Kentucky Concealed Carry Permit Information

Kentucky Concealed Carry Quick Stats

Kentucky CCDW License Example

Kentucky CCDW License Example
Kentucky CCDW License Example

Kentucky Concealed Carry FAQ

Does Kentucky issue concealed carry permits or licenses?

Kentucky is a Shall Issue State and issues Kentucky Concealed Deadly Weapon (CCDW) Licenses to residents and non-residents with exceptions. Kentucky became a Shall Issue state in 1996.

Kentucky will issue non-residents a Kentucky CCDW License if you are a citizen of the United States and a member of the Armed Forces of the United States on active duty station in Kentucky at the time of application.

Who issues Kentucky CCDW Licenses?

The Kentucky Department of State Police issues Kentucky CCDW Licenses. There is a Concealed Deadly Weapon page set up with information and relevant links here.

What is the process of applying for a Kentucky CCDW License?

You have the option of applying in person at the sheriff’s office of the county you reside in or you can use the Kentucky CCDW Online application. They are both very similar. You will provide your personal information, a photograph and your training documentation or exemtpion. If you are applying online then you will pay a $50 fee via Credit Card but also another $20 when you pick up your license. If you do everything in person then the total will be $60.

The processing time for in person Kentucky CCDW applications is within 60 days but online applications are within 15 days.

So doing it online will cost you $10 more but the turnaround time will be quicker. You’ll have to decide which is more important or convinient to you.

Either way, you also need to successfuly complete a firearms safety or training course offered or approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Training before applying. You will need to provide the certificate as proof. Your local sheriff can give you a list of approved instructors in your area that offer these courses.

What are the requirements for a Kentucky CCDW License?

Requirements for Obtaining a Kentucky CCDW License

  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Meet one of the following residence requirements:
    • Is a citizen of the United States who is a resident of this Commonwealth;
    • Is a citizen of the United States who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is on active duty, who is at the time of application assigned to a military posting in Kentucky;
    • Is lawfully admitted to the United States by the United States government or an agency thereof, is permitted by federal law to purchase a firearm; or
    • Is lawfully admitted to the United States by the United States government or an agency thereof, is permitted by federal law to purchase a firearm, is, at the time of the application, assigned to a military posting in Kentucky, and has been assigned to a posting in the Commonwealth;
  • Not be under indictment for, or have been convicted of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year; and
  • Not be a fugitive from justice; and
  • Not be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance; and
  • Not have been adjudicated as a mental defective or have committed to a mental institution; and
  • Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; and
  • Not be subject to a domestic violence order or emergency protective order; and
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence (see section below for discussion of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence); and
  • Not be prohibited from the purchase, receipt or possession of firearms, ammunition or both pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 922(g), 18 U.S.C. 922(n), or applicable state law; and
  • Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within the three-year period immediately preceding the date the application was submitted; and
  • Not have two or more convictions for violating KRS 189A.010 (Operating motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or other substance which impairs driving ability) within the three (3) years immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted; and
  • Not have been committed as an alcoholic pursuant to KRS Chapter 222 or similar laws of another state within the three (3) year period immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted; and
  • Not owe a child support arrearage which equals or exceeds the cumulative amount which would be owed after one (1) year of nonpayment, if the Department of Kentucky State Police has been notified of the arrearage by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services; and
  • Have complied with any subpoena or warrant relating to child support or paternity proceedings. If the Department of Kentucky State Police has not been notified by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services that the applicant has failed to meet this requirement, the Department of Kentucky State Police shall assume that paternity and child support proceedings are not an issue; and
  • Have not been convicted of a violation of KRS 508.030 (Assault in the fourth degree) or 508.080 (Terroristic Threatening in the third degree) within the three years immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted; and
  • Demonstrate competence with a firearm by successful completion of a firearms safety or training course offered or approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Training.
NOTE – ONLY SOME OF THE OFFENSES LISTED ABOVE HAVE A THREE-YEAR LIMITATION. OTHER OFFENSES, SUCH AS FELONIES AND MISDEMEANOR CRIMES OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, DO NOT HAVE A TIME LIMIT. IN OTHER WORDS, IF YOU HAVE BEEN CONVICTED OF A FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR CRIME OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, YOU ARE INELIGIBLE FOR A CCDW LICENSE AND ARE PROHIBITED FROM POSSESSING A FIREARM UNDER FEDERAL LAW, NO MATTER HOW LONG AGO YOU WERE CONVICTED.FELONY CONVICTIONS

If you have been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, i.e., a felony, you are not only ineligible to possess a CCDW license; federal law prohibits you from possessing a firearm. Individuals subject to this disability should immediately lawfully dispose of their firearms and ammunition. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) recommends that individuals who have been convicted of a felony surrender their firearms and ammunition to a third party, such as their attorney, local police agency, or a federal firearms dealer. The continued possession of firearms or ammunition by persons under this disability is a violation of federal law and may subject the possessor to criminal penalties as well as seizure and forfeiture of the firearms and ammunition.

DIVERSION

Those on pretrial diversion for disqualifying offenses are not eligible for a CCDW license.

MISDEMEANOR CRIMES OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE (MCDV)

It is illegal under federal law for any person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” to ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms or ammunition (18 U.S.C. 922). A “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” is defined in 18 U.S.C. 921(33) as an offense that:

  1. Is a misdemeanor under federal or state law; and
  2. Has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim.

The following misdemeanors under Kentucky law are deemed to be possible misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence. If you have been convicted of any of the following offenses, your application must be reviewed to determine whether your offense involved domestic violence:

  • KRS 508.030 Assault in the fourth degree (note that this is a three year state disqualifier even if domestic violence was not involved).
  • KRS 508.040 Assault under Extreme Emotional Disturbance
  • KRS 508.120 Criminal Abuse in the third degree
  • KRS 509.030 Unlawful Imprisonment in the second degree
  • KRS 510.120 Sexual Abuse in second degree
  • KRS 510.130 Sexual Abuse in third degree
  • KRS 510.140 Sexual Misconduct
  • KRS 525.060 Disorderly Conduct
  • KRS 525.070 Harassment

What are the training requirements for obtaining a Kentucky CCDW License?

You need to successfuly complete a firearms safety or training course offered or approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Training before applying. You will need to provide the certificate as proof. Your local sheriff can give you a list of approved instructors in your area that offer these courses.

The following individuals are eligible for a training waiver:

  1. Peace officers who are currently certified as peace officers by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council pursuant to KRS 15.380 to 15.404.
  2. Peace officers who are retired and are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, or County Employees Retirement System or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county in Kentucky.
  3. Current and retired peace officers of the following federal agencies shall be deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Any peace officer employed by a federal agency specified in KRS 61.365;
    2. Any peace officer employed by a federal civilian law enforcement agency not specified above who has successfully completed the basic law enforcement training course required by that agency;
    3. Any military peace officer of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, or Air Force, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard who has successfully completed the military law enforcement training course required by that branch of the military; and
    4. Any member of the United States Coast Guard serving in a peace officer role who has successfully completed the law enforcement training course specified by the United States Coast Guard.
  4. The following corrections officers are deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Corrections officers who are currently employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who have successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment.
    2. Corrections officers who were formerly employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who are retired, and who successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment, and are members of a state-administered retirement system or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county government in Kentucky.
  5. Active or honorably discharged service members service members in the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard that meet the following criteria are deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Successfully completed handgun training which was conducted by the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard; or
    2. Successfully completed handgun qualification within the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army Guard or Air Force National Guard.

Documentation for waiver. Persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:

  1. At least one of the following paper or electronic forms “showing evidence of handgun qualifications”:
    • Department of Defense Form DD 2586;
    • Department of Defense Form DD 214;
    • Coast Guard Form CG 3029;
    • Department of the Army Form DA 88-R;
    • Department of the Army Form DA 5704-R;
    • Department of the Navy Form OPNAV 3591-1; or
    • Department of the Air Force Form AF 522.
  2. Instead of the forms listed in Section B1 above, persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:
    • Documentary evidence of an honorable discharge; and
    • A notarized affidavit on a form provided by the Department of Kentucky State Police, signed under penalty of perjury, stating the person has met the training requirements of KRS 237.110(6)(d).

Does being in the military or having military firearm training qualify as the training requirements when applying or renewing a Kentucky CCDW License?

The following individuals are eligible for a training waiver:

  1. Peace officers who are currently certified as peace officers by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council pursuant to KRS 15.380 to 15.404.
  2. Peace officers who are retired and are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, or County Employees Retirement System or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county in Kentucky.
  3. Current and retired peace officers of the following federal agencies shall be deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Any peace officer employed by a federal agency specified in KRS 61.365;
    2. Any peace officer employed by a federal civilian law enforcement agency not specified above who has successfully completed the basic law enforcement training course required by that agency;
    3. Any military peace officer of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, or Air Force, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard who has successfully completed the military law enforcement training course required by that branch of the military; and
    4. Any member of the United States Coast Guard serving in a peace officer role who has successfully completed the law enforcement training course specified by the United States Coast Guard.
  4. The following corrections officers are deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Corrections officers who are currently employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who have successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment.
    2. Corrections officers who were formerly employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who are retired, and who successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment, and are members of a state-administered retirement system or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county government in Kentucky.
  5. Active or honorably discharged service members service members in the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard that meet the following criteria are deemed to have met the training requirement:
    1. Successfully completed handgun training which was conducted by the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard; or
    2. Successfully completed handgun qualification within the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army Guard or Air Force National Guard.

