Maine Concealed Carry Permit Information

143
Shares
Share on Pinterest
Share with your friends










Submit
More share buttons
Maine Concealed Carry Quick Stats


Maine Concealed Handgun Permit Example
Maine Concealed Carry Permit

Maine Concealed Carry Permit

Maine Concealed Carry FAQ’s

Do I need a permit to carry concealed in Maine?


No. On October 15, 2015, Maine’s Constitutional Carry law went into effect. Residents and non-residents that are legally allowed to possess a firearms and are at least 21 years old are allowed to carry concealed in Maine. Active Military and Honorably Discharged Veterans can carry at the age of 18.

Does Maine issue concealed carry permits?

Maine is a Shall Issue State and still issues Concealed Handgun Permits to residents of Maine and non-residents. Even though they allow anyone legally allowed to possess a firearm to carry concealed, they still issue concealed carry permits.

To apply, check the Town Listing for the city or town you live in before sending your application in to the State Police. If you do not see your city or town on the list then you will need to contact your respective city\town office for more information on how to apply for a concealed handgun permit. If you live in a city\town that has their own police department you must go through them to obtain a concealed handgun permit.

Maine Concealed Handgun Permits


Maine Concealed Handgun Permits usually issued by the State Police. Check the Town Listing for the city or town you live in before sending your application in to the State Police. If you do not see your city or town on the list then you will need to contact your respective city\town office for more information on how to apply for a concealed handgun permit. If you live in a city\town that has their own police department you must go through them to obtain a concealed handgun permit.

Are background checks required for a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit?

Yes, there is a background check when apply for a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit but it is not a NICS check.

Does having a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Maine?

No, the background check is conducted is not a NICS check so having an Maine Concealed Handgun Permit does not exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm.

How long is a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit valid for?

Maine Concealed Handgun Permits are valid for 4 years.

What is the processing time for a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit?

The processing time for new Maine Concealed Handgun Permits is within 30 days for Maine Residents that have been a resident for 5 or more years. For residents that have been a resident for less than 5 years and non-residents the processing time is within 60 days.

How much does an Maine Concealed Handgun Permit cost?

The fee for a new Maine Concealed Handgun Permit is $35. Renewal licenses cost $20. The cost is $2 for a diplicate permit, change of address or name change.

What are the requirements for a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit?

The requirements to obtain a Maine Concealed Handgun Permit are the following:

