearms Dealer, Importer, Or Manufacturer
2. Application To Register Firearm – LA Revised Statutes, Title 40, Section 1783
3. Application To Transfer Firearm – LA Revised Statutes, Title 40, Section 1784 & 1787
Office of the State Register
This is a searchable database of the Louisiana Administrative Code.
These are the administrative rules governing the issuance, and
regulation of concealed handgun permits. These rules are contained in
the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55, Part I, Chapter 13,
Sections 1301 and 1317.
Louisiana State Legislature Search
is a searchable database of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. The
specific laws concerning concealed handgun permits are located in R.S.
40:1379.3 et seq.
A permittee may not carry and conceal a handgun while under the
influence of alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) as
defined in R.S. 40:961 and 964. For purposes of the concealed handgun
law, a permittee is considered under the influence of alcohol when a
blood alcohol reading of .05% or greater by weight of alcohol in the
blood is obtained, or a blood or urine test shows any confirmed
presence of a CDS.
The permit to carry a concealed handgun shall be revoked by the deputy
secretary when the permittee is carrying and concealing a handgun under
any of the following circumstances:
1. The blood alcohol reading of the permittee is .05% or greater by weight of alcohol in the blood;
2. The permittee’s blood test or urine test shows the confirmed presence of a CDS as defined in R.S. 40:961 and 964;
3. The permittee refuses to submit to a department certified
chemical test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer.
R.S. 40:1379.3(L) provides that anyone who carries and conceals a
handgun in violation of any provision of this Section, unless
authorized to do so by another provision of the law, shall be fined not
more than five hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not more than six
months, or both.
R.S. 40:1379.3(C)(1) requires the making of a sworn application to the
deputy secretary of public safety services of the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections. The providing of false or misleading
information on the application or any documents submitted with the
application shall be grounds for the denial or revocation of a
concealed handgun permit. The application shall reflect training in
pistols, revolvers, or both. Any permittee under this Section shall
notify the department of any address or name change within thirty days
of the change. Failure to timely notify the department of a name or
address change may result in suspension of the permit for up to thirty
R.S. 40:1379.3(R)(1) requires each permittee, within fifteen days of a
misdemeanor or a felony arrest, other than a minor traffic violation,
in this state or any other state, to notify the deputy secretary of
public safety services by certified mail. The deputy secretary may
suspend, for up to ninety days, the permit of any permittee who fails
to meet the notification requirements of this Section.
R.S. 40:1379.3(F)(1) mandates that the deputy secretary shall revoke
the permit if at any time during the permit period the permittee fails
to satisfy any one of the qualification requirements provided for in
Subsection C of R.S. 40:1379.3.
We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.