Documentation for waiver. Persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:

  1. At least one of the following paper or electronic forms “showing evidence of handgun qualifications”:
    • Department of Defense Form DD 2586;
    • Department of Defense Form DD 214;
    • Coast Guard Form CG 3029;
    • Department of the Army Form DA 88-R;
    • Department of the Army Form DA 5704-R;
    • Department of the Navy Form OPNAV 3591-1; or
    • Department of the Air Force Form AF 522.
  2. Instead of the forms listed in Section B1 above, persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:
    • Documentary evidence of an honorable discharge; and
    • A notarized affidavit on a form provided by the Department of Kentucky State Police, signed under penalty of perjury, stating the person has met the training requirements of KRS 237.110(6)(d).

How much does a Kentucky CCDW License cost?

Kentucky CCDW License New Applicant Fees:

  • Online: $70 Total – $40 + $10 Portal Fee Paid Via Credit Card and $20 when picking up your license
  • In-Person: $60 Total – Split between two checks or money orders. $20 payable to the sheriff of your county of residents and $40 payable to Kentucky State Treasurer.

Kentucky CCDW License Renewal Applicant Fees:

  • Online: $70-$75 Total – $40 + $10 Portal Fee Paid Via Credit Card and $20 when picking up your license. $5 will be added if the renewal is submitted after the license has expired.
  • In-Person: $60-$65 Total – Split between two checks or money orders. $20 payable to the sheriff of your county of residents and $40 payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or $45 if the renewal is submitted after the license has expired.

* All duplicate permits are $15.00 each and the check or money order should be made out to the Kentucky State Treasurer or paid via credit card through the online portal.

What is the processing time for a Kentucky CCDW License?

The processing time for in-person Kentucky CCDW applications is within 60 days but online applications are within 15 days. 

Are background checks required for a Kentucky CCDW License?

There is a background check completed when applying for a Kentucky CCDW License. This background check includes state records, a federal records check (NICS), a federal Immigration Alien Query (if applicable) and consulation with the US Dept. of Homeland Security, US Dept. of Justice, US Dept. of State and other federal agencies (if applicable).

Does having a concealed weapon license or permit exempt you from the background check when purchasing a gun in Kentucky?

Yes. Kentucky CCDW Licenses exempt you from having to complete a background check when purchasing a gun in Kentucky since there is a NICS check completed when applied for a Kentucky CCDW or renewing a Kentucky CCDW.

How long is a Kentucky CCDW License valid before they expire?

Kentucky Concealed Deadly Weapons Licenses are valid for five years.

How do I renew my Kentucky CCDW License and what is the cost?

The Kentucky State Police will send you a written notice no less than 120 days before your Kentucky CCDW expires. You can submit your renewal in-person with your local sherrif or through their online portal.

Kentucky CCDW License Renewal Applicant Fees:

  • Online: $70-$85 Total – $40 + $10 Portal Fee Paid Via Credit Card and $20 when picking up your license. $15 will be added if the renewal is submitted after the license has expired.
  • In-Person: $60-$75 Total – Split between two checks or money orders. $20 payable to the sheriff of your county of residents and $40 payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or $55 if the renewal is submitted after the license has expired.

If your Kentucky CCDW has been expired six months or more, you cannot renew it and you will need to apply for a new license.

How do you change a name or address on a Kentucky CCDW License?

You are required by law to notify the Kentucky State Police of your name or address change within thirty through their online form or in-person at your local sherrif’s office. Failure to submitt his within thirty days is a noncriminal violation with a $25 penalty.

What do you do if your Kentucky CCDW License is lost, stolen or damaged?

If your Kentucky CCDW License is lost, stolen or damaged, you can complete the form through the online form or in-person with a Request for Duplicate form. The cost of the duplicate license will be $15.00

Can I transfer another state's concealed carry permit or license to Kentucky?

You cannot transfer another state’s conealed carry permit or license to Kentucky. If you move to Kentucky and have a valid license or permit from a reciprocal state, it will be valid for 120 days if you apply for a Kentycky CCDW within 60 days.

Are Kentucky CCDW Licenses accepted in other states?

Yes, there are other states that accept Kentucky CCDW Licenses. To view the complete list, visit our Concealed Carry Maps.

Does Kentucky honor other state's Concealed Carry Licenses and Permits?

