If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the State Forums.
Shall Issue to Residents Only
Example Tennessee Permit:
Department of Safety
Applications for a new handgun carry permit may be picked up at any Driver License Center. Click here for a list of locations.
Applications for a new handgun carry permit can be processed at any full-time Driver License Center. Click here for a list of full service locations.
Out Of State Permit Issue:
Permit Valid For:
Permit Issued Timeline
Upon a name search approval from TBI, the permit can be issued within ninety (90) days from date of application.
Original Application = $115
Renewal Application = $50
Duplicate Application = $5
1. Successfully complete a handgun safety course offered by a handgun safety school that is certified by the Department of Safety
2. Resident of the State Of Tennessee
3. 21 years of age
4. Applicants shall not currently be under indictment or information for any criminal offense punishable by a term exceeding one (1) year;
5. Shall not be currently the subject of any order of protection;
6. Shall not be a fugitive from justice;
7. Shall not be an unlawful user of or addicted to alcohol or any controlled substance and the applicant has not been a patient in a rehabilitation program or hospitalized for alcohol or controlled substance abuse or addiction within ten (10) years from the date of application;
8. The applicant has not been convicted of the offense of driving under the influence of an intoxicant in this or any other State two (2) or more times within ten (10) years from the date of application and that none of such convictions has occurred within five (5) years from the date of application or renewal.
9. Shall not have been adjudicated as mental defective; has not been committed to or hospitalized in a mental institution; has not had a court appoint a conservator for the applicant by reason of a mental defect; has not been judicially determined to be disabled by reason of a mental illness, development disability or other mental incapacity; and has not, within seven (7) years from the date of application, been found by a court to pose an immediate substantial likelihood of serious harm, as defined in Title 33, Chapter 6, Part 5, because of mental illness;
10. Shall not be an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
11. Shall not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions (dishonorable discharge, bad conduct discharge or other than honorable discharge Chapter 1340-2-5-.02 (5);
12. Having been a citizen of the United States, applicants shall not have renounced their citizenship;
13. Shall not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U.S.C.A. 921 (33);
14. Shall not be receiving social security disability benefits by reason of alcohol dependence, drug dependence or mental disability;
15. Shall not have been convicted of the offense of stalking;
1. Effective July 1, 2005, all new handgun permit applicants must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency.
3. Original copy of your safety course completion certificate
4. Photo identification such as your Driver License
5. Permit fee
6. When your application is processed at the Driver Service Center, you will be given instructions on being fingerprinted.
You can renew your handgun carry permit up to six (6) months before your expiration date by completing an application and paying the $50.00 renewal fee. You may renew in person at any full service driver services center or by mail to:
Tennessee Department of Safety
Handgun Permit Office
1150 Foster Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243-1000
You can renew your handgun carry permit up to six (6) months past the expiration date by completing an application and paying the $50.00 renewal fee. You may not legally carry a weapon while your permit has expired until you receive your new permit.
If your permit has been expired more than six (6) months past the renewal date you will need to start the complete process again. This includes completing a handgun safety course, paying the $115 fee, being fingerprinted and undergoing a background check.
Change of Address:
By law if you move, you are required to notify us of your new address within sixty (60) days. You may notify the Department of Safety to change your address on our records, by calling toll-free 1-866-849-3548 or online at https://www.tennesseeanytime.org/chgdl/.
If you wish to receive a permit with your new address, or if you have misplaced or lost your handgun carry permit, you will need to apply for a duplicate.
To receive a duplicate handgun carry permit:
1. You will need to complete an application. To receive an application by mail call toll-free 1-866-849-3548.
2. Complete and sign your application. Mail the application and the $5.00 fee payable by check or money order to the following address:
3. Tennessee Department of Safety
Handgun Permit Office
1150 Foster Ave.
Nashville, TN 37243-1000
4. You may also get your duplicate application at any driver license service center. The driver license service center cannot issue the duplicate handgun carry permit.
5. Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
To change your record with us without having a new handgun carry permit issued:
You have the option to change your record, and not have the address shown on your permit. For information about changing your record online, visit the online address change page at https://www.tennesseeanytime.org/chgdl/.
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
You do not have to inform an officer you are armed, but if requested
you must show your permit to the officer. He can also disarm you if he
feels it is “reasonablly necessary” for his safety, your safety or the
safety of others.
Except as provided in subdivision (n)(2), a permit issued pursuant to
this section shall be good for four (4) years and shall entitle the
permit holder to carry any handgun or handguns that the permit holder
legally owns or possesses. The permit holder shall have the permit in
the holder’s immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.
Any law enforcement officer of this state or of any county or
municipality may, within the realm of the officer’s lawful jurisdiction
and when the officer is acting in the lawful discharge of the officer’s
official duties, disarm a permit holder at any time when the officer
reasonably believes it is necessary for the protection of the permit
holder, officer or other individual or individuals. The officer shall
return the handgun to the permit holder before discharging the permit
holder from the scene when the officer has determined that the permit
holder is not a threat to the officer, to the permit holder, or other
individual or individuals provided that the permit holder has not
violated any provision of this section and provided the permit holder
has not committed any other violation that results in the arrest of the
Public Chapter 431 – Loaded Rifles and Shotguns in Vehicles – This act allows a person with a handgun carry permit to possess a loaded rifle or loaded shotgun in a privately owned vehicle. The act provides that the weapon cannot have ammunition in the chamber except in the case that an individual permit holder feels physically threatened.
Places off-limits when carrying:
1. It is lawful to possess a firearm on the premises of a public place where alcoholic beverages are served as long as such individual is not consuming alcoholic beverages. However, a restaurant may choose to post a sign prohibiting firearms.
2. It is unlawful to carry a firearm into a judicial proceeding.
3. It is unlawful to possess or carry any firearm, with the intent to go armed, onto any school or college facility or grounds (to include a bus), unless used for instructional or sanctioned ceremonial purposes.
4. It is unlawful to carry a weapon into a meeting where the owner has posted prominent signs pursuant to § 39-17-1359 at all entrances banning weapon possession.
5. It is an offense for any person to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, with the intent to go armed, any weapon prohibited by § 39-17-1302(a), not used solely for instructional, display or sanctioned ceremonial purposes, in or on the grounds of any public park, playground, civic center or other building facility, area or property owned, used or operated by any municipal, county or state government, or instrumentality thereof, for recreational purposes.
6. You can drop off a student at school as long as the gun is not handled while doing so. You can also leave it in your car if you are a non-student adult.
7. It is general excepted that Government owned Parks, Civic Center and recreational areas are off limits.
8. It is a violation of the law to carry where it is posted with this sign:
PURSUANT TO § 39-17-1359, THE OWNER/OPERATOR OF THIS PROPERTY
HAS BANNED WEAPONS ON THIS PROPERTY, OR WITHIN THIS
BUILDING OR THIS PORTION OF THIS BUILDING. FAILURE TO COMPLY
WITH THIS PROHIBITION IS PUNISHABLE AS A CRIMINAL ACT UNDER
STATE LAW AND MAY SUBJECT THE VIOLATOR TO A FINE OF NOT
MORE THAN FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($500).
The wording must be substantially similar. A sign with a picture of a handgun with a slash through it is valid.
Alcohol and Drugs:
On alcohol and drugs that is covered under T.C.A. 39-17-1321 there is no specific BAC limit. However recent legislation that is
moving through the legislator that would make it illegal to hunt while
intoxicated on public lands has a BAC of .08%, not sure if this
would/could establish a BAC level under 39-17-1321 or not. See HB 1875
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
Tennessee is a Castle Doctrine state and has a stand-your-ground law.
Prohibited unless one possesses a permit to carry a handgun.
Localities with Varying Laws: