Alaska Concealed Carry Permit Information

Does Alaska issue Concealed Carry Permits?
Alaska is a Shall Issue* state and will issue Alaska Concealed Carry permits to residents of Alaska only.

*NOTE: Alaska Statute 11.61.220 allows anyone 21 or older, who may legally carry a firearm to also carry it concealed without having to obtain a special permit.

Who issues an Alaska Concealed Carry Permit?
Department of Public Safety

NICS/Background Check:

Example Alaska Concealed Carry Permit:

Alaska Concealed Carry Permit Front

Alaska Concealed Carry Permit Back

How Long is a Alaska Concealed Carry Permit valid for?

Processing Time:



Required Documents:
1. Copy of Certificate showing successful completion of a handgun course approved by the department.
2. Submit two sets of fingerprints of acceptable techincal quality. Fingerprints submitted must be rolled by a person or agency approved by the department, or by a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility at the discretion of the agency or facility. A list of fingerprint technicians or agencies approved by the department is available on the ACHP web-site.
3. PHOTOGRAPH: Include one quality color photograph taken within the 30 days preceding the date you apply for your permit. See the Photograph Instructions and Specifications in this packet for size restrictions and specific information.
4. Application form filled out. [PDF Application]

Effective October 1, 2007, the application fee for a new Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit will be reduced to $94.25. This reflects a reduction in the cost of conducting national criminal background checks. Fees for renewal and replacement applications will remain at $25.00; only the fee for new applications is affected by this change. Applications received by the Department of Public Safety after October 1, 2007 must be accompanied by the fee of $94.25.

Renewal Information:

Change of Name or Address:

Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Permits:

Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
Any person 21 years of age or older may carry a handgun concealed on their person provided that, when contacted by a police officer, informs the officer of that possession and allows the police officer to secure the handgun for the duration of that contact.

Automobile carry:
Local ordinances vary from city to city in Alaska. Contact your city, borough, or municipal police department and ask them about their ordinances concerning firearms and concealed weapons.

Places off-limits when carrying:
1. Courthouses
2. School yards
3. Bars
4. Domestic violence shelters

Alcohol and Drugs:

Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
Alaska is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law.

Open Carry:
Unrestricted under state law and generally accepted in most areas.

Localities with Varying Laws:

Address Change for a Concealed Handgun Permit
Application for Permit Renewal
Concealed Handgun Permit Application
Replacement/Name Change of a Concealed Handgun Permit

NRA-ILA: Alaska Gun Laws

We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.