Open Carry is legal in Missouri but local authorities cann have laws or ordinances regulating open carry. In Missouri the state preempts all firearm laws in the state except for open carry. [Source]
No county, city, town, village, municipality, or other political subdivision of this state shall adopt any order, ordinance or regulation concerning in any way the sale, purchase, purchase delay, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, bearing, transportation, licensing, permit, registration, taxation other than sales and compensating use taxes or other controls on firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies except as provided in subsection 3 of this section.
You may open carry or carry concealed in a vehicle without an Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit if you are at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age while driving..
The restricted places listed for carrying concealed apply to open carries as well.
For concealed carry information, visit our Missouri Concealed Carry page.
11/4/2013 – Format updated along with all information.
We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.