  1. Is 18 years of age or older;
  2. Is not disqualified to possess a firearm pursuant to Title 15, section 393, is not disqualified as a permit holder under that same section and is not disqualified to possess a firearm based on federal law as a result of a criminal conviction;
  3. Repealed, P.L. 1993, c. 368 § 4.
  4. Submits an application that contains the following:
    1. Full name;
    2. Full current address and addresses for the prior 5 years;
    3. The date and place of birth, height, weight, color of eyes, color of hair, sex and race;
    4. A record of previous issuances of, refusals to issue and revocations of a permit to carry concealed firearms, handguns or other concealed weapons by any issuing authority in the State or any other jurisdiction. The record of previous refusals alone does not constitute cause for refusal and the record of previous revocations alone constitutes cause for refusal only as provided in section 2005; and
    5. Answers to the following questions:
      1. Are you less than 18 years of age?
      2. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this State for a crime under the laws of this State that is punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or more?
      3. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in any federal court for a crime under the laws of the United States that is punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year?
      4. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in another state for a crime that, under the laws of that state, is punishable by a term of imprisonment exceeding one year?
      5. If your answer to the question in division (d) is “yes,” is that charged crime classified under the laws of that state as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?
      6. Is there a formal charging instrument pending against you in another state for a crime punishable in that state by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less and classified by that state as a misdemeanor, but that is substantially similar to a crime that under the laws of this State is punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or more?
      7. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you under the laws of the United States, this State or any other state or the Passamaquoddy Tribe or Penobscot Nation in a proceeding in which the prosecuting authority has pleaded that you committed the crime with the use of a firearm against a person or with the use of a dangerous weapon as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 9, paragraph A?
      8. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in division (b), (c), (d) or (f) and involves bodily injury or threatened bodily injury against another person?
      9. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in division (g)?
      10. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in division (b), (c), (d) or (f), but does not involve bodily injury or threatened bodily injury against another person?
      11. Have you ever been convicted of committing or found not criminally responsible by reason of mental disease or defect [insanity] of committing a crime described in division (b), (c), (f) or (g)?
      12. Have you ever been convicted of committing or found not criminally responsible by reason of mental disease or defect [insanity] of committing a crime described in division (d)?
      13. If your answer to the question in division (l) is “yes,” was that crime classified under the laws of that state as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?
      14. Have you ever been adjudicated as having committed a juvenile offense described in division (h) or (i)?
      15. Have you ever been adjudicated as having committed a juvenile offense described in division (j)?
      16. Are you currently subject to an order of a Maine court or an order of a court of the United States or another state, territory, commonwealth or tribe that restrains you from harassing, stalking or threatening your intimate partner, as defined in 18 United States Code, Section 921(a), or a child of your intimate partner, or from engaging in other conduct that would place your intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to that intimate partner or the child?
      17. Are you a fugitive from justice?
      18. Are you a drug abuser, drug addict or drug dependent person?
      19. Do you have a mental disorder that causes you to be potentially dangerous to yourself or others?
      20. Have you been adjudicated to be an incapacitated person pursuant to Title 18-A, Article 5 [Probate Code; Protection of persons under disability and their property], Parts 3 and 4 and not had that designation removed by an order under Title 18-A, section 5-307, subsection (b) [Termination of incapacity]?
      21. Have you been dishonorably discharged from the military forces within the past 5 years?
      22. Are you an illegal alien?
      23. Have you been convicted in a Maine court of a violation of Title 17-A, section 1057 [Possession of firearms in an establishment licensed for onpremises consumption of liquor] within the past 5 years?
      24. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past 5 years as having committed a juvenile offense involving conduct that, if committed by an adult, would be a violation of Title 17-A, section 1057 [Possession of firearms in an establishment licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor]?
      25. To your knowledge, have you been the subject of an investigation by any law enforcement agency within the past 5 years regarding the alleged abuse by you of family or household members?
      26. Have you been convicted in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years of 3 or more crimes punishable by a term of imprisonment of less than one year or of crimes classified under the laws of a state as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?
      27. Have you been adjudicated in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years to have committed 3 or more juvenile offenses described in division (o)?
      28. To your knowledge, have you engaged within the past 5 years in reckless or negligent conduct that has been the subject of an investigation by a governmental entity?
      29. Have you been convicted in a Maine court within the past 5 years of any Title 17-A, chapter 45 drug crime?
      30. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past 5 years as having committed a juvenile offense involving conduct that, if committed by an adult, would have been a violation of Title 17-A, chapter 45 [Criminal Code, Drugs]?
      31. Have you been adjudged in a Maine court to have committed the civil violation of possession of a useable amount of marijuana, butyl nitrite or isobutyl nitrite in violation of Title 22, section 2383 within the past 5 years?
      32. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past 5 years as having committed the juvenile crime defined in Title 15, section 3103, subsection 1, paragraph B of possession of a useable amount of marijuana, as provided in Title 22, section 2383?; and
    6. Does the following:
      1. At the request of the issuing authority, takes whatever action is required by law to allow the issuing authority to obtain from the Department of Health and Human Services, limited to records of patient committals to Riverview Psychiatric Center and Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center, the courts, law enforcement agencies and the military information relevant to the following:
        1. The ascertainment of whether the information supplied on the application or any documents made a part of the application is true and correct;
        2. The ascertainment of whether each of the additional requirements of this section has been met; and
        3. Section 2005;
      2. If a photograph is an integral part of the permit to carry concealed handguns adopted by an issuing authority, submits to being photographed for that purpose;
      3. If it becomes necessary to resolve any questions as to identity, submits to having fingerprints taken by the issuing authority;
      4. Submits an application fee along with the written application to the proper issuing authority pursuant to the following schedule:
        1. Resident of a municipality or unorganized territory, $35 for an original application and $20 for a renewal, except that a person who paid $60 for a concealed firearms permit or renewal during 1991 or 1992 is entitled to a credit toward renewal fees in an amount equal to $30 for a person who paid $60 for an original application and $45 for a person who paid $60 for a permit renewal. The credit is valid until fully utilized; and
        2. Nonresident, $60 for an original or renewal application; and
      5. Demonstrates to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety. The applicant may fully satisfy this requirement by submitting to the issuing authority, through documentation in accordance with this subparagraph, proof that the applicant has within 5 years prior to the date of application completed a course that included handgun safety offered by or under the supervision of a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of handgun safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken. A course completion certificate or other document, or a photocopy, is sufficient if it recites or otherwise demonstrates that the course meets all of the requirements of this subparagraph.

