Wisconsin Concealed Carry Quick Stats
- Shall Issue
- Permits issued to Residents Only
- 21 years of age required
- Valid for five years
- Initial cost is $40
- Processing Time Up to 21 Days
- Wisconsin Reciprocity Maps
- Wisconsin DOJ Concealed Carry Site
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Application
- Wisconsin Gun Laws
- Wisconsin Firearms Forums
Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Example
Wisconsin Concealed Carry FAQ’s
Does Wisconsin issue concealed carry permits?
Wisconsin is a Shall Issue State and issues concealed weapons licenses to residents of Wisconsin only. They do not issue concealed weapon licenses to non-residents.
Wisconsin’s concealed weapons law was signed into law on July 8, 2011, published on July 22, 2011 and went into effect on November 1, 2011.
Who issues Wisconsin Concealed Weapon Licenses?
Wisconsin Concealed Weapon Licenses are issued by the Wisconsin Department of Justice. You can visit their Concealed Carry website here.
Are background checks required for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License?
Yes, background checks are required when applying for an Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License. $10 of the $40 that it costs to apply goes toward the background check.
Does having a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License exempt you from the background check when purchasing a firearm Wisconsin?
No. Having a Wisconsin Handgun License does not exempt you from a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check when purchasing a firearm.
How long is a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License valid for?
Wisconsin Concealed Weapon Licenses are valid for 5 years.
What is the processing time for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License?
The processing time for new Wisconsin Concealed Weapon Licenses is up to 21 days from the date they receive your application. They must either approve or deny the application within those 21 days. Renewals also must be approved or denied within 21 days.
How much does a Wisconsin Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit cost?
The fee for a five year license is a $40 ($10 goes toward the background check) which can be a check or money order made payable to Wisconsin Department of Justice. Renewals can cost up to $12 for the renewal and $10 for a background check fee.
What are the requirements for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License?
The following are requirements to obtain a Wisconsin Handgun License:
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Complete the application form
- You must have three original signatures on each page of the application (Pages 2, 3 and 4). No photocopies are allowed.
- Submit a copy of your proof of training.
Submit your completed application and proof of training to the following address:
Wisconsin Department of Justice
Attn: Firearms Unit
PO Box 7130
Madison, WI, 53707-7130
You can request a copy of the application by calling 608-261-8647 or 608-261-7998.
How do I renew my Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License and what is the cost?
Within 90 days of the license expiration date, the Department of Justice will mail a notice of expiration and a renewal form. They must renew the license as long as their receive the renewal application within 90 days after the expiration date along with a statement that the information on the application form is true and complete to the best of his or her knowledge and that he or she is not disqualified under § 175.60(3), pay the renewal fee which cannot exceed $12 and pay the background check fee which is currently $10. They have 21 days from the date they receive the renewal application to issue or deny the application.
How do you change a name or address on a Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License?
You must notify Wisconsin Department of Justice within 30 days of changing your address using their Change of Address Notification Form. If you request a new license with your new address include a check or money order for $12 payable to the Wisconsin Department of Justice.
What do you do if your Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License is lost, stolen or damaged?
If your Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License is list, stolen or damaged you can submit a Replacement License Request form with a $12 check or money order made out to the Wisconsin Department of Justice. They will issue a replacement license within 14 days of receiving the form and payment.
If I get arrested or convicted, do I have to notify the Wisconsin State Police about the arrest or conviction?
The Clerk of Court is required to notify the Wisconsin Department of Justice of felony convictions and other
bases for license disqualification.
The DOJ will send a notice to the license holder within 1 day of receiving the information and the revocation or suspension takes place the day the license holder receives it. The license holder must deliver the license personally or by certified mail to DOJ within 7 days or mail a signed statement to DOJ stating that he or she no longer has possession of the license and stating the reasons why he or she no longer has possession.
An intentional failure to do so may result in a fine of not more than $500 and imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both.
A person whose license has been denied, suspended or revoked by DOJ may also appeal directly to the circuit court of the county in which the individual resides without regard to whether the individual has sought review under DOJ‘s review process.
If I move my permanent residence to another state, is my Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License still valid?
No. One you have moved your permanent resident to another state the permit is no longer valid. While we cannot find any exact information on what to do with your permit, we recommend that you deliver the license personally or by certified mail to DOJ within 7 days or mail a signed statement to DOJ stating that he or she no longer has possession of the license and stating the reasons why he or she no longer has possession.
Can I transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Wisconsin?
Wisconsin does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Wisconsin. You must apply for a new Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License.
Does Wisconsin accept any other state’s concealed carry permits or licenses?
Yes, Wisconsin has reciprocity with and accepts resident and non-resident permits of the following states:
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico
- Virgin Islands
- West Virginia
Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
No. You are required to show your Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License to law enforcement only upon being asked.
