Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Changes 8/12/2015

Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Changes 8/12/2015

We’ve seen quite a few changes with reciprocity and recognition by states this week. We have updated our Concealed Carry Maps to reflect all of the changes but also wanted to put out an article so that everyone is aware of the changes.

First off, Minnesota recently changed their law to recognized concealed carry permits or licenses with “similar” laws from “substantially similar” laws. After this took affect, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety reviewed all other state’s laws and published a new list of states they accept and don’t accept.

Here is a list of new states that Minnesota has added to their list:

  • Delaware
  • Idaho (Enhanced permit only)
  • Illinois
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota (Enhanced permit only)
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina (Enhanced permit only)
  • South Dakota

Here is a list of states that Minnesota has dropped from their list:

  • Missouri
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

To view more details about why these four states were dropped, visit their website here. For a complete list of which states Minnesota accepts, head over to our Concealed Carry Maps.

Next up: West Virginia and Nevada now have full reciprocity. Attorney General Patrick Morrisey announced this change on August 5, 2015.

“As Attorney General, it has been a priority to protect the Second Amendment rights of West Virginians and those who visit here,” Attorney General Morrisey said. “This agreement marks 32 states with which West Virginia has full reciprocity or recognition.”

To see a complete list of states that Nevdada and West Virginia accepts head over to our Concealed Carry Maps.