As an alternative way of fully satisfying this requirement, an applicant may personally demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety to an issuing authority, if the issuing authority is willing to evaluate an applicant’s personal demonstration of such knowledge. The issuing authority is not required to offer this 2nd option.

The demonstration of knowledge of handgun safety to the issuing authority may not be required of any applicant who holds a valid state permit to carry a concealed firearm as of April 15, 1990 or of any applicant who was or is in any of the Armed Forces of the United States and has received at least basic firearms training.

Changelog

10/16/2015 – Format updated along with all information.

We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.

143
Shares
Share on Pinterest
Share with your friends










Submit
More share buttons
  • Outffer

    the “be of good moral character” bit was removed between 2003 and 2005

    • Sts2haley

      actually it stated that you had to be of good moral charcter in the paprework i filled out 2 months ago

    • Jdseams

      This is something I’m going over now. Filed for permit on Nov. 8th. Now the 29th and no permit yet. I tried calling and at first got pissed when the big tough Detective Pelletier said I had quite a criminal history. One class D misdemeanor and one class E misdemeanor in the last 5 years.
      I called back and told him Maine is a “shall-issue” state. And I meet the criteria. If you’re going to continue to try and intimidate me rather than simply say “I’m backed up here” then maybe I should get a lawyer.

      • Mygspotis

        Yes jdseams, I too,was denied by tht jackass Dt. Pelletier last year. The ONLY thing on my record was a civil offense 3years prior,tht according to the list of reasons which disqualify you,-it wasn’t on it. I even hold my class A (cdl-a) operators license with all endorsments -INCLUDING HAZ-MAT. -that endorsement enables me to truck nuclear weapons for christs sake! -so needless to say I can carry a truckload of guns,but tht cop w a chip on his shoulder,wouldn’t allow me my ccw.he said for me to apply next (this)year as it will have been the 4years needed to eliminate it frm ‘HIS’ list. I tried pleading my case with him abt the fact the federal government allowed me a haz-mat endorsement &I had to wait 30days while they did the whole federal check,etc.. -but his only reply was,”huh, I’m surprised they allowed u to get it &u passed their check.” I hope this year I get him again so I can recite his words bck 2him saying I wld get it this year,if he tries pulling his ‘authority’ card again.

        • It makes me SO FRIGGIN UPSET. I STILL have heard no word along with the dozen or so people who were in my handgun class back in SEPTEMBER 2011!!!!!!
          What the [email protected]:disqus I have friends who re-applied after expiration back last summer and have not heard word. Only thing is after thirty days THEY can go back to CC again until they hear word while we’re in the mercy of some bigshot pompous beauracrat. Even with multiple references from Maine Guides, CCP holders with over 10 years permitted and live in spouse…..NO GO…
          None apparently hold a candle to Pelletier and his amazing desk jockey judgement skills. 

      • Update, I got so sick of waiting and also moved across the river into Madison I applied to near-retirment police wank Barry Moores.
        BIG MISTAKE.
        From what little info I could get from him, someone somewhere filled out “statements” about me. (????) Isn’t that heresay?
        After repeated phone calls and emails trying to asses WHY I was denied and how to go about contesting the decision. He said I seemed “mentally unstable”
        It doesn’t take a genius to read between THOSE lines: “back off or Ill see to it your guns are taken away”
        What can I do? I don’t even know how to contest it! He’s supposedly required by law to give me a concise letter describing why I was denied and what I can do.
        This is so beyond frustrating……..
        All I wanted was something to show for all the hoops Ive jumped through and all Ive accomplished. I am safe, proficient with a firearm, and deserve the rights granted to me as a citizen.
        I know a dozen upstanding citizens with no record at all who would attest to me being of sound judgement and good moral character….
        Mentally unstable? please…..

        • Sprayed50mustang

           Sounds like someone might just be a little mentally unstable….

    • Uh, no it was not.

  • Xmanhockey7

    “Out Of State Permit Issue:
    Maine does issue permits to non-residents.”

    Typo?????

  • h20skier

    if I had a permit that expired 5 or 6 years ago, do I need to retake a course?

    • Anonymous

      Since your permit expired over 6 months ago then it is treated as a new application. As long as your training certificate is dated within the past 5 years you won’t have to retake a course. If it was over 5 years then you will need to retake a safety course unless the place you are applying at will allow you to demonstrate your knowledge.

