Illinois Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- On July 9, 2013, The Illinois Governor’s veto of the concealed carry bill was overridden making Illinois the final state to issue concealed carry permits. The Illinois State Police have 180 days to develop the process. We will update the details on this page accordingly as more information is provided.
- Shall Issue
- Resident and Non-Resident Permits Issued
- 21 years of age required
- $150 for 5 Years for Residents
- $300 for 5 Years for Non-Residents
- 90 Day Processing Time
- Illinois Reciprocity Maps
Illinois Concealed Weapons License Example
Illinois Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does Illinois issue concealed carry permits?
On July 9, 2013, The Illinois Governor’s veto of the concealed carry bill was overridden making Illinois the final state to issue concealed carry permits. The Illinois State Police have 180 days to develop the process. We will update the details on this page accordingly as more information is provided.
Who issues Illinois concealed carry permits?
The Illinois State Police issues Illinois concealed carry permits. The Illinois State Police have 180 days from 7/9/2013 to develop the process.
Are background checks required for a Illinois concealed carry permit and does it count as a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check?
As of 7/9/2013, the Illinois State Police Website does not state that there is a background check during the process of getting a concealed carry permit. But to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry Permit, you must have an Illinois FOID (Firearm Owners Identification) card which requires a background check. They also do not state that the Illinois Concealed Carry Permit will allow you to bypass the NICS check when purchasing a firearm. The Illinois law requires FFL holders call the Illinois State Police to verify the purchasers FOID card (process known as Firearm Transfer Inquiry Program – FTIP). The police also search criminal, mental health and the federal NICS database.
How long is an Illinois concealed carry permit valid for?
Illinois concealed carry permits are valid for 5 years for residents and non-residents.
What is the processing time for an Illinois concealed carry permit?
The Illinois State Police will issue the concealed carry permit 90 days after the application has been submitted as long as the applicant is qualified.
How much does an Illinois concealed carry permit cost?
The cost for a Resident Illinois concealed carry permit is $150 for five years and the cost for a Non-Resident Illinois concealed carry permit is $300 for five years.
How long is an Illinois concealed weapons permit valid for?
An Illinois concealed carry permit is valid for five years.
What are the requirements for an Illinois concealed carry permit?
All applicants applying for an Illinois concealed carry permits must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have a valid FOID card
- Have not been convicted or found guilty in this State or any other state of:
- A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years.
- 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years.
- Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification.
- Not have been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years.
- Submit a completed Concealed Carry License Application.
- Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.
What are the required documents when applying for an Illinois concealed carry permit?
Within 180 days from 7/9/2013, the Illinois State Police will create applications and make them available to the public as well as downloadable from their website.
How do I renew my Illinois concealed weapons permit and what is the cost?
The Illinois State Police do not have any details on the renewal processed yet. Once this information has been provided we will update this page.
How do you change a name or address on an Illinois concealed firearms permit?
You can change your name and address on your Illinois concealed firearms permit through the online form here.
What do you do if your Illinois concealed carry permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
The Illinois State Police do not have any details on what to do if your Illinois concealed carry permit is lost, stolen or damaged. Once this information has been provided we will update this page.
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
There is no law on the states you must inform law enforcement that you are carrying but there is a bill awaiting house vote that would require it. [Source]
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Illinois?
There is more than one way to legally transport a firearm. However, in order to be in compliance with all statutes, it is recommended all firearms be transported:
- Enclosed in a case and,
- By persons who have a valid FOID card.
Non-residents must be legally eligible to possess or acquire firearms and ammunition in their state of residence. It is recommended that, in order to be in compliance with all statutes, non-residents transport all firearms:
- Unloaded, and
- Enclosed in a case, and
- Not immediately accessible or broken down in a nonfunctioning state.
Illinois allows residents of other states carry a concealed firearm in their vehicle if they are can legally carry a firearm in public under the laws of their state or territory of residence and are not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law.
Does Illinois have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
Illinois has a Castle Law and no requirement to retreat which means use of deadly force is justified. Specific legislation prevents filing claim against defender of dwelling. [SOURCE]
What are the Illinois Open Carry laws?
Open carry is not legal in Illinois.
7/9/2013 – Format updated along with all information.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.