“175.60 (2g) (c) Unless the licensee or out-of-state licensee is carrying a concealed weapon in a manner described under s. 941.23 (2) (e), a licensee who is carrying a concealed weapon shall display his or her license document and photographic identification card and an out-of-state licensee who is carrying a concealed weapon shall display his or her out-of-state license and photographic identification card to a law
enforcement officer upon the request of the law enforcement officer while the law enforcement officer is acting in an official capacity and with lawful authority.”
You can find a big discussion about informing LEO of concealed carry by clicking here.
Does Wisconsin issue Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License to resident aliens with a green card?
It seems that yes, Resident Aliens can apply for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons Permit. On the application form, there is a field for you must provide your Alien Registration or INS # and your country of residence.
What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Wisconsin?
You may carry a concealed handgun, knife, electric weapon or billy club in a vehicle with a Wisconsin Handgun License or a recognized state’s permit or license. Without a recognized license or permit, loaded handguns may not be carried concealed or within reach. You should carry them in your trunk or rear compartment. With or without a concealed carry license, long guns must be unloaded and not hidden within reach.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Wisconsin?
It is unlawful for anyone (except for law enforcement), including persons with a CCW license, to knowingly carry an unconcealed weapon (firearm, electric weapon, a knife or a billy club) in the following locations:
- Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff‘s office, state patrol station, or the office of a Division of Criminal Investigation special agent of DOJ.
- Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
- The Sand Ridge Secure Treatment Center, the Wisconsin Resource Center, or any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institution, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at the Mendota Mental Health Institute.
- Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.
- Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.
- A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.
- School grounds and premises:
- No one, including a CCW licensee may carry a firearm in or on the grounds of a school unless another specific statutory exception applies.
- No one, including a CCW licensee may carry any other dangerous weapon on school premises unless a specific statutory exception applies.
- Also see: POSSESSION OF FIREARMS AND OTHER WEAPONS ON SCHOOL PROPERTY.
- Persons who do not have a CCW permit may not carry a handgun in a tavern and those persons with a CCW license may carry a concealed handgun in a tavern only if NOT consuming alcohol. Wis. Stat. § 941.237(3)(cx).
- Federal law applies to the possession of firearms and weapons on US government property
Does Wisconsin have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?
What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Wisconsin?
You must not consume alcoholic liquor, beer, or wine while carrying a concealed weapon. If you have a concealed weapons license, you may carry in places that serve food and/or alcohol. USA Carry always recommends never to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol.
It is a class A misdemeanor (punishable by 9 months jail and/or $10,000 fine) for anyone to go armed with a firearm while under the influence of an intoxicant. “Under the Influence has been defined as materially impairing the ability to handle a firearm which is further explained as consuming an amount of alcohol to cause the person to be less able to exercise clear judgment and steady hand necessary to handle a firearm.
Does Wisconsin have laws for No Gun signs?
Yes, No Gun signs have the force of law and must be at least 5 inches by 7 inches.
1. In this paragraph, “sign” means a sign that states a restriction imposed under subd. 2. that is at least 5 inches by 7 inches.
a. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 1m., an owner of a residence that is not a single-family residence has notified an individual not to enter or remain in a part of that building, or on the grounds of that building, while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the part of the building to which the restriction applies or near all probable access points to the grounds to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the building or the grounds can be reasonably expected to see the sign.
am. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 2., 4., and 5., an owner or occupant of a part of a nonresidential building, the state or a local governmental unit, or a university or a college has notified an individual not to enter or remain in a part of the building while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner, occupant, state, local governmental unit, university, or college has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the part of the building to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the building can be reasonably expected to see the sign.
b. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 2., an owner or occupant of the grounds of a nonresidential building or of land has notified an individual not to enter or remain on the grounds or land while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner or occupant has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all probable access points to the grounds or land to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the grounds or land can be reasonably expected to see the sign.
c. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 3., the organizers of the special event have notified an individual not to enter or remain at the special event while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the organizers have posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the special event and any individual attending the special event can be reasonably expected to see the sign.
Are you allowed to carry concealed in Wisconsin State Parks, State & National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, and/or Road Side Rest Areas?
Does my military training exempt me from the training needed for a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons Permit?
Yes, documentation stating that you received firearms training substantially equivalent to a course or program required will be accepted.
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Program
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License FAQ
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Brochure
- >Wisconsin Firearms & Weapon Laws
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Application and Instructions
- Wisconsin Concealed Weapon License Reciprocity Information
- Wisconsin Firearms Forums
- NRA: Wisconsin State Profile
- Wikipedia: Gun Laws in Wisconsin
What are the Wisconsin Open Carry laws?
Please visit our Wisconsin Open Carry page for more information.
3/20/2017 – Updated links.
To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).
Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
We keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.