      From http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/25/title25sec2003.html

      “The applicant may fully satisfy this requirement by submitting to the issuing authority, through documentation in accordance with this subparagraph, proof that the applicant has within 5 years prior to the date of application completed a course that included handgun safety offered by or under the supervision of a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of firearms safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken. A course completion certificate or other document, or a photocopy, is sufficient if it recites or otherwise demonstrates that the course meets all of the requirements of this subparagraph.

      As an alternative way of fully satisfying this requirement, an applicant may personally demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety to an issuing authority, if the issuing authority is willing to evaluate an applicant’s personal demonstration of such knowledge. The issuing authority is not required to offer this 2nd option.”

  • [email protected]

    would like to gun permit  5to 6 years i do police work

  • [email protected]

    itrairn two times a week atthe range.

  • fullyqualified

    Where is my permit? I submitted it Aug. 12, now it is Oct. 13. is there anything I can do? My permit was sent by my local Police Chief, and I have seen no response. I am an American damnit

    • Don

      Fullyqualified, you don’t list what state you are in,,,,maybe your Police Chief doesn’t know either. You might clarify if your permit was sent by somebody else TO your local Police Chief, or was it sent BY your local Police Chief to somebody besides you. “an American damnit” sounds like you are cursing the fact that you are an American. If that is the case, “SUCK IT UP, BUTTERCUP”, ya cud get exported to Kenya!

    • I wouldnt be surprised if you STILL Dont have it!!
      Something needs to be done. I am losing sleep over this blatant disregard for my individual rights. I too carry a class A license with three endorsments MYGSPORTIS.

  • Myfriend

    I have a friend who took the course and has the necessary certificate to apply for the concealed weapon permit. The question is on the paperwork it asks about juvenile offenses. This person was jumped by 2 people (around age 14/more than 10 yrs ago) and ended up stabbing one. They took off and he called the police to report it and turn the knife in. Went to court and pretty much got a slap on the wrist. Does this qualify for a “yes” answer for question “O?” He doesn’t really know the details when it comes to his time with the Juvenal court system because there wasn’t anything major, the stabbing was the biggest thing.

    • Al Toons

      A quick call to Pine Tree Legal can clear that up.

  • Me .ccw carrier

    I live in Me.and hold a ccw carry where ever I can.I live on the border of NH my ccw is no good there.I took the ccw course from a navy seal learned a lot plus he was not into joking around.Guns are not toys an not to be used as one.I have been around guns all my life 55 years and my dad was very strick with guns.The ccw course is very important for any one. I can spot a person that should not have a gun at all. Thats why the ccw course is important.My instructor can spot one a mile away.this is why the course is here.The state of ME ccw perment is good in around 20 states why not in all states.When I go to NH I have to unload an leave in the open so some bad guy can steal it and put it in there pants or shoot me.I could pay $100.00 for one but times are tough.If 20 some states make it legal mayby more could.If more people carry there would be less crime.Would you try to rob someone or something if you thought someone has a gun.IT happened to a friend of mine once a guy junped into his car was going to hijack it.But before the guy rearend hit the seat my friend had his 357 mag pointed at him.My friend said he never saw anyone move so fast in his life he said his rearend never touched the seat and than ran across a four lane highway and was gone.My friend was a DI on the rifle range that helped.I could go on all day why ccw perments should be good in other states like one next door

    • Dustin clavet

      the thing i don’t get is NH state motto is live free or die so why have to have a license to carry to begin with in that state? they aren’t subject to more dangerous laws like seat belt laws they have none but you can’t carry across borders doesn’t sound free to me.

    • mac

      NH is also open carry state

  • Cards1892

    In a strange twist….I live in Missouri, but own property in Maine where I spend much of the summer.  I hold a CCW in Missouri.  Missouri honors the Maine permit, but Maine does NOT honor my Missouri permit.  Yes, I know I can apply for an out of state permit in Maine and I’m sure I’d qualify.  However, it seems to me that if one state reciprocates, shouldn’t the other one? I had to take the same safety course that I’m sure Maine requires and so on. Also, it’s my opinion that we should be able to carry anywhere in the country if we have a permit in any state.  I’ll explain my logic.  Nowhere in the Constitution does it say I have the right to drive a car, specifically.  It says it indirectly using other language about our individual rights, but that’s for another show.  It does, however, talk about the right to keap and BEAR (carry) arms.  If my Missouri driver’s license is good in all 50 states (and even foreign countries) why shouldn’t my CCW behonored in all states.  Cars kill far more people than guns and in Missouri there’s an interesting statistic.  There has NEVER, since Missouri has been issuing a CCW, been a gun used in the commission of a crime by a Missouri CCW holder.

