Maryland Concealed Carry Permit Information

Click here to view the Maryland Concealed Carry Permit Map at the bottom of the page.
If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the State Forums.

Concealed Permit:
May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents

Example Resident Permit:
Maryland Concealed Carry Permit

Issuing Authority:
Application for a permit to carry a handgun is made to the Secretary of State Police.

NICS check:
Yes.

Permit Valid For:
The permit is valid for two years after its issuance and expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month. Subsequent renewals are valid for periods of three years each.

Cost:
Original Application = $70
Renewal Application = $50
Duplicate of Modification = $10
Fingerprint Fee = $5

Requirements:
1. Is 18 years of age or older.
2. Has not been convicted of a felony or of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.
3. Has not been committed within the previous 10 years to any juvenile detention center for longer than one year.
4. Is not an addict or alcoholic nor has ever been convicted of a narcotics offense.
5. Has not, based on the results of investigation, exhibited a propensity for violence or instability.
6. Has, based on the results of investigation, “good and substantial reason” to carry a handgun, including a finding that the permit is “necessary as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.” [5]

Required Documents:
1. The applicant should submit a notarized letter stating the reasons why he is applying for a permit
2. Completed application

Renewal Information:
Applications for renewals should be submitted 90 days prior to expiration.

Change of Address

Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:

Automobile carry:
Rifles and shotguns being transported in motor vehicles must be unloaded.

It is a crime to wear or carry openly any rifle or shotgun with the intent or purpose of unlawfully injuring any person.

It is unlawful for any person without a permit to wear or carry a handgun, openly or concealed, upon or about his person, or to knowingly transport a handgun in any vehicle traveling on public roads, highways, waterways or airways or upon roads or parking lots generally used by the public. This does not apply to any person wearing, carrying or transporting a handgun within the confines of real estate owned or leased by him, or on which he resided, or within the confines of a business establishment owned or leased by him. [3]

Federal and Maryland State or local law enforcement officers generally are exempt from the permit requirement. However, sheriffs and their deputies are exempted only while on active assignment engaged in law enforcement and only with respect to handguns which they are duly authorized to wear, carry or transport as part of their official equipment. Law enforcement officers from other states are exempt only while on official business.

No violation is committed by any person who can demonstrate that the handgun is being carried, worn or transported:

1. To or from a place of legal purchase or sale or repair shop.
2. Between such person’s bona fide residences or between his residence and place of business if the business is operated and substantially owned by that person.
3. While engaged in or traveling to and from a “target shoot, formal or informal target practice, sport shooting event, hunting, trapping or dog obedience training class or show.”
4. By a bona fide gun collector who is “moving any part or all of his gun collection from place to place for public or private exhibition,” and while such handguns are actually on exhibition.

During transportation to and from the above places, the handguns must be unloaded and carried in an enclosed case or enclosed holster. [4]

An additional penalty is provided for any person convicted of unlawfully wearing, carrying or transporting a handgun, if his deliberate purpose was to injury or kill another person.

Places off-limits when carrying:

Alcohol and Drugs:
It is unlawful for a permit holder to carry a handgun while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
Maryland is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground law.

Senate Bill 411, sponsored by State Senator Mac Middleton (D-28), provides civil immunity from damages when force, including deadly force, is used under reasonable circumstances to repel an attack in the person’s dwelling or place of business. Pursuant to Maryland law, this measure will be effective on October 1, 2010.

Open Carry:
Prohibited in most public areas.

Localities with Varying Laws:

Forms & Links:
NRA-ILA: Maryland Gun Laws

We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.