House Committee to Consider Five Second Amendment-Related Bills Today, March 8

Today, Tuesday, March 8 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 100 of the House Office Building, the House Judiciary will be holding hearings on a number of bills impacting Maryland’s law-abiding gun owners. With the shift of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to an anti-Second Amendment tilt, it is more important than ever that you contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to oppose legislation that limits your freedoms, rights and heritage. Two of the bills on the docket this Tuesday are the House versions of two anti-gun bills that were introduced in the state Senate last month.

Support:

House Bill 343, sponsored by Delegate Rick Impallaria (R-7), seeks to repeal the requirement that the Secretary of the State Police find that a person has good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.

Oppose:

House Bill 330, sponsored by Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez (D-18) and similar to Senate Bill 162, would make it illegal for anyone to manufacture, sell, offer to sell, purchase, receive or transfer any detachable magazine with a capacity of more than ten rounds, except for .22 caliber firearms. Any violation and conviction would result in a punishment not to exceed three years and a fine not to exceed $5,000 or both.

House Bill 730, sponsored by Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17), would prohibit a person who has been treated (but not adjudicated) within five years for a mental disorder described in the American Psychiatric Association’s “Diagnostic and Statistical Manual-Mental Disorders” from possessing a regulated firearm or applying for a firearm dealers license. HB 730 treats people with such common disorders as, bulimia, anorexia or ADHD as criminals and denies them their rights without any adjudication by the legal system.

House Bill 1008, sponsored by Delegate Cheryl Glenn (D-45), similar to HB 330, would make it illegal for anyone to manufacture, sell, offer to sell, purchase, receive or transfer any detachable magazine with a capacity of more than ten rounds, except for .22 caliber firearms. Any violation and conviction would result in a punishment not to exceed three years and a fine not to exceed $5,000 or both.

House Bill 1043, sponsored by Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20) and similar to Senate Bill 161, seeks to allow the Secretary of State Police to reject an application for a State-regulated firearm dealer’s license if it is determined that someone whose license was previously suspended or revoked is involved. It would also unnecessarily duplicate recordkeeping and other requirements that have been in place at the federal level since 1968. Several provisions of HB 1043 mirror federal law and are already illegal. Where it does not mirror federal law, it imposes restrictions greater than those already in place.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee listed below and urge them to protect your Second Amendment rights, support HB 343 and oppose HB 330, HB 730, HB 1008 and HB 1043.

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chairman
Joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
Kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

Delegate Tiffany T. Alston (D-24)
Tiffany.alston@house.state.md.us

Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
Curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
Sam.arora@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)
Jill.carter@house.state.md.us

Delegate Luke H. Clippinger (D-46)
Luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us

Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr. (D-8)
John.cluster@house.state.md.us

Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)
Frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Delegate Don H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)
Don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael J. Hough (R-3B)
Michael.hough@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
Kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)
Susan.lee@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)
Susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael A. McDermott (R-38B)
Mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us

Delegate Keiffer J. Mitchell, Jr. (D-44)
Keiffer.mitchell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Neil C. Parrott (R-2B)
Neil.parrott@house.state.md.us

Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)
Luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)
Michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
Kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
Geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher (D-18)
Jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

$599.99 (Reg.$ 799.99)
No Code Needed
Sig Sauer P365 9mm Pistol 12 Rd RTT Tacpac, Coyote

Sig Sauer P365 9mm Pistol 12 Rd RTT Tacpac, Coyote

The award-winning P365 has redefined the micro-compact pistol category, quickly becoming one of the most coveted firearms in the industry.

$449.99 (Reg. $549.99)
No Code Needed
Smith & Wesson M&p Shield Ez 9mm Pistol With Manual Safety, Black - 12436

Smith & Wesson M&P Shield EZ 9mm Pistol With Manual Safety, Black

The next evolution of the M&P Shield EZ pistol, the M&P9 Shield EZ encompasses all of the M&P Shield EZ features, now in the powerful 9mm caliber.

$159.99
No Code Needed
3 Pack Of Blem Psa Stealth Ar-15 Lowers

3 Pack Of BLEM PSA Stealth AR-15 Lowers

These forged lowers are quality made using material is 7075-T6 and are marked "CAL MULTI" to accommodate most builds. The finish is Black Hardcoat Anodize per MIL-8625 Type 3 class 2.

1 2 3 17
Previous articleLegislation to Restore Gun Rights and a Compartment-Carry Bill Pass Kentucky Senate
Next articleSig P225 Review
Luke McCoy is the founder of USA Carry. In 2007, he launched USA Carry to provide concealed carry information and a community for those with concealed carry permits and firearm enthusiasts.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
4 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous

The suspense is killing me…

Bison133

hi bumnthsun! Can you explain what id going on in the house in regards to guns?

Anonymous

I’d like to know the outcome of the meeting, please share any info you have.

Hooker9_99

Any word yet? I emailed all of the members of the Judiciary committee, but not 1 single reply from anyone. I feel that the NRA sort of let us down on this one in that they did not make a better format to contact these folks. I had to email each of them seperately. The laws here in MD make it nearly impossible to carry!