    • Nraynes

      MI. Does not have as extensive background check as Maine does.

      • Nraynes

        Mo* sorry small keys on my smartphone.

      • ThatPeskyPatriot

        Actually, Missouri has the exact same background check as Maine. They just don’t drag it out to exert their bureaucratic authority like Maine does. Missouri takes 45 days instead of 6 months to do the same thing and even Missouri could do it faster. Maine needs to get with the program.

    • mac

      You can always carry open in Maine

      • Yes, but go ahead and try to walk down Congress Street in Portland with a legal side arm in plain view. I have seen multiple You Tube videos of individuals trying just that and the local PD will stop you and demand identification in stark contrast to your Federal and State coonstitutial rights. I’ts less of a hassle to apply for a conceald carry permit than to exercise your right to open carry in the state of Maine.

    • blakeywakey

      its just a matter of money, we have a greedy state gov that will make you pay the out of state cost to permit you, it’s all b.s. anyway

    • Wolfwolveswolf

      Oh geese I don’t know, your making too much sense. That’s going to mess things up!

  • SethE

    Do i have to live in maine in order to get my concealed at 18?

    • SethE

      nvm i see it!

  • Robert

    Nonresident ME application mailed 12/12/2011. Nonresident ME permit issued 5/23/2012. Nonresident ME permit received 5/29/2012.

  • Carl Johnson

    Hey there,
    I found this school in Belgrade, ME that did me a solid! They have the nicest, cleanest appearance of any local firearms business I’ve been to. The teachers and sales people rock! I got my Maine Concealed Weapons Permit starting with them and I’ll go back for many more classes and just fire on the range!

    • Carl Johnson

      You won’t be disappointed! Let me know how it goes…

    • FrankC

      What the name or phone or web link ?

      Thanks

      • Al Toons

        Hmmm starting to question why this isnt posting…
        “protectiontrainingassociates” Thats the webpage. do the dots double slash, etc., etc.

        • Al Toons

          httpprotectiontrainingassociatescom

  • Dan

    I am moving to the State of MAine soon. I have a CCW for Connecticut and I am also a Certified Pistol Instructor for the State of Connecticut. Questions, Can I still teach in MAine and does MAine allow me to just transfer my permit to their State? Thanks and all info. is good info.

  • What if you have a misdemeanor OUI, will this prevent me from obtaining a ccw in Maine?

    • cgriff

      I doubt it. My sister in law just received hers and she has had a OUI within the last 3 years.

    • Paul

      You never know. I was denied a ccw for a couple speeding tickets. Not even criminal.

  • rj

    do i need to take a class if i am a veteran to get my permit in bangor

  • Ok..of course Ohio is a state where permits are not honored.why?
    I am now in Maine and want a ccw.I am a Vietnam combat veteran 69-71 in country. I am an expert with a firearm and in particular a pistol. I have carried a Pistol legally for 8 years and I ma very qualified to do so. My question is must I jump through all the hoops yet again to get a CCW in Maine?

    • Robert Silcott

      George, my understanding of the law is that your military experience should be enough.v

  • I I have a CCW from Ohio and have been legal for 8 years now. I want to get my CCW in Maine. Would I have to take yet another ccw course? I am a Vietnam combat vet and have used firearms extensively for 43 years.

  • travler

    Can I get a Maine non resident without any other permits.

  • Larry Moulton

    why should i even have to go thruogh taking a test.,? im a vet with no history . why cant thy just go through my records?

    • Nate Opgenorth

      DD214 usually is sufficient for the safety course requirement in most states, even anti-gun states like NY accept it.

  • Emilio

    I applied for mine on May 20, 2013 and still waiting! have a resident CCW from CT a non-resident from FL, I am a class 2 FFL dealer and NRA certified pistol instructor and still waiting for my Maine non-resident permit.

    • Jamie Boo

      The website says it can take up to 150 days.

      • Dan

        Wow what a joke! I think it should be 3 days at most.

  • mainer

    can you take this course before you’re 18?

  • melissa ballou

    my boyfriend and I have a bet going… He thinks I won’t be able to get my concealed weapons permit because I checked myself into a hospital for 2 days b/c I was suicidal. Yes, I have mental health issues…he says because of the medications I’m on and my hospital stay, they’ll deny me. Does anyone know the criteria for being “mentally sound” ? I’ve never been arrested and never been hospitalized for more than that 2 day stay…Thanks for the help.