Yes, Kentucky honors all other state’s resident and non-resident permits and licenses. To view the complete list, visit our Concealed Carry Maps.

Am I required to carry my Kentucky CCDW License when I am in possession of a handgun?

Yes, by law, you must have the Kentucky CCDW License in your immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun.

Do I need to inform Law Enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon in Kentucky?

No. As the law states, you are only required to display your Kentucky CCDW License to a law enforcement officer when requested.

Does Kentucky issue Kentucky CCDW Licenses to resident aliens with a green card?

Yes, Kentucky issues Handgun Carry Permits to citizens of the United States and permanent legal residents. All Non-US Citizen applicants must submit the Citizenship Affidavit.

What are the laws for carrying a firearm in an automobile in Kentucky?

Persons with or without a Kentucky CCDW License can carry a loaded handgun anywhere in the vehicle.

What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Kentucky?

The following places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Kentucky, with or without a Kentucky CCDW:

  1. Any police station or sheriff’s office;
  2. Any detention facility, prison, or jail;
  3. Any courthouse, solely occupied by the Court of Justice courtroom, or court proceeding;
  4. Any meeting of the governing body of a county, municipality, or special district; or any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a member of the body, holding a concealed deadly weapon license, from carrying a concealed deadly weapon at a meeting of the body of which he or she is a member;
  5. Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense beer or alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose;
  6. Any elementary or secondary school facility without the consent of school authorities as provided in KRS 527.070, any child-caring facility as defined in KRS 199.011, any day-care center as defined in KRS 199.894, or any certified family child-care home as defined in KRS 199.8982, except however, any owner of a certified child-care home may carry a concealed firearm into the owner’s residence used as a certified child-care home;
  7. An area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property; or
  8. Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law

The owner, business or commercial lessee, or manager of a private business enterprise, day-care center as defined in KRS 199.894 or certified or licensed family child-care home as defined in KRS 199.8982, or a health-care facility licensed under KRS Chapter 216B, except facilities renting or leasing housing, may prohibit persons holding concealed deadly weapon licenses from carrying concealed deadly weapons on the premises and may prohibit employees, not authorized by the employer, holding concealed deadly weapons licenses from carrying concealed deadly weapons on the property of the employer. If the building or the premises are open to the public, the employer or business enterprise shall post signs on or about the premises if carrying concealed weapons is prohibited. Possession of weapons, or ammunition, or both in a vehicle on the premises shall not be a criminal offense so long as the weapons, or ammunition, or both are not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. A private but not a public employer may prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employer, but may not prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employee, except that the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet may prohibit an employee from carrying any weapons, or ammunition, or both other than the weapons, or ammunition, or both issued or authorized to be used by the employee of the cabinet, in a vehicle while transporting persons under the employee’s supervision or jurisdiction. Carrying of a concealed weapon, or ammunition, or both in a location specified in this subsection by a license holder shall not be a criminal act but may subject the person to denial from the premises or removal from the premises, and, if an employee of an employer, disciplinary measures by the employer.

Does Kentucky have laws for No Guns Allowed signs?

No, Kentucky has no law giving “No Guns Allowed” signs the force of law unless it is posted on a propertly that is already mentioned in State Law as being off-limits.

If you are asked to leave a property, then you must leave. Refusing is breaking the law, and you can be charged.

Does Kentucky have a Stand Your Ground Law AKA Castle Doctrine Law?

Kentucky is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground law.

What are the laws involving alcohol and carrying a concealed weapon in Kentucky?

You may carry a concealed weapon into an establishment that serves alcohol except in the areas devoted to that purpose. For example, you cannot carry concealed into a bar but you can carry in a restaurant as long as you are not in the bar portion of that restaurant.

USA Carry always recommends not to carry a firearm while drinking alcohol.

Are you allowed to carry concealed in Kentucky State Parks, State, and National Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, or Road Side Rest Areas?

State Parks: Yes
State Forests: Yes
National Forests: Yes
State WMA’s: Yes
Road Side Rest Areas: Yes

What are the Kentucky Open Carry Laws?

Please visit our Kentucky Open Carry page for more information.

Changelog

03/15/2019 – All information and links checked.

Go To Another State's Concealed Carry Page

To view a state’s concealed carry permit information click on the state. The state’s color represents whether a state is Shall Issue, May Issue, Constitutional Carry or Right Denied (We explain each state’s status here).

Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alabama, Colorado, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Wyoming

Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin

May Issue to Residents Only:
California
, Delaware, Virgin Islands

May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York

Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only:
Alaska, West Virginia

Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents:
Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire

Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits:
Vermont

Right Denied:
American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands

We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible, but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice concerning any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the views or opinions of i156 LLC.

[index]
[index]