  • Matthew Thomas

    Curious about the reciprocity Concealed Handgun License of Maine to Missouri.
    Basic Question: Maine allows anyone 18 years old and older to obtain a concealed license. Missouri recognizes/has reciprocity for Maine’s license. If a 18-21 year old Missouri resident obtains a non-resident Maine Permit, will Missouri recognize the legality of his/her carrying a concealed weapon, even though he/she is under Missouri’s set 21 year old conceal carry age?

    Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you so much!!!

    • ThatPeskyPatriot

      The whole Maine/Missouri thing is perplexing. Maine requires the same safety course. They stretch it out over 2 days to make it seem longer. They do the exact same background check as Missouri. They claim that they don’t recognize permits from states with looser gun laws than Maine. That’s crap too. Yes, you can have a gun in your car on a school parking lot as long as it’s concealed in Missouri and locked inside the car and out of sight if you exit the vehicle, whereas in Maine you can’t even have it in the parking lot (yeah, those gun free zones sure make a difference; NOT!). On the other hand Maine allows anyone to carry into a house of worship. In Missouri you need permission from the pastor, priest, rabbi, etc… So, basically Maine has no reason to not recognize the Missouri permit other than Maine is a left-wing nut-house. Frankly, this entire discussion is B.S. It was stated above by someone a couple of years ago in a discussion about this same Missouri/Maine problem, but if a 16 year old can drive a deadly weapon, statistically far more dangerous than a gun in ANY state and without a Constitutional right to back it up, them why in the name of all things holy can’t a law-abiding citizen exercise his/her constitutional RIGHT?

  • George Sanders

    Ok, I have an expired ccw from Ohio….I now live in Biddeford, ME and carry here without a ccw. My Q?…how much of a hassel is it to get a non-resident CCW?

    • Robert Silcott

      Easier than getting busted without a permit.

      • George Sanders

        I grew up in inner-city Detroit in the 50 and 60’s I carried a pistol everyday, concealed, most of my life. I will apply for the Maine CCW as a NON Resident, however better to be judged by 12 then carried by 6.

  • Linny

    I would like to know what I have to do to change my out-of-state gun permit, now I am a resident of Maine,will I just need to change my address?

    • Jamie Boo

      fill out an application
      A fee of $2.00 is required if you are requesting a DUPLICATE permit, a CHANGE OF ADDRESS or
      CHANGE OF NAME permit;

  • ray

    why does maine ccw reciprocity suck sooo bad? they only accept resident licenses from 6-8 other states. good thing they’re shall issue to non residents and have a good price for theirs.

  • ray

    why does maine only accept 7 other states’ permits? i would get one from maine but i only get one extra state. what sets those 7 states apart from the rest?

    • Nate Opgenorth

      Old post but why is Maine weird with reciprocity and seamingly not really a true Shall issue state based off allot of the posts here and some other sources. It seams like a gun friendly state, why the lack of recognition of permits from places like NY where you most definitely will be bending over backwards to get a permit. Not that I plan on going to Maine anytime soon but I might change my mind! Its a beautiful state. If you are an out of state person do you need a Maine non-resident permit or recognized CCW permit to open carry? Just curious. I have an app on my iphone called “CCW” pretty helpful, show reciprocity maps for the entire US and legalize to go with it but still can’t figure out my last question.

  • christopher

    Question. Im 19 years old, I already have a Maine resident CCW. North Carolina honors the Maine resident permit, but unlike Maine the CCW age is 21. Am i legally permitted to carry since I hold an honored permit in North Carolina?

    • Roger

      No. You still need to meet the requirements of the state that you will be carrying in to be legal in that state. when you turn 21 you will be legal to conceal carry in NC.

  • TubalLigation

    Carry permits are nonsense. Not a single gun controller has managed to explain to me how forcing me to place a mandated permit into my pocket prevents a criminal from placing an illegal gun into his pocket .

  • jenkem5

    Foolish sheeple. You are a free people. You can carry a gun where ever you want. Gods law not mans! The 2nd states the right “Shall Not be Infringed.” Protect yourself and your family. Make the government follow the law.

  • ams

    If i’m from Maine, going to college in Kentucky. Am I able to apply for the resident license? My Maine address is still my permanent address and I live there when school is out. I’m only 19 so I can’t apply for a ccdw here